Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, unique, classic 70's film
Most of the published reviews of this film have been written by people who have clearly never seen it.
The story is simple. Charlton Heston plays a USAF Doctor who, when an un-named enemy launches a biowar strike on the US, labours to produce a vaccine. He makes a breakthrough, but on the way to a city centre hospital to test it both he and his pilot catch the...
Published on 14 Mar 2000 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully tacky 1970s apocalyptic cheese (perfect with Totinos)
recently saw two films for the first time since childhood. If there is ever proof that we are not born with taste, that taste is a reflection of our willingness to move past what we know or are exposed to, then the proof is in this proverbial pudding. Two of the coolest movies to an adolescent in the early 1970s were Elvis On Tour (1972) and Ohe Omega Man (1971). However,...
Published 7 months ago by THE BLUEMAHLER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Charlton Heston Movie, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I am a big Charlton Heston fan, and I love films from this era
Nothing to dis-like about this film a good thought provoking story!
Would recommend to other Charlton Heston fans, the re-make " I Am legend" Will Smith is also worth a look.
Although I am bias as a die hard Heston fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than its remake, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I saw this in the mid-70s and it was great. I saw this in the 90s and thought pap. However, having seen the remake with Will Smith, this is surpasses that, by considearble distance. The film is a good look at early 70s America, from inter-racial relationships, American "street" talk (well to me anyway) and best of all no needless CGI cleverness. Just good movie story telling. Even spotting Hestons stunt double in the motorbike scene didn't spoil it.

A good movie from the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There are NO PHONES!!!!, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
The Omega Man recently had a bit of a resurgance after the release of the Will Smith reimagining I Am Legend (both based on the I Am Legend book). The world has been obliterated after a biological war and there are very very few survivors, but there are quite a few 'walking dead' who have been infected with a plague in the aftermath. Heston spends his time avoiding and fighting these people but some of the best scenes actually come from Heston talking to himself, like when he is watching Woodstock in a deserted cinema. The story takes a turn when he meets Lisa who is looking after some healthy children and it revives his human passion and emotion for life in order to help them. The empty streets look great, Heston is a good choice for the lead and it is well paced. Recommended. 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, solid, old sci-fi movie, still very watchable, although quite different from Richard Matheson's novel, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I really liked "Omega Man", even if it shows a little bit its age and the scenario is very different from the archifamous Richard Matheson's book.

Matheson's novel "I am legend" is one of the best and the most courageous science-fiction books that were ever written, I was extremely impressed when I read it and the ending certainly shocked me like few other books ever did. That being said, I found it also terribly depressing and for that reason I am rather grateful to the director and scenarist of "Omega Man" for adding a tiny little glimmer of hope to otherwise a very dark, violent and tragic tale.

I am a great fan of Charlton Heston and as this movie is for quite a lot of time his one-man show, I was well served. His travels and wanderings amongst the deserted ruins of world are a great moment of cinema. His conversations with imaginary "friends" and sarcastic comments on his surroundings are a pleasure to watch. His solitude is well described, in scenes in which he starts to hallucinate - and also when he angrily rips off the wall a poster with a pin-up girl...

His ennemies, the Family, are not exactly the best thing I saw in the movies and they are mostly the reason why I take off one star from my rating. Frankly, I believe that in the more recent remake, "I am legend" with Will Smith (which I otherwise didn't like much) the ghastly "vampires" were the only one thing better than in "Omega Man".

The relation between Neville (Charlton Heston) and Lisa (Rosalind Cash) is a very hot and in the same time very touching one. It must be said that in 1971 an interracial love story on the screen was a rather daring thing to show, especially considering that Neville and Lisa went without the slightest doubt the whole nine yards - and compared to their very carnal relation the famous kiss between Captain Kirk and Lieutenant Uhura seems a chaste and innocent thing...

Also, Rosalind Cash didn't hesitate to show herself very much to her public - and may she be thanked for that! It is such a pity that this gorgeous, brave, intelligent and talented woman didn't make a bigger career and that she passed at the age of only 56, in 1995 after a long fight against cancer...

The one technical thing concerning this release is the absence of the deleted scene, in which Lisa sees a woman from Family going to a cemetery crypt carring her dead newborn child. This scene was considered too harsh to be shown on the screen in 1971. I also have never seen this scene, but its existence is a rather certain thing. I really hope there will be one day a more comprehensive release, with some bonuses and this one deleted scene included.

Bottom line, I liked this movie very much and I am very happy that I bought it and watched it. The major reason I do not give it five stars, is that Charlton Heston did two other science-fiction movies, "Planet of Apes" and "Soylent Green", which are better and superior to this one - and considering that I can not rate them six stars, "Omega Man" must get only four...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An imperfect horror/science fiction classic, 19 Aug 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
The Omega Man (1971) is a very good movie, but those familiar with the novel I Am Legend by Richard Matheson, upon which the film is based (rather loosely), and the earlier, incomparable adaptation The Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price, may find themselves a little disappointed. That is how I felt. This is probably somewhat unfair, seeing as how The Omega Man differs significantly from the earlier book and movie, but I can't help but make such comparisons. Charlton Heston plays Robert Neville, a military doctor who has lived alone for some three years since the world basically ended. Russia and China went to war, the U.S. may or may not have become involved, and eventually someone somewhere unleashed a weaponized bacterium that quickly set about ending man's reign on earth. With the help of a highly experimental vaccine and much more luck than exists in real life, Neville manages to survive, holing himself up in a penthouse apartment in town. At night, those who were "changed" instead of killed come out to play. These are not the mindless vampires of The Last Man on Earth, however; these are just funny-looking albino people with really weird eyes and very bad complexions. They even have a leader named Matthias (Anthony Zerbe) who has turned "The Family" of survivors into a religious cult obsessed with destroying everything from the old earth - e.g., electricity, bombs, cars, and especially one Robert Neville.
After three years of hunting by day and trying to survive by night (with the help of a generator and lots of guns and liquor), Neville eventually encounters a fellow human being in the form of Lisa (Rosalind Cash). The relationship that forms between them represents one of the earliest interracial romances to appear on the big screen. Neville soon finds himself in the role of savior, possessing the only immune blood by which serum can be made to cure those who are left on earth. Of course, The Family is still trying to kill him every single night, and they (plus a really stupid kid) help make sure that Neville's plans and new-found hopes don't easily succeed. The ending is a little bit hokey, but it seems appropriate and allows for all sorts of philosophical and religious musings.
The Omega Man has its quirks. The music in particular is rather unusual, a little too funky and 70s-ish for my tastes, especially during certain select moments of importance in the film. Charlton Heston also seems unable to keep his shirt on for more than a few minutes at a time, which doesn't really do much for yours truly. Then there are the members of The Family; it's hard to say exactly what these people are. They fear daylight, but that is pretty much the only vampire-like quality they have. I also don't know why most people simply died from the plague, while a few folks changed into whatever The Family are supposed to be. I guess these questions aren't crucial for enjoying the movie, but I would have liked a fuller explanation as to what exactly the plague was and how it worked.
The Omega Man is an almost-classic horror/science fiction movie, but it can't hold a candle to Vincent Price's The Last Man on Earth. The latter movie is based much more closely (albeit not completely) on Richard Matheson's I Am Legend, and Vincent Price delivers a much more intense performance than Heston does. I never really felt the weight of Neville's loneliness and inner turmoil, despite extended scenes early on showing the man talking to himself and acting a little nutty. This, I would argue, is the main weakness that keeps The Omega Man from more completely satisfying me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully tacky 1970s apocalyptic cheese (perfect with Totinos), 14 May 2014
recently saw two films for the first time since childhood. If there is ever proof that we are not born with taste, that taste is a reflection of our willingness to move past what we know or are exposed to, then the proof is in this proverbial pudding. Two of the coolest movies to an adolescent in the early 1970s were Elvis On Tour (1972) and Ohe Omega Man (1971). However, the sight of a pasty Rock and Roll King, dressed as a lounge lizard Batman, bejeweled in a string of rhinestone Christmas lights, with a shoe-polished football helmet for hair and sideburns reaching down to his collarbone, singing Sinatra’s “My Way”, is the stuff of nightmares.

Even more horrific is Omega Man‘s Charlton Heston as a doomsday martyr with a Savior complex, dying for our sins. Boris Sagal’s apocalyptic oater is a delightfully dated and tacky fantasy. Who better to fill that role than all-American, granite-jawed Heston? The dialogue is jaw dropping. Omega Man was one of several ideologically right-leaning science fiction films that Heston gravitated to. (His choice of roles revealed a shrewd awareness on the actor’s part towards development of a public persona). It was a natural to follow epic Biblical melodramas with parts casting him as a messianic loner. The essence of American power and strength, highlighted by his carved-in-marble Roman profile, Heston was built for adolescent males to emulate and females to swoon over.

Throughout the 60s and 70s Heston gravitated to roles that called for him to be impaled in the arc of the drama. El Cid (1961), Khartoum (1966), Beneath the Planet of the Apes (1970), Will Penny (1968), Omega Man (1971), Soylent Green (1973) and The Last Hard Men (1976) all find Heston in St. Sebastian-mode.

Omega Man was (poorly) based on Richard Matheson’s novel I am Legend. The story had been previously filmed with a femmy Vincent Price in Last Man on Earth (1964), and would be later with Will Smith in I am Legend (2007). No version got it right, but the closest was George Romero‘s Night Of the Living Dead (1968), which was merely inspired by Matheson’s novel, rather than a direct adaptation.

Heston never looks more like an old man Jesus figurine than he does here, in his polyester white Baptist dress shirt and Fred Mertz-style high trousers, oozing blood. Heston is Neville, the lone survivor of the 1975 apocalypse.He shoves in an 8 track tape of Strangers In The Night as he cruises through the ghost town that used to be New York City (of course). He steps into a theater, turns on the projector, and watches Woodstock (1970) “showing in its third straight year.” Neville has every line of dialogue memorized.

He hears the city’s imaginary phones all ringing simultaneously and does his best James Franciscus impersonation: “There is no phone ringing, dammit! There is no phone!” (a line which echoes Jimmy’s’ “Get out of my head!” in Beneath the Planet of the Apes). Neville sees a shadowy figure running behind a skyscraper window. Within a few seconds and a choppy edit, Neville pulls out his Tommy gun and rat-a-tat-tat!

“Oh my god it’s almost dark. They will be waking up soon!”

Yes, the mole men are coming. Thankfully, we have Chuck to set things right.

The mole men channel Ray Bradbury, torching Picassos and plenty of books.

“Neville! Neville!”

“Shut up! Why can’t you leave me alone?”

Nevill dusts three mole men.

‘Not three!” “Yes, three. They should have stayed clear of the light!” “There was no light!”

“One creature. Alone. Outnumbered 100 to one. Nothing to live with except his gadgets, his toys, his stuff, his guns.”

“Honky paradise, brother.”

“Forget the old ways, Brother. Forget all your pains and remember the family is one against that thing! That creature of the wheel, that Lord of the infernal engines. He will be destroyed, but not by guns, not by evil things, not by the tools that destroyed the world…destroyed the world.”

Chuck has got the test vaccine to fight the plague: 93 b71. He injects himself before the evil can do its dirty deed, and thus he preserves himself as the sole, immune savior.

Head mole man Anthony Zerbe brings out the instruments of the Inquisition, planning to cleanse Chuck with fire !

Chuck cooks kielbasa for chess mate Ceasar, puts his shirt back on, dons a swashbuckling Errol Flynn corset, and aims his fire stick at the giant, Spanish crossbow thing-a-ma-jig.

Rat-a-tat-tat.

Neville loses shirt again and exhales. A hot black babe takes the shape of Rosalind Cash. Chucky has a gf.

Strangers in the night, exchanging glances.

Rat-a-tat-tat.

Chuck seized by the mole men!

“Take those Halloween costumes off.”

“Show him our pretty marks.” We reveal our inmost self unto our god (2 cent contact lenses).

Here comes gf to save the day, Chuck revs up his Honda, does his best Evel Knievel, and bonds with a Manson family-styled commune. “I was a med school student when they scratched the world.” The kids are spooked “with you shooting everything in sight.”

“Dr. Neville? Are you God?”

“Honey, let’s see if he is a good doctor first.”

“You’re immune?… with your blood, we could save the world.”

Now why Neville never bothers to explain this to Zerbe is a slight plot hole.

Rat-a-tat-tat.

Chuck and Rosalind get naked. Adam/Eve. Alpha/Omega.

Ritchie, Rosalind’s brother, plays naive Judas and betrays Dr. Neville.

Rat-a-tat-tat.

Chuck gives his blood, just like Jesus gave his, and meets his end, arms outstretched; a savior for us, a model to remember.

For lovers of great trash (and it still goes perfect with late night cardboard pizza).

*my review originally appeared at 366 weird movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Adventure, 11 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
'The Omega Man' is a simple film but still makes for a very enjoyable experience. The acting is quite excellent with Charlton Heston and the under-rated Anthony Zerbe both playing their parts very well. Director Boris Sagal makes some good choices where cinematic shots and tension are concerned and some of the music is very well interspersed with the action on screen. However, what really makes this film worth watching is Heston's ability to convey is growing insanity that emerges from being all alone with no-one to talk to.
The central idea behind the film is that an enemy (unknown) has launched a deadly bio-weapon at the USA. This bacteria warfare has caused the entire country to be wiped out except for one man, Neville (Heston), and a load of mutants. The film follows Heston's attempts to annihilate the mutant menace and the discoveries he makes along the way. The film has a superb climax which is quite emotional adding to the depth of an already meaningful story.
Boris Sagal has created an undeniable success which is only let down by some unrealistic moments and some shoddy acting by Rosalind Cash. I would definitely suggest watching this film if the chance arises but I would only buy the DVD if it sounds like it would be a worthy addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic 70s Sci Fi, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
In the Seventies Science Fiction films were in fashion, some have not stood the test of time and now show signs of being dated and are poor (Westworld and Logan's Run) and some are still intelligent and gripping (Andromeda Strain, Terminal Man and Soylent Green) Omega Man ranks as not only one of the most intelligent science fiction of the period but also one the best apocalyptic movies: there's no hordes of idiotic zombies and piles of gore but a cerebral demented enemy trying to murder the last man on earth. Charlton Heston, in one his finest roles, is the Robert Neville a military scientist who has survived a biological attack he travels through the empty Los Angeles in the day hunting the plagued survivors; by night he borders himself up in his fortified house as they surround it. The film perfectly captures an apocalyptic city: empty streets littered with garbage, cars lying around and shops open as Neville takes what he wants and you can't help wondering in scenes when he talks to himself if he is on the edge of madness. Some may find the villains laughable as they walk around in inquisitors coats rejecting modern technology but I found it an intelligent touch and adds a Gothic horror element. Admittedly some of the dialogue is cheesy and dated but the film has retained a lot of it's power to thrill and shock and remains a scary, action-packed, gripping and boasts a brilliant soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential allegorical science fiction, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Robert Neville(Charlton Heston), who thanks to immunization to a terrible plague caused by the use of chemical weapons in a global war, wanders the streets of Los Angeles, eaking out some kind of existance, trapped in the same repeating rituals and also engeged in a deadly game of cat and mouse with the plague carrying members of 'The Family' a technophobic cult who see Neville as the devil incarnate.
Hope comes in the form of Lisa(Rosalind Cash), another person who is as yet not affected, but whose brother is slowly developing symptoms of the plague virus. Neville agrees to help, but is Lisa his saviour or his nemesis?
Okay, this may be a very loose adaptation of Richard Matheson's oft-filmed novel 'I Am Legend', but it remains my favourite. Heston is superb in conveying both the steely determination and the despair of trying to keep the flag flying for humanity by oneself. He is also adept at the physical side of the performance. Anthony Zerbe is great as the sly, cunning Father Matthias, leader of The Family, who sees Neville as both a danger to his own power and the creator of all the worlds ills(Neville was a scientist before the plague decimated the population). The scenes of Neville wandering the desolated, empty streets with only corpses to keep him company are suitably eerie, and the film is a fine example of the direction 70's science fiction took on the big screen, with a thoroughly bleak outlook on the future of the Earth and its occupants.
The film isn't perfect. Ron Grainer's soundtrack is a mixture of good and bad and the pacing of the film meanders at times. The excellent set pieces that punctuate the film at regular intervals make up for any negatives though. A very enjoyable hour and a half for fans of science fiction, especially the 1970's science fiction film. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Man [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
This is an absolute gem of a film,

I had the pleasure of seeing this on the big screen in the 80's at a Film Festival

Quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Omega Man [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
Omega Man [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] by Boris Sagal (Blu-ray - 2007)
£13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews