Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hills have eyes 2
this print is stunning, its up there with the best, the film delivers strong violence and no story, friday night with beer recommended.
Published on 21 April 2009 by jonny dee

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I loved the 2006 version of the Hills Have Eyes and was very excited to see a sequel. However, how disappointed I was. The plot feels tired and it just doesn't work being set almost entirely during the day. I didn't care about the characters, the plot was weak, the 'gory' scenes didn't have any impact and there was absolutely no feeling of suspense. I felt like I knew...
Published on 21 Aug 2007 by book addict


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Aug 2007
I loved the 2006 version of the Hills Have Eyes and was very excited to see a sequel. However, how disappointed I was. The plot feels tired and it just doesn't work being set almost entirely during the day. I didn't care about the characters, the plot was weak, the 'gory' scenes didn't have any impact and there was absolutely no feeling of suspense. I felt like I knew what was going to happen before it did...nothing had been built on since the first film.

Stick to the first one and leave it at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wes Cravens Worst Nightmare!!!!, 7 Aug 2007
When i saw the sequel was due i was truelly excited , I thought that how can Wes Craven continue the story from the first remake, When i eventually saw the film it was a huge disappointment. The acting was wooden, the story line was non-existent, and i could not relate to any of the characters, a true shame because the potential for this was huge, Wes Craven shame on you...... Please no more///...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Sequel to the Terrifying Original Movie, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hills Have Eyes 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
During the 1950's and 60's, the US Government carries out nuclear bomb tests in the New Mexico desert. The resulting radiation infects the local redneck community, and genetically mutates subsequent generations. Government scientists are carrying out tests in the desert, and after a couple of them suddenly go missing, some National Guard soldiers, who are on exercise in the area, are assigned to investigate and trace the scientists. Unbeknownst to the troops, the small rocky mountains in the desert are populated by a family of sadistic, deformed, cannibalistic hillbillies. What ensues is an extremely violent contretemps between the soldiers and mutants. What lets the film down somewhat, is the failure to make you care about the fate of any of the troops, because you don't get to know their characters. In the predecessor film, when it's a family who come to blows with the cannibals, you get to know the characters, which makes you far more interested in what happens to them. The concept of soldiers versus monsters is far more adeptly handled in movies such as Aliens, Dog Soldiers and Starship Troopers, and it is a pity that this film couldn't live up to the quality of the first one in the series. This perhaps helps to explain why a third film hasn't been made. It is notable that the prosthetics and make up used for the mutants, pales by comparison with the similar effects used in the previous film. During the movie, we discover that the cannibals have been kidnapping normal women, and breeding with them, in an effort to perpetuate their bloodline. The closing 20 minutes just about salvage the film, when the meanest of the troops go mano a mano with the huge daddy of the mutants and his sons. There are certainly far worse horrors films out there, but this one could and should have been so much better. If only Sam Raimi could be enticed back into the horror genre, I'm sure he'd make a thundering Hills Have Eyes 3. Perhaps next time around, the ravenous hillbillies can go head to head with some potholers, in the style of Descent. Or maybe they could venture into the suburbs of a US town and wreak mayhem on the local inhabitants...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The hills are blind 2, 7 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Pj Jones "dvdgod" (chichester west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a complete mess,i'd give it no stars if i could.save your time and money,and give this dribbling aliens rip off a wide birth,the first one was much better.not genius film making but far better than this weak effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50/50 ... still worth a watch, 13 Sep 2007
By 
P. Pullen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have now seen all of the Hills Have Eyes films, new and old and i must say that this was not what i expected ... i expected a remake of the original Hills Have Eyes 2 ... you know ... the one with the motor cycle team that get stuck in the mining camp.

Anyway as it stands this remake is okay but there is so much more potential that was wasted .... to say this film is disapointing on a whole is a lie as it was a great mindless flick you watch just to switch off .... but it is not as good as it could of been if you know what i mean and the gore level was slightly disapointing, the acting too in places is questionable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mutant cannibal completists need only apply, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Funk Monkey (Maidstone, Kent) - See all my reviews
I'm not quite sure what people were expecting from this movie. This is an exploitation flick about horny deformed mutants doing battle with attractive twentysomethings. A Bergmanesque meditation on life it ain't.

This horror sequels main problem lies with it's script. The jury's still out as to whether it works as an allegory for the situations in Iraq and Afghanistan respectively. If that was the intention then the message doesn't quite hit home. I would like to have seen the mutant clan given a bit more personality a la the original Hills have Eyes.

Don't get me wrong, I found the movie highly entertaining. It succeeds in generating plenty of suspense, is pacy and never dull. For all you horror aficionados out there the violent action scenes actually improve in quality as the flick progresses. The final showdown certainly got the old adrenalin flowin'. The acting is absolutely fine. Michael Macmillian as the nerdy `Napoleon' makes for an interesting hero and it's fun to see him kick some serious mutant ass towards the end of movie. This flick should find a happy home in the DVD collection of all devotees of the mutant cannibal subgenre.

If Hills 3 is on the cards then I sincerely hope they find a script with more ambition and originality. I still believe that there is mileage in the basic premise for another film. Provided that the filmmakers give it a serious overhaul as they most certainly can't get away with churning out the same story yet again, which sadly I imagine they will. Just imagine what a director like Neil Marshall could do with it...or Guillermo Del Toro... I can dream can't I ?

The DVD picture quality looks great. Sadly the extras aren't as extensive as they could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars S*** s*** s***, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a load of s*** this film is total waste of money total rubbish can't use words to describe this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull, 17 April 2013
Oh dear. I was never a massive fan of the original films, They were ok but I found them both a little boring in places but I really enjoyed the first remake. However this 2nd remake is a typical modern horror film. Not scary, controversial or extreme in any way, and no real heart. I tend not to like horror films with dumb army types in and that is basically the film; army v people living in the hills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Film., 9 Nov 2011
As good as the first film is this is bad! Very bad. Rarely will you see such a poor sequel then this. Such as shame as the first one was very good. The acting is awful. A special elite unit are sent to the sight when one by one they are picked off by the deformed creatures, the monsters look no where near as good as the original and you feel no relationship with any of the characters, in fact alot of them you don't even get to know atall. What i also felt was a little bit sick about this was the film seems to try and build up to the big scene which is the rape scene towards to end, it's as if the film is made around that being the shocking part and the bit to watch! I found myself just wanting them all to get killed off so i could turn it off. Unlikely they will make a third after this mess although once again it is left with a bit of a cliffhanger. Overall, don't watch it, it seems rushed and does'nt work at all. 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing overall, 27 May 2011
The Hills Have Eyes 2.
The original sequel to the Hills Have Eyes, called The Hills Have Eyes Part 2 (which included Michael Berryman) was far superior to this. However, although I thought this was mostly rubbish and pointless, it did end up providing some action and thrills which might appeal to some horror lovers. I personally did not care for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hills Have Eyes 2 [Blu-ray]
The Hills Have Eyes 2 [Blu-ray] by Martin Weisz (Blu-ray - 2008)
7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews