Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all-round protection
This package offers a good level of protection for beginners and advanced. The suite comes with a self-updating virus checker, a decent firewall, a secure file deletion tool and the opportunity to backup the contents of folders to a remote server (part of the licence).

Out of the box the CD auto mounts and starts the install process. However the CD wasn't...
Published on 12 May 2009 by SBno1

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a load of you-know-what
The best thing I can say about Webroot, and this is scraping the proverbial barrel, is that it is better than McAfee Internet Security Suite 2008 - Complete package - 3 users - DVD - Win - English. But only just. It took me about a week to get peed off with this instead of the twenty-four hours that McAfee survived. Webroot seems to want to 'update' all the time which...
Published on 6 May 2009 by SAP


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a load of you-know-what, 6 May 2009
By 
SAP (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The best thing I can say about Webroot, and this is scraping the proverbial barrel, is that it is better than McAfee Internet Security Suite 2008 - Complete package - 3 users - DVD - Win - English. But only just. It took me about a week to get peed off with this instead of the twenty-four hours that McAfee survived. Webroot seems to want to 'update' all the time which involves paralysing your computer for an hour whether you want it to or not. Even when it isn't doing this my system still takes about five whole minutes to load a web page when it used to take about ten seconds. I'm not exaggerating.

After all that time it didn't really do anything special anyway, it just "quarantined" some harmless cookies that are actually quite helpful to me because they remember my logging in details for a number of websites that I visit regularly. So I am inconvenienced because I have to input all those details again.

The problem is the same, but the degree is less. I'm talking about processing speed. This little beast slows down my computer to the speed of a slug that has been sprinkled with salt, only I suppose it gets some points for not writhing about so much or lathering goo bubbles. That would be unsettling and hard to clean up after. The unacceptable bit is that on the front of the box Webroot proudly proclaims that the user "shouldn't have to choose between protection and performance". Why? Because Webroot decides for you! You're not having performance and that's that. See? No choosing.

Also, I'm a bit suspicious of the alleged clean-up option that you get with this software. It takes less than five minutes which is utterly amazing considering the dying-slug speed it does everything else at. My suspicion is that this clean up is just like going into Internet Options and deleting one's browsing history and temporary internet files yet it's presented as if it's some kind of special detox. Perhaps I just have a suspicious mind?

Save your money. I'd rather be riddled with viruses and spyware. They couldn't possibly cripple my system as much as this heap of bosh. Think how many cappuccinos you can buy with 40. Twenty! That's loads of pleasure. Webroot is just pain. Thanks for lying, Arvind. (If you REALLY work for Webroot.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all-round protection, 12 May 2009
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This package offers a good level of protection for beginners and advanced. The suite comes with a self-updating virus checker, a decent firewall, a secure file deletion tool and the opportunity to backup the contents of folders to a remote server (part of the licence).

Out of the box the CD auto mounts and starts the install process. However the CD wasn't actually used. If you are connected to the internet at time of install it will go off and download the latest version. For the beginner you can just accept all defaults and be up and running in a few minutes. The more advanced user may want to make some tweaks. An "ASK" tool-bar (search engine) is an optional install (Default is to install), so you may want to watch out for it.

The package integrates nicely into Windows security and switches off the Windows firewall. Webroots firewall will stop both incoming and outgoing connections (Windows only stops incoming). You will get a warning if something tries to get through and you are given the usual options to allow, refuse, always allow or always refuse. I tried to install a trojan keylogger and it got picked up straight away. I allowed the install and activated it, when it tried to call out it couldn't get through the firewall. So it does what it says. An option is also available to block/warn you of any software that tries to launch at startup, change homepage, add favourites or change security settings

Tried a few other virus infected files at Webroot and they got stopped. A scan of my drive picked up a few false alarms on keygen files which was to be expected. There have been regular updates to the virus database and these are done quickly and cleanly.

My machine has not had any noticable drop in speed, installed on a netbook with 1gb ram, Atom n270 CPU. Also run well on a VMware machine running with 1gb Ram, Celeron 1.6 CPU. Whole drive scanning does have a drop in system speed, which is to be expected with any full drive scan.

File cleanup is a simple point and click operation. It can detect some 3rd party software and remove recent/history/browsing artefacts etc.

This is a good all round package for security and low-level maintenence. I have tried a few packages in the last few weeks and this one is coming out as my favourite so far.A good clear interface with good default protection and enough options to allow those with more experience to tweak the program to their own specs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and affordable option, 28 April 2009
By 
Mr. Gideon D. Brody "twitter me: gideon_" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So, we have yet another anti-virus product. Is it any better than the vast array of others on the market? Hard to say. We all have to choose one at some stage and if you want to pay you might as well get one that suits you the best. This product is going to suit those who want things nice and simple. Casual computer users, technophobes and those that want things without fuss will appreciate this product. IT is by the far the simplest interface you are likely to encounter. On top of this, you are able to use the programme on three separate computers.

Everything about Webroot Internet Essentials is technophobe proof. Installation, via a single disc, is as easy as inserting the disc and clicking "run installation" with the process itself taking about three clicks in total. There is a slight wait for updates to be downloaded, but aside from that it's remarkably simple.

The program's interface is also very easy to navigate around and separates Internet security into four windows: "sweep", "shields" and "firewall" and "cleanup". Sweeps - otherwise known as system scans - are program searches that scan through your entire computer for viruses, spyware, trojans, tracking cookies etc. There is the option for full, quick and custom scans. A full scan takes a good while - over an hour. Make a cuppa and come back to it or do it overnight. Shields is the part of the program that pre-empts viruses and spyware problems and zaps them before they are an issue. So that means your browser, network, windows, startup and email are looked after. The firewall provides a discreet barrier to all the nasties. It sets itself up automatically and you rarely need to deal with it. Cleanup is a useful too to help de-clutter your browser and windows functions.

Although the full sweeps are pretty slow (any slower than other programmes though?) they feel convincingly thorough. Again, once bad stuff is identified, it takes a click of a button to successfully quarantine and remove anything.

As for the anti-spyware facility. I did a full system scan using a computer that has already had Spybot installed. The Webroot program found a significant amount of new problems although I have encountered this kind of thing before. Occasionally, I'll use Ad-Aware Pro for my other computer and that tends to identify problems that Spybot is apparently missing. All I can conclude is that the not free or "pro" programs may be slightly more sensitive and in their own way, more efficient. In saying that, I am far from an expert. What I will say, I am happier that the problems are being noticed by the paid for programs, regardless of their relative threat.

As part of the package you are given twelve months of updates. I cannot be sure of how much renewing the update subscription would be, although I am sure there are a number of options.

Should you pay the extra then or stick with the freebie options such as AVG? Hard to answer. If you're living on a shoestring, this might be considered a luxury. If you want more peace of mind and an arguably easier to use program than AVG/Norton/McAfee, I'd definitely recommend Webroot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than McAfee, 28 April 2009
By 
Eric Baker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I used to have a collection of free security programs more or less working together - AVG, Zone Alarm etc. It took a bit of maintaining and sometimes they gave warnings about each other but I never got infected.

Then I got the chance to evaluate McAfee and used that for about 10 months. It was OK but rather busy - it seemed to think it owned the PC after startup and made it very slow at times.

Now I've switched to Webroot. Installing it from the CD went smoothly and the XP list of processes is much shorter than with McAfee. I then upgraded (free) to v6.1 via a 38Mb download. There's been very little need to train the software - it sensibly allows Outlook, Firefox etc access to the net without fuss and the firewall's list of allowed programs is easy to manage. I haven't used the online backup feature (I already use iDrive). But I did try its cleanup option. This churned away for a while and released over 6Gb of disk space. One concern was a review I found saying its firewall was weak and didn't stealth ports. They must have fixed it, because it passed the Gibson Research Ports Up tests with flying colours. It also found a keylogger program that McAfee had missed so its anti malware side must be pretty good. There has been the occasional oddity, eg where Windows warned that Webroot was switched off (it was just a bit slow getting started). But generally I much prefer Webroot to McAfee and like its interface. The PC also feels sprightlier now.

A week on and I'm even more impressed. Webroot blocked Spotify until I specifically allowed it and also would not let me update a website I was working on with the FileZilla ftp client until I allowed that. So I've got more confidence now that if something nasty does get into my PC it will not find it easy to phone home with my passwords etc.

Six weeks further on and I'd now only give it one star. The malware sweeper seems quite good but if it misses a scheduled sweep it keeps starting one anyway, unasked. You keep thinking "why is the PC so slow?" I finally gave in and let it do a full sweep only to find the PC really slow again the very next day - it was doing its scheduled sweep despite the last full one being just a day earlier. Duh!

On startup and shutdown Webroot is clumsy. I nearly always get XP and Vista security warnings about Webroot being turned off - even after its icon appears in the systray. And quite often Webroot comes up as "not responding" when shutting down.

But the worst thing is the firewall. I assumed that the initial flurry of messages about what processes wanted to get on the net would subside. But it has got much worse. It repeatedly asks the same questions, like "google software updater is attempting to connect to the internet" with block and allow buttons. That happened again while I was typing this update. It doesn't matter that I've answered "Allow and don't ask me again" 50 times - it just keeps coming back with the same stupid queries. Despite the google updater being listed as Allowed in Webroot's list of firewall-exempt applications. And its Block/Allow dialogue has a 60 second countdown so there's no time to look up the process name on the net. Stupid! Then when you click Block or Allow it leaves the main Webroot page up there on your screen so you have to keep zapping that several times an hour. One night I was out and my wife found it almost impossible to work on the PC, she was getting such a blizzard of Webroot firewall queries she didn't know how to answer.

So there's no way I'd pay Webroot for next year's subscription. Meanwhile I'm thinking of disabling the Webroot firewall on both our computers (XP and Vista) and installing a free standalone firewall instead. But will Webroot let me get away with that or throw a hissy fit? Weirdly, as I was about to post this update I lost my internet connection. After rebooting the router twice it was still not there. So I disabled the Webrooot firewall and that worked. Spooky and I'm going to switch to another firewall straight away. How did it know I was writing about it?

Final update, 24 June 09. After hundreds of ludicrous repeat alerts from the firewall about the same software (eg google updater, even though I kept ticking the don't ask again box) I turned off the firewall on my XP desktop and installed the Comodo firewall instead. But that combination wasn't great (Webroot started blocking Outlook send/receives even with its firewall off!) so in the end I paid for Kaspersky and removed Webroot from both PCs. I lasted about 2 months with Webroot before getting too fed up with it to continue. Kaspersky's a great improvement on our Vista laptop although it failed to install correctly on the messy old XP desktop so I've reverted to free stuff on that - Windows firewall, AVG anti virus etc. I'll replace it once Windows 7 is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars there are better free ones out there, 1 July 2009
By 
S. Warren "ste_warren" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I agree with the other reviewers. This is not a bad piece of software, but I have actually just removed it from my system as I find it rather annoying in that it wants to update every five minutes and while doing so, I have the slowest internet connection ever. Also, it quarantines my cookies for websites and even web pages that I visit so once a week, I had to re enter my favourites and add them again! after a month of this, I gave up... Also, cookies for regular sites such as my football teams fans forum (which are harmless) are deleted so I have to re enter usernames and passwords. My advice to anyone thinking of buying this is not to bother and get the AVG free antivirus software as its probably better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin!, 22 May 2009
By 
Nolene-Patricia Dougan "Dougs" (Ravara, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I confess that when it comes to purchasing Internet Security products I am prone to panic! Thoughts start to whizz through my head along the lines of I won't understand it, I won't be able to do it and the inevitable, who can I get to do it for me.

It was therefore after not a little trepidation and hesitation that I even opened the box of Webroot Internet Security Essentials. I loaded the disc into my laptop and waited for everything to go horribly wrong and for me to have to resort to begging someone to fix my laptop for me - as without it, life as I know it does not exist. The weird and wonderful thing was that it didn't go horribly wrong, it was incredibly easy. It brought true meaning to plug and play!

Webroot installs itself and then asks a few very basic questions, such as how often would you like your pc scanned? It even gives you multiple choice answers so that you can get a clear picture of what exactly it's going to do. Once you've clicked on a couple of boxes it then immediately runs it's first scan and clean, which was reasonably fast - considering that it was it's first scan, subsequent scans and cleans are faster. The truly amazing thing though was that during the scan and clean it didn't slow my laptop down at all! Considering that I usually have six or seven tabs open in two different windows I thought this was absolutely amazing.

The 3 pc option is excellent and allows you to protect your desktop and two laptops. Let's face it most homes these days have a general desktop pc and everyone has their own laptop so it is a real money saver not having to buy security protection for each individual computer.

All said and done I am delighted with this product, I keep it running in the background at all times and I have had no problems with it. So far it has not misbehaved or attempted to quarantine any files or cookies that I need, however it has protected me from a website with malicious coding which it followed up with an extra scan to make sure that my computer was still fully protected.

This is a very reasonably priced product, especially when you take into account the 3pc licence and the automated free online back-up of all your important files and photos. This is one product I definitely would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Virus? What Virus?, 29 April 2009
By 
Mrs. T. Newton "Sassy Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Webroot Internet Security Essentials does what is says on the box and is 'The security you need without slowing you down.'

I've tested programmes like this before, and found this one easy to install and set up schedules for computer sweeps; scans of virus' and pop up spyware that could be laying in the background of your computer literally taking notes of your surfing habits and recording them.

When you install this software from the disc included you get a year's service, telephone support and automatic security updates from VersionGuard to keep your PC secure. I have waited for a couple of weeks to write this review, in order to make sure I could report any problems this programme caused after installing and using it for this period of time. I am pleased to say that I have not come across any, which is great.

Webroot also offers a backup online storage for 2GB of your photos and other valuable files. This is quite a lot, but not enough for those with a huge amount of files, so more GB's can be purchased at a fairly cheap rate, if required.

It also says that it can protect up to 3 PC's, which is quite refreshing - normally this is not the case.

All in all, this appears to be a good antivirus and antispyware programme and an effective way of protecting your computer, which didn't cause my computer any other problems as some in the past have done. In fact, I caught a virus last night. No, I'm not ill! A couple of clicks it was quarantined and then deleted from my computer. Now I can sleep easy, with no menthol crystals in sight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic looking but really effective, 23 April 2009
By 
Lisa Maynard "Mrs Kasani" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The language used in the instillation is very plain and easy to understand and you are given the option to look at the files contained on the CD before installation starts, which I really liked. You can also have all your Documents saved to back-up remotely, which is brilliant. The only down-side is that you had to install a Webroot Toolbar and Search Assistant as part of the package (there wasn't a choice not to; it was part of agreeing to the terms of the licence). It doesn't look slick or professional but I don't think it needs to, because it works effeciently and doesn't dominate your computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars again, impressive, 21 April 2009
By 
Mr. Nadim Bakhshov "Nadim Bakhshov" (Bloomsbury, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wrote:

"I want to qualify my recommendation of this software: I am lecturer in Computing and a professional Software Engineer. You would make a reasonable assumption that I would have a good grasp of software and its vicissitudes.

This is the first time I have genuinely been impressed by a piece of 'security' software. It is clean, its sweep is focused and its overall performance and quality is close to perfection.

I will be recommending Webroot to my colleagues.

From a user point of view you need to feel the installation and configuration is straightforward, the background processing efficient and confidence inspiring. It is both of these."

For the Webroot Spy Sweeper Webroot Spy Sweeper (PC) but felt the same applied to this product.

note: if you buy the spy sweeper it includes an updated version of Internet Security Essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great package at a great price!, 20 April 2009
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
with so many anti-virus products on the market, this is no better or worse than them all!

we all need one of these..for security!

this item is so easy to install and use i would recommend it!

i have previously used norton and mcafee and this works just as well...no problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Webroot Internet Security Essentials - 3 User (PC DVD)
Used & New from: 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews