Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extras special
A more serious side of Extras and one I prefer. The more realistic it gets, the better. Ricky Gervais in top form.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. J. D. Wantling

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many Extras?
I think I was a little dissapointed by this DVD, although no tregrets about buying it. I don't know how the Americans do it..Friends, Soap, Frazier, W & G go on for ever and you always wish for more yet we Brits seem to run out of steam after 3 series or so. Even Porridge only had 3 series, 18 shows, yet friends...10 series each of 24 episodes, around 200+ shows...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Grizzlybare


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extras special, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. J. D. Wantling "empress of britain" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
A more serious side of Extras and one I prefer. The more realistic it gets, the better. Ricky Gervais in top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it..., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
Was a real emotional rollercoaster of a ride as Andy finally sees the price of fame as we essentially see him rise & fall as he ends up where all washed up, attention seeking has beens end up, Celebrity Big Brother... With a wonderful array of stars to boost his rise & kick him as he falls... Although, I would like one of those tacky Andy Melman dolls... Is he avin a laugh???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
A good DVD well worth watching.

Would watch again

If you like the office, this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny yet fitting end..., 12 Dec 2009
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant have really outdone themselves here...having never really been a fan of The Office I took very warmly to the concept of Extras. Both Seasons 1 & 2 charted Andy Millmans rise to fame brilliantly and this Special is the icing on the cake.

The shows strives for two things. Firstly, to entertain and to be funny, to poke fun at the celebrities we all know and kove but then also it strives to show us how these celebrity lifestyles we envision as being so picture perfect can lose their way. Andy has reached this point. His show is popular with millions tuning in to see it and yet he still feels that he should be seeking critical acclaim. He therefore fires his useless Agent (Merchant) and sets about burning the bridges he laid out with the BBC.

However it's not just Andy who's on a slippery slope. His friend Maggie (Jensen) struggles with Andy's new found resentment of his fame as she herself has to struggle with her own life.

Although the show has plenty of genuinely funny moments, it's this portrayal of the way fame can change a person that makes this show make it the masterpiece it is.

The DVD also features some great special features with Outtakes (always great, Gervais' laugh cracks me up every time), a featurette on the "Real Extras", Deleted Scenes and a great bit where Ricky and Stephen answer questions sent in from the viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again Fantastic Very Funny Ricky and Company at their best, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
Again Fantastic Very Funny Ricky and Company at their best, if you have series 1 and series 2 this is a must !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great addition to your extras collection, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
this is a great addition to your extras dvd collection if you don't have this fantastic christmas special . so funny and such a great end to the show , a must have if you love extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good English humour, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
I lika English humour very much and Ricky Gervais is a really very good actor. I have already Extras and wanted to have the serie completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for completing the two original series, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this Christmas extra but not as much as the original two series, as it had to be more strongly plot-driven. But worth it for the poignant scene in the Big Brother house, which was doubtless Ricky Gervais's passport to Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant comedy and an absolute bargain from amazon .. extras is excellent and i highly recommend this dvd to anyone thinking of buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic !, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Extras - The Special [DVD] (DVD)
Gervais at his best, as usual ! Intelegence and humor are always side by side. This DVD reconfirms it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extras - The Special [DVD]
Extras - The Special [DVD] by Ricky Gervais (DVD - 2008)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews