Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show and very good box set
For anyone as of yet unfamiliar with "Extras" I can't recommend it highly enough! This box set is very good with loads of extras, including behind the scenes footage, entertaining commentary and the usual outtakes and deleted scene. The Christmas special is a definite must and provides, in my opinion, the perfect end to the show. If you are considering buying another box...
Published on 3 Aug 2010 by S. K.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good show, bad packaging
I am a big fan of Extras. I think it's absolutely brilliant. However, when this box set arrived, the box was crumpled, battered and slightly ripped. I could not be bothered to send it back as the DVDs were in good condition but it was a shame for this to slightly ruin the joy of recieving this amazing show.
Published 3 months ago by Tee Dobinson-Morris


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show and very good box set, 3 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone as of yet unfamiliar with "Extras" I can't recommend it highly enough! This box set is very good with loads of extras, including behind the scenes footage, entertaining commentary and the usual outtakes and deleted scene. The Christmas special is a definite must and provides, in my opinion, the perfect end to the show. If you are considering buying another box set that doesn't include the special I'd advise against it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Funnier than The Office, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Pete (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion, even funnier than The Office - if that's possible. Quality from start to finish and now at a bargain price. I'm quite sure Gervais is a pain in the proverbial to know, but the man's sense of humour - wonderfully demonstrated here - is quite awesome. The celebs turns are particularly brilliant - I don't think a single one of them fell flat and several (eg Winslet, Patrick Stewart, Les Dennis) had me in pain with laughter. Mention should also go to Merchant who gets the opportunity to show off his brilliance of comic timing. Now, Gervais, stop farting about in Hollywood and produce some more classic TV comedy please :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb follow-up from the makers of The Office, 29 Oct 2008
By 
Cornyman (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant's follow-up to The Office was burdened with the weight of how to succeed one of the most popular sitcoms in recent years. Arguably, they have made an even better series.

The Extras follows the fortunes of two struggling bit-part actors and their life on the fringes of stardom: talking to Patrick Stewart as he describes his secret project, in which all the female participants' clothes fall off ("So it's a comedy?" "No."), or Sir Ian Mckellen revealing the secret of his success - that all his lines are written in advance..

Life on the periphery of celebrity makes the majority of the narrative in the first series. Season Two gives us a chance to sample some hard won success, when Gervais' character is finally given a chance to make his cherished sitcom - a sitcom that is meant to be funny but also honest and authentic. The finished product is a pathetic affair in the vein of Some Mothers Do Have Them or My Family ("Ooh, Betty, I think the cat might have just shat out the worst sitcom of all time!" writes one critic). The final closing Specials look at whether Gervais is prepared to walk away from his possibly only chance at stardom, in order to redeem his self-respect and credibility.

People like Robert De Niro and Samuel L. Jackson have walk-on parts in Extras and those who would normally be in the background of a film take centre stage. This is no celebrity love-in, quite the opposite. Extras exposes the hollow existence of fame, especially that pursued by those who have no ostensible talent, something The Office briefly touched on.

Bottom line, though, is that Extras is hilarious. Co-writer and director Stephen Merchant, who had only a cameo in The Office, takes a major supporting role as Gervais' incompetent manager ("Barry from Eastenders" is also on his books: "I've got plenty of work lined up for you!" "Like what?" "A lightbulb upstairs needs changing"); he steels almost every scene he's in. Extras is another fantastic achievement from Gervais and Merchant. The only debate is whether it's better than The Office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just some info..., 16 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If, like me, you were wondering do you get all the "extra" features with this box set...

YES, it has all the extra features you could want. Documentaries, outtakes, etc - it is ALL here and is amazing Ricky and Steve took such time and effort to give us all the extra features. They really get what it is all about - pleasing "the fans".

Buy it. You wont be disappointed if you are a "Ricky and Steve" fan ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing in more than one way., 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the entire boxset over the course of 3 nights after recieving it for Christmas, which just says it all.
But here's the thing, watch it on your own and it's not really that laugh out loud funny. It's funny in the way that the ideas BEHIND everything are funny, but it's not laugh out loud funny. And it makes up for that by being a FANTASTIC drama that you can't help but get sucked into.
There's genuine character development going on over the course of the boxset with a whole host of likable and unlikable characters (who all, by the way, turn in excellent performances.)
It saddens me to see people rating the Special lower because it's a much darker affair, because as pretentious as this will sound, the special is as much a redemption story as it is a comedy, and Andy's character truly has to hit rock bottom before he can really redeem himself and regain his self respect, and the execution is perfect.
The scene in the big brother house where Andy gives a 5 minute rant genuinely moved me to tears and is one of the most poignant statements made in recent years in the field of Comedy.

On the other hand, watch it with a friend or two and it becomes side splittingly funny.

Utterly fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extras dvd, 20 July 2009
By 
Ms. R. Hain (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It would have been helpful to know exactly what was included in the collection. Other boxed sets seemed to have different covers and said they included the christmas special and I was not entirely clear if this did too. It does incidentally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I love this so much. It makes me do big belly laughs and not many programmes can do that. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extras, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's so funny. The best episodes include Daniel Radcliffe, Orlando Bloom & Patrick Stewart. The DVD came in excellent condition and the delivery was quick & efficient. Definitely worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic. Complete Box Set, series One and Two plus the Christmas Special., 3 Sep 2014
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This sitcom from Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant is hilarious. It follows the life of Andy, an TV and film extra striving for bigger and better things as an accomplished Actor while dim Agent struggles to find him better roles. Andy is accompanied by air head best friend Maggie, who on occasion gets Andy in a few spots of bother as she always fails to think before she speaks.

The Box Set contains 12 episodes of seasons 1 and 2 seasons and the TV Christmas Special. The show features twisted versions of well know Celebrities playing themselves including, Kate Winslet, Ben Stiller, Samuel L. Jackson, Chris Martin, Daniel Radcliffe and many many more in mortifying and hilarious situations.

The show was extremely well received in both the UK and US and is an all round great British comedy. So if your looking for something different and that never feels dated you should check it out.
Check out my Blog http://supercomicsmovieblog.blogspot.ie/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It was a gift for my Father ..he liked it very much as our family has done a lot of extra work and it we could identify with some of the characters and situations in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD]
Extras: the Complete Collection [DVD] by Ricky Gervais (DVD - 2008)
£9.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews