Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Prisoner Cell Block H available in the UK
Well finally after years of waiting the first 32 episodes of the cult series Prisoner Cell Block H arrives, and i have to say it's still as good as ever, having seen the Australian release of cell block i firstly prefered the main menu, the extra's are simple but good, a moving rather than static text on several of the main characters, as their cell block characters...
Published on 16 Nov. 2008 by Badwolf

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars faulty dvd
Dissapointed as i have just started to watch the 1st box set and the dvds are faulty not bothered about the cost just the fact they are not working i havent tried the other dvds yet but trying to find out where i can get it replaced not impressed
Published 1 month ago by Ronnie james joseph smith


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Prisoner Cell Block H available in the UK, 16 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
Well finally after years of waiting the first 32 episodes of the cult series Prisoner Cell Block H arrives, and i have to say it's still as good as ever, having seen the Australian release of cell block i firstly prefered the main menu, the extra's are simple but good, a moving rather than static text on several of the main characters, as their cell block characters followed by the actors bio.

A small feature where you can see a short clip of sorting out Lynne Warner and the galleria which i felt was a bit dissapointing, it just seemed to be stills taken from scenes with a few publicity ones thrown in also.

Its great to see some familiar faces in the early series Myra Desmond & Willy Beecham as screws (prison officers for the uninitiated)Psycho Doctor Neil as a policeman, Auntie May as a friend of Bea's and a very naked Queenie Marshall.

All in all though a very good buy plus you get double the amount that the Australian release had (16 to the uk's 32 episodes)so wont take long to release the whole collection, and i personally cannot wait until Volume 2 is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one prison that I definately WANT to visit!, 7 Nov. 2009
By 
Daniel L. Miller "Collector Dude" (Toledo, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
FINALLY! FINALLY! FINALLY! The release of the greatest series of all time!
How many memories I have of staying up as 11pm rolls around! FORGET THE NEWS, "Prisoner Cell Block H" is on! My poor father never got to watch the
11 o'clock news! lol This IS and WILL ALWAYS be one of the BEST television series
of all times! How can you not love the crazy but fantastic characters inside Wentworth? Those put behind bars as well as the staff! OUTSTANDING CHARACTERS!
My favorite episodes are the early years with Bea at the helm! I never got to see the later years due to the series not being shown in my area! I remember when they ended the series on my local channel, I thought that was it for the show! It was many years later that I discovered how many episodes were actually produced! There were so many that I NEVER got to see!
PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! Release the entire series so that I can enjoy all those great episodes that I never got to see! Can't wait to receive the first 3 volumes!
Going to lock my doors, draw the curtains, turn out the lights and sit in front of the television set for HOURS! EVERYONE LEAVE ME ALONE,I'M VISITING WENTWORTH DETENTION CENTER FOR A FEW DAYS! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For God's sake please release Vol.2!, 3 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
Like everyone else I watched Prisoner first time round on ITV then again a few years later on Channel 5. Contains some of the most well drawn, unforgettable characters and stories in cinematic history. This is seriously addictive viewing. If the DVD distrubuters read Amazon reviews for product feedback and are hesitant of further volume releases, then read this: RELEASE VOL 2 NOW, AND THAT IS AN ORDER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality and TOTALLY addictive, 16 May 2011
By 
SteveINtheUKok "SteveINtheUKok" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
Straight in to the first episode and its 100% full throttle foot to the floor drama, if this were a book you would not be able to put it down. Totally addictive and that is what has made it a worldwide success over the years.

They have not packed too many episodes on a disc so the quality is very high, thankfully the original recordings are pretty good quality or at least have been cleaned up, they look fresh as a daisy.

Not packed with extras but to be honest with so much content in each box set your going to be pretty busy anyway. Not sure if much extra would have been available from that era anyway.

Very enjoyable if you've seen it before, as I have, but recommended if you have never seen it before it deals with what today are still some pretty shocking things, get it, you'll love it! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it so we get set 2 and beyond!, 19 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
Im so glad the UK are finally getting these dvds! However they will only be released on a set by set basis depending on sales of the previous set... so do your bit fans! Although i have the Aus complete Boxset, i will be getting these to! Fantastic series, a welcome edition to dvd especially considering some of the other 70s/80s shows you can get on dvd that weren't half as good or successful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on the Block, 15 May 2012
By 
S. V. Kerry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally a reasonably priced and fantastically presented treat for all former night workers! It was great to watch these 32 episodes again, a few I'd missed first time round. The series really gets off to a cracking start though there are a few elements of it finding its feet before it starts to run. Its been fun reliving the old days at Wentworth and getting reaquainted with the officers and inmates. Having previously seen the majority of the TV showing in the central area (and having many a late night and dissapointment when the show was cut becuase of the snooker over-running!)I have to say, this Australian drama certainly delivered its fair share of talented charecter actors and actresses. Val Lehman as Bea Smith and Fiona Spence as officer Vera "Vinegar Tits" Bennett certainly headed the popularity poles. Amazingly the charecters of Lizzie Birdsworth (Shiela Florence)and Doreen Andersson (Colette Mann) were mere comic relief in the early episodes but, weather planned or not, the shows producers eventually realised they had two great performers on their hands. Both actresses put in award winning performances in later episodes of the show. Elspeth Ballantyne (Meg Jackson), Peita Toppano (Karen Travers), Amanda Muggleton (Chrissie Latham),Kerry Armstrong (Lynn Warner) and the fantastic Carol Burns (Franky Doyle) deliver completely in their more dramatic moments and have a fine assortment of support from Mary Ward ("Mum" Brookes), Patsy King (Erica Davidson) and Margaret Lawrence (Marilyn Mason). It was also interesting understanding the "womens" attitudes to new prisoners. This set offers a few interesting early arrivals, ex-officer Anne Yates (Kirsty Child), Catherine Roberts (Margo McLennon), Helen Masters (Louise Pajo),Barbara Davidson (Sally Cahill), Susan Rice (Briony Behetts) and the somewhat irritating Clara Goddard (Betty Lucas).
One thing I was never keen on with "PRIZ" were the re-casting of former actresses. Thats the issue with Kirsty Child here who later played Willie Beecham, pal of May Collins (Billie Hammerburg)who also appears here as a different charecter. Whats also funny is the development of lead charecters. Both Judith McGraith and Joy Westmore are here, pottering around as officers in the bakcground before their roles were strengthened to the point Colleen *Po-Face" Powell and Joyce Barry became series regulars in later episodes. There were also elements of these early storylines that get repeated later on. Val lehman cited repitition of stories as one of the reasons for her decision to leave the show, and if you watch the entire show, thats abundantly obvious. We're not by any means talking any great work of art with Prisoner but, the show delivers time and again with raucous fun, fury and flashbacks. There are also some truly heart wrenching moments at certian points of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally awesome, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
the whole 692 episodes is pure class but I am old school. The character's are fantastic good and bad, it makes you want to watch episode after episode without a break :) I only hope they keep making it in larger volumes to order. I watched this aired from the first episode and was hooked, for an aussie programme it was THE BEST they've ever produced.BUY BUY BUY x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 27 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
I finished watching the whole 8 series of Bad Girls and decided to start watching Prisoner Cell Block H because I love shows where characters are in a closed environment and the female actresses get the best parts and this is certainly no exception.

Cell Block H is very watchable and has me sitting on the edge of my seat at times. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys watching a good drama.

I'm 23 but I think this show has aged well in the sense that many of the issues explored are still relevant and with the exception of the overdramatic interval music (lol!) and fashions of the late 1970s, Cell Block H looks like something that has aged well.

Highly Recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series., 17 Oct. 2011
By 
K. Maggs (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
I first heard about this from my parents a very long time ago. I started browsing Amazon a while ago for a decent programme to watch after getting through all of my 'Bad Girls' dvds again. Prisoner Cell Block H came up, and I checked out the reviews, which mostly seemed positive. I took a chance and bought it, and ever since I bought it I haven't stopped watching it! It is AMAZING. I would very much recommend this to anyone. I am currently half way through Volume 2, and am still just as gripped. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prisoner - Australia Drama At Its Best!!!, 15 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent DVD of the most famous Australian jail "Wentworth" comes the women of "H Block" ruled by its most famous "top dog" - Bea Smith played by the talented Val Lehman. From the eccentric "Lizzie Josephine Birdsworth" to Judy Brient (Driscoll House's Founder), Karen Travers (a convicted murderer) Lynn Warner (who claims to be innocent) to Officer Vera Bennett played by the comical yet tough Fiona Spence. Others include Meg Morris, Erica Davidson (The renound jail governor) and Franky Doyle who challenges Bea Smith to the top dog position with little effect!!! This is a must for all fans of the show - Let Prisoner Cell Block H once again show the drama it has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prisoner Cell Block H Vol.1 Episodes 1 - 32 [DVD]
£18.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews