Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars26
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2009
I MUST say that these two DVDs are not a rubbish. I really enjoyed it. Andy McNab talks about bravery of soldiers sometimes even only 18! year old in Iraq and Afghanistan. These stories are really thrilling and sometimes very moving. And you can also see a little bit of Andy's face, when he speaks.
If i could give more stars I would.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
Overall, this series succeeds in providing a respectful, well-thought-out and informative perspective of the fighting in Iraq and Afgnahistan. It's quite a different approach to "Ross Kemp In/Return to Afghanistan", but no less effective. There is a good mix of content in each episode - usually, two engagements are described in detail, one larger, one smaller, most British, some US. The way the engagements are described is also very effective - a mix of first-hand accounts by the soldiers, animated graphics, real video footage (from the actual engagement where possible) and reconstructions with actors. If you know what to look for it's possible to pick out some "iffy" details in the reconstructions but overall they are quite well done. The soldiers' own accounts are the highlights, delivered as they are by the men themselves. McNabb's tactical and kit briefings add useful background, tho any watching anti-militarists or gun control types will pass the proverbial brick at what they'll likely see as the "glorification" of firepower and killing. Final verdict - there is certainly room in the lore of these campaigns for a well-put-together, down-to-earth, respectful and unashamedly appreciative visual account of the brave deeds of the British, US and allied troops out there; and this DVD fills that bill, rather well. Recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
As an ex sqaddie whos` son served in Iraq it was informative about the conditions in which he served, Macnab has done a good job of showing what our troops had to put up with.I particully liked the segment in which it showed the PWRR. having read Dan Mills book sniper one. All in all a very good watch.even the wife enjoyed it and managed to stay awake through it all.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
Andy McNab's Tour Of Duty [DVD]

.Sniper One: The Blistering True Story of a British Battle Group Under Siege

This DVD is a compilation of Andy McNab's TV programmes.
I bought it for track 3, which is about the Princess of Wales's Royal Regiment's tour in Al Amarah in 2004, and their defence of Cimic House -
this track alone amply repays the low cost of the DVD.
I first read of these actions in Sgt Danny Mills' book "Sniper One" and
assuming that you're interested in military matters, as otherwise you wouldn't be reading this, please do yourself a favour and read the book first as it's an absolute winner. Several of the main characters are seen on the DVD.
The action described was the longest continual action for the British army since Korea, although nothing was heard about it at the time as that great Defence Secretary "Buff" Hoon contrived to keep it all out of the media. Johnson Beharry got his VC during it, but the rest of the action was kept well out of the news.
The book is a masterpiece of authenticity and is the only one I can recall starting from the first page again as soon as I'd finished it.
It's also cheap on Amazon.
The other tracks are interesting too - although you have to ignore A McNab droning on at the beginning of every track about how his identity "Can Never Be Revealed!!" and other similar old toffee.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Brilliant, Felt sorry for the loss of all of them, But this is Real situation's that
araise in war. Very well made will watch this again to remind me that to never forget
our Soldiers of war and peace. Thank you
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Very hard to find however once found great value.Super fast delivery .Item as described and in great condition. A really big help forr me in a project
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
This DVD was great to watch. It shows you stuff that you wouldn't normally know about. I would recommend this to anyone
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Picked this up as i am just looking into joining the army, and glad i did. The series is fantastic and gives a great insight into what is currently happening overseas. The series covers both UK and also US Troops over in Iraq and Afghanistan, and includes and insight into some of the weapons they use. I enjoyed it very much. Highly Recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Re enacted fire fights are quite a surprise if u like that kind of thing.
Not sure about the loss of life or whether we should have been there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Superb! As a soldier who served in the Gulf in 91, I found this incredibly interesting and I was fascinated throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)