Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown Magic
Nice collection. Good notes , too. It's interesting to note those Good Jazz Influences... Lester Young and so on.
Lovely to hear Cleo's Mood.... hard to come by, theses days. And you're brought up to date-ish with his last hit..Walk In The Night.
Excellent recording and a good addition to any Motown Revival.. which we seem to be in the middle of right now.
Published on 28 Mar. 2009 by Mr. M. J. Walters

versus
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Junior Walker
This "Definitive Collection" is so bad it is absolutely sad. The sound is like 1935 and if it has been remastered, they certainly did a poor job. Junior Walker sounds like he is singing out of sa bunker basement. Just terrible
Published on 21 Jun. 2010 by E. M. Humphrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown Magic, 28 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Walters "mikejwalters" (west midlands, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Nice collection. Good notes , too. It's interesting to note those Good Jazz Influences... Lester Young and so on.
Lovely to hear Cleo's Mood.... hard to come by, theses days. And you're brought up to date-ish with his last hit..Walk In The Night.
Excellent recording and a good addition to any Motown Revival.. which we seem to be in the middle of right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a cracking album, 12 Dec. 2009
By 
J. C. Comer (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I had a vinyl lp of Junior Walker's greatest hits years ago; this is even better, more tracks, all the hits and the marvellous 'Cleos Mood', what more you could you want? It is a great selection, well remastered and hugely enjoyable.I definitely recommend it, no question. If you like music with saxaphone to the fore, tight rhythm section and more than a little funk this is an album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB ROAD RUNNER, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Road Runner got me into Junior Walker & the All Stars back in the sixties. When I discovered more tracks I was content to listen to them on scratchy vinyl, cassettes and early audio CD's through the intervening decades. This collection took me to a different planet in recording values- a superb digitally remastered sound. To me Road Runner is different class followed by Shotgun, Shake and Fingerpop and all their early hard-driving R&B tracks. Towards the end of their career they did get more commercial and a lttle smooth for my palate but the wonderful sax saved these records. In fact the sax here must be the most under-rated in any genre or sphere of music- its just epic. I suppose the Northen Soul fans will be disappointed that Cool Cool Baby & I Aint Going Nowhere are excluded- but trust me all the vital, indispensable tracks are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU WANT A BEST OF JUNIOR WALKER, LOOK NO FURTHER, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
IF YOU WANT A BEST OF JUNIOR WALKER, LOOK NO FURTHER. All his well known tracks are here and many more, what a brilliant saxophonist and all remastered into superb stereo sound, he has never sounded as good as this, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 9 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This CD is one you must have if you are a Jnr Walker fan and love saxophone. This is brilliant with a fantastic sound. One of the best recordings of ' How sweet it is...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jr. Walker & The All Stars, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
R. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jr. Walker & The All Stars Motown's best brass section bands of the sixties. Wonderful a definitive album worht having in the collecion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - timeless - perfect., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Better than all the face creams - I listen to this and 40 + years have gone. Oh I AM still a KID really - good sounds never go bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great C.D., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this C.D. and it was great to be transported back to my dancing days as a young Mod, back in the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow wall to wall fabulous music, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
every track worth listening to
love this album
if you love Sax, you have to have this in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative of 60s Motown, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
My favourite in the 60s was Roadrunner but the album shows the variety of great songs he played and sung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Junior Walker (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews