Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film Jennifer Aniston leaves off her C.V.
This film is basically about an evil leprechaun who brutally murders anyone hindering his search for his lost gold.
it's the movie which Jennifer Aniston must cringe at and no doubt is keen to leave it off her C.V., yet I think this film is amazing. It's like no other film you will ever see and you will laugh at some of the poor attempts at acting. Yet this is...
Published on 22 Mar. 2004 by Mr. R. D. Gibbins

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned gothic fairy tales- hilarious horror?
I would imagine that since Friends cultivated a god like status with its global fan base, then unknown Jennifer Aniston would have turned this film down, should she have realised that only one character would make her mark in the entertainment industry.

What is most striking about this film is that this film is pre-Friends, yet the character of Racheal Green is...
Published on 4 Oct. 2006 by Bionic Reviwer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film Jennifer Aniston leaves off her C.V., 22 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Leprechaun [DVD] (DVD)
This film is basically about an evil leprechaun who brutally murders anyone hindering his search for his lost gold.
it's the movie which Jennifer Aniston must cringe at and no doubt is keen to leave it off her C.V., yet I think this film is amazing. It's like no other film you will ever see and you will laugh at some of the poor attempts at acting. Yet this is strangely one of the things that makes the film so watchable.
The sight of the evil, yet loveable leprechaun pedling frantically on his tiny tricycle is a sight I will never forget, along with many other scenes in this movie.
If you haven't seen this film, you are missing out on a real gem. It is pure genius. I advise you buy it as soon as possible. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LESSER OF THE HORROR CLASSICS, 27 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Leprechaun 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The Leprechaun series followed on the successful series of Friday the 13th, Halloween, and Nightmare. Like its predecessors it combined horror and humor. Leprechaun challenges our long held views of Leprechauns and turns them from a simple trickster into nearly immortal vile murdering creatures with all kinds of magical powers that would make you wonder how they ever get caught.

Leggy Jennifer Aniston plays a city girl who has moved into the country. She loathes the "new" house until she meets a hunk who is going to paint it. Her lines are well written, and her delivery is less so. Inside the house is a trapped Leprechaun and somewhere on the grounds is his hidden pot of gold. The writers did a good job creating humor and Freddy style dialogue, but they over did it to the point it distracted from the horror aspect from the so-called "horror" movie. The character Ozzie, a mental midget, was also a bit over done.

The movie drops the f-bomb and is perhaps the most memorable line, "F-you Lucky Charms."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned gothic fairy tales- hilarious horror?, 4 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Leprechaun [DVD] (DVD)
I would imagine that since Friends cultivated a god like status with its global fan base, then unknown Jennifer Aniston would have turned this film down, should she have realised that only one character would make her mark in the entertainment industry.

What is most striking about this film is that this film is pre-Friends, yet the character of Racheal Green is still present. Aniston is a stuck-up, whiny city girl, hurling sarcasm and engages in repartee-pretty much the same set up as her legendary TV show.

Tori (Aniston) decides to spend the summer in the country with her father. This premise, is of course ridiculous. Aniston is an attractive city girl, who is overly cosmopolitan to know grown women do not spend their summers in that vain.

Sadly, the humble abode they stay is infested with a mercenery leprechain (Warwick Davis), infactuated with 'me gold' and has his claws at the ready for anyone who decides they want a share.

The camera work is appaling, the editing is crude and the acting, plot, dialouge and near much everything else is toe curlingly hilarious.

Although it is not a horror, its goulish nature does make for great comedy.

Some of the best scenes involve a leprechaun riding a tricyle, a toy car and jumping up and down on a pogo stick.

No, it is not the height of sophistication, and i am amazed if you've actually heard of this film. If you have seen it-it is prime evidence as to why the nineties should be forgotten.

But you should watch it. I probably haven't conveyed it very well. But as they say 'it's so bad its good', and goes all the way back to bad again.

An absolute riot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hardly horror, but watchable nonetheless, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Leprechaun [DVD] (DVD)
If you ever wondered what Jennifer Aniston did before she hit the big time in `Friends' then you should watch this. Apparently, she got chased around by nasty little Leprechauns.

`Leprechaun' is classed as a `horror,' but I'd be surprised if there's anyone out there who actually finds it scary. It should probably be described as a comedy. The titular character is very tongue-in-cheek as he chases a bunch of hapless kids around a farmhouse one night, in pursuit of his lost gold coins.

That's all this film is - a chase. The Leprechaun is unstoppable (at least via conventional means - the kids will have to learn exactly what magic way you can despatch a Leprechaun), so the monstrous little fella is happy to just keep messing with their young heads as he terrorises them. This is perhaps the film's only real drawback. Although it's not overly long (ninety minutes), the middle part seemed a little too drawn out. Yes, we get that the Leprechaun can't be killed, so they really need to move it along a bit.

However, that's a minor gripe. Yes, this film is a typical low budget B-movie, so don't expect much in the way of acting (although Jennifer Aniston shows she has what it takes to do more than just scream in hotpants). If you want a silly, cheesy B-movie to laugh at then you'll find one right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burn in hell ya' little green **!, 30 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Leprechaun [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Whoa, Why would Jennifer Aniston want to be in a film like this? because its bloody good fun! thats why! A wee little Irish Leprechaun wants his gold and he won't let anything stand in his way. I think hes forgot the rules of a Leprechaun. Anyway this film is a must see and the Leprechaun is very funny. It has some good phrases aswell but the one Dan o'Grady has to offer doesn't go to plan. Very Good and a must see for Late-night horror fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A modern horror classic, 24 May 2004
By 
Ben Spence (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leprechaun [DVD] (DVD)
I'd have to rate Leprechaun as one of my favourite films ever. When i first watched it some parts didn't quite make sense, like why is there a painting and decorating company with a 9 year old boy working for it, but as you learn to love the film these things just add to its greatness. It has some pretty sick bits in it, like where a coin collector gets pogo-sticked to death, and where the Lep pushes this guys wife down the stairs and breaks her neck, but these parts are balanced out with the many moments of pure comedy, from where the Lep rides this tiny little tricycle to where there is this absolutely crazy scene where he is hiding in these cuboards and keeps jumping in and out. Throughout the film Jennifer Aniston wears hotpants for no apparent reason but I guess it makes up for her terrible acting. Warick Davis, the guy who plays Leprechaun is a great actor, and the rhymes in this film are by far the best in all of the films. I don't think that there are any special features on the dvd but but £5 you can't really go wrong. Go watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best. Film. Ever., 21 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leprechaun 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, not quite. If you're expecting Oscar winning material, you're going to be disappointed. If you're expecting a horrendously scary horror film, you're going to be disappointed.

If you want an entertaining early-1990s cheese-fest though, then it doesn't come much better then this. Let's face it, the premise isn't scary. But the way the mad Leprechaun disposes of his victims is at times hilarious. This film doesn't take itself seriously, but manages to have pretty decent performances from it's leads non-the-less.

The fact that I only brought it a month ago, but I've watched it, then invited a friend round to watch it again says it all. Loses a star for having no DVD extras. But very enjoyable, so silly it's good film non-the-less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pogo Sticked to Death, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leprechaun 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'd never heard of "Leprechaun" until I purchased this DVD in HMV after being intrigued by the premise of watching a murderous leprechaun search for his missing gold. So bad it might be good ? As it turned out the film was pretty bad but sort of funny , despite the odd gruesome scene. The acting wasnt great although a very young , pre "Friends" Jennifer Aniston plays a leading role. Seeing the leprechaun riding around the place on a tricycle,wheelchair and mini car was particularly bizarre as was the murderous pogo stick scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not scary good family fun, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leprechaun 1 [DVD] (DVD)
watched this with the family, absolutely hillarious, proper belly laughs at how bad it is.Ive got to buy the rest if they are as funny as this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Terribly enjoyable, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Leprechaun 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It is terrible that is true but it's kind of good terrible. It's like it meant to be terrible with the silliness and humour mix to this horror movie which I found really enjoyable. I enjoy Warwick Davies work and even saw him live and I love jennifer Anniston since friends. I kind of believe that these two are brilliant and they made this film what it is and if you want to watch a film to have a laugh with your friends I would recommend it to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leprechaun 1 [DVD]
Leprechaun 1 [DVD] by Mark Jones (DVD - 2008)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews