Customer Reviews


691 Reviews
5 star:
 (589)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


179 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much improved picture quality
Compared to the 10th anniversary edition, this new 2009 release (ignore the [1995] designation in Amazon's listing) has very noticeably better picture quality. There is greater detail but, more importantly, the colour grading is far more accurate. Well worth paying the extra money for, with or without the extra features.
Published on 17 Mar 2009 by Mr. N. White

versus
110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Same Washed Out Colors
I'm very disappointed with the video quality of this Anniversary Edition because the colors look washed out just like the previous releases (in the UK and the USA) of the widescreen edition. A reviewer's comment on the USA widescreen edition posted at Amazon.com can also be fittingly applied to this Anniversary Edition: "... the colors are not just washed out, the...
Published on 21 Sep 2005


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

179 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much improved picture quality, 17 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. N. White (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compared to the 10th anniversary edition, this new 2009 release (ignore the [1995] designation in Amazon's listing) has very noticeably better picture quality. There is greater detail but, more importantly, the colour grading is far more accurate. Well worth paying the extra money for, with or without the extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 16 Mar 2002
By 
I can't say I've ever enjoyed a Jane Austen adaptation as much as this one in my entire life! The whole series is an absolute delight from start to finish.
Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle portray the lead characters of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett perfectly. Never has Lizzie been so pretty, witty or charming nor has Darcy ever been so brooding, mysterious or handsome as in this series. The chemistry between the leads is electric and the sparks certainly fly in one of the best romantic love stories ever told.
The fact that the writer's have taken the step of showing more of a background for Darcy also helps the viewer appreciate what a good and kind man he really is all along, rather than, as in other adaptations, he appears to suddenly change into being nice.
The casting of Julia Sawahla as the selfish, stupid Lydia Bennett was also inspired. She carried off a difficult role so well that in the end you still have to like her for all her faults.
As for the rest of the cast - there wasn't one that let the series down one tiny bit. Notably, David Bamber as Mr. Collins was suitably sweaty and snivelling, Alison Steadman as Mrs. Bennett was fantastically highly strung, Adrian Lukis as Wickham was a suave villan and Anna Chancellor's, Miss. Bingley was deliciously nasty.
If I could give the rating more stars I would. It's an absolute must for all Jane Austen fans and if you're not a fan already then watch this and you will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 April 2009
By 
Miss E. Rossa (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This new special edition of Pride and Prejudice is well worth the money I paid for it. Finally the colour has returned to the world of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr Darcy with breathtaking results. I own the 10th Anniversary Edition as well, the Special Edition easily beats it in every way. This is the best adaptation of Pride and Prejudice and it has now been given the treatment it deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Uniformly Charming!' as Mr Collins commented himself..., 7 May 2002
By A Customer
I hate myself for not discovering this brilliant BBC 1995 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice any sooner then this Easter. Since buying it, I've watched it hundreds of times and am still fancinated by it every time I watch it again! I was never into period drama, but by this film, I am truly humbled to call it a 'one off'.
It is challenging enough a task already to turn such a famous much loved novel into a film, but to a film that is as high quality as the book, it's extraordinary! The producers have truly done a good job, as well as doing the novel justice.
This film is perfect in every aspect, as well as being completely faithful to the novel itself, the choice of location, the costumes, the acting, the dances, the music, the script and choice of cast, especially the leading man and woman, Colin Firth as Mr Darcy and Jennifer Ehle as Elizabeth Bennet, is outstanding! Ehle really has the talent in bringing out that liveliness, wit and spirit of Austen's favourite heroine, and surely nothing can show Darcy's deep hidden affections better than Firth's 'come to bed' eyes.
However, despite the beautiful graphics menu, I would like to comment on how annoying the rolling of credits are, at the beginning and end of each episodes on the DVD format. 'The Making Of...'on the DVD also disappointed me slightly as there's no interviews with the two main characters. However, despite the minor shortcomings, a 'big thumbs up' to Pride and Prejudice 1995.
The price may be expensive for a DVD, but believe me, ...for an experience of a lifetime is definately worth it!
Overcome your prejudices, P&P is not just for the over 30s, I've just turned 17, and am already a proud owner of this exceptional 1995 adaptation on both the VHS and DVD format. When will you be?
Let this be one of those rare ocassions where I give 5-stars to a most deserving product...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray - the colour has returned, 4 Nov 2008
By 
Roderick Keech (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice [Blu-ray] [1995] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After two dreadful DVD releases (the first and the 10th anniversary edition) in which all of the warmth had been drained from the glorious original 16mm print as seen on TV and on VHS, the BBC and 2 Entertain have finally repented and this, one of television's most beloved series has been restored to its former beauty. In 2005 I foolishly bought the 10th Anniversary Edition as the cover art-work suggested that the problems with the original transfer had been corrected. Upon viewing it, I wrote to the head of BBC in Australia with the challenge that if she could find any of the colours on the packaging actually on the DVD, I would happily walk naked down a Melbourne street at peak hour. Luckily for the locals, none could be found, and the offending item was returned. Now I am delighted to say that the original warmth has been lovingly restored in the Blu-Ray edition. Yes, as previous reviewers have stated, it was not shot in HD, nor even in 35mm - just humble 16mm, and at times some of the long-shots are not entirely distinct - yet it is a small quibble, and this is well worth the purchase to be able to once again see this iconic series in the rich tapestry of colours in which it was originally made. Thank you BBC/2 Entertain for restoring a true gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!!!!!!, 19 Mar 2006
I absolutely love this story.....and the way the story is told in this tv adaptation is superb. The cast is fantastic, the settings are beautiful, I can't fault it, in any way. Colin Firth & Jennifer Ehle have a great on screen raport and at the end a great on screen romance. I have owned this DVD for many, many years and will never get fed up, with watching it. Even my boyfriend has to admit, that it's a great story, he particualy likes Mr Bennetts dry wit. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional drama made to look even better, 17 Mar 2009
By 
A. L. Oliver "Alli Oli" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The picture quality is sharp and bright and makes an already fantastic production visually better. The characters seem to be even more alive and the remastering brings out their facial features and expressions even more so. The background characters at the assembly room and the Netherfield Ball, once barely noticeable stand out. The costumes look sharp and fresh in particular the red capes worn by Lydia and Kitty on their way into Meryton. In my opinion certainly worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Jane Austen adaption., 7 Nov 2000
This is a drama to rave about. I've not seen its like on television before; nor do I expect to see its like again. It was superb. It was almost perfect - though not quite.
It is rare to find a Jane Austen dramatisation that comes so near to being perfect on every level and that stays so true to the original novel. The greater part of the dialogue in the series is Jane Austen's own and every scene is included and follows the same chronological order. The drama departs from the novel in only two instances.... David Bamber makes Mr Collins deliciously toadying and obsequious. A remarkable piece of acting.
It is its faithfulness to the original that makes this drama so good. No one has ever written a more tightly plotted novel. Its series of climaxes make the novel difficult to put down; just as one plot-line reaches its climactic conclusion, another is building. And the duel of wits and sharp dialogue between Darcy and Elizabeth (Jennifer Ehle) as they get to know each other is entrancing. And then comes that moment. She is at the piano befriending Darcy's sister, Georgiana (Emilia Fox), when he holds her gaze with a silent declaration of his love and admiration. This involved a fine piece of editor-timing; a split second either way, either too long or too short, and the poignancy of that moment would have been lost....I heartily recommend this video. Don't miss it. You'll not see its like again. I must just mention the charming piano music by Carl Davis, so beautifully evocative of a beautiful period in history (for the rich).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV/Film version ever made!!!, 1 Jan 2007
By 
Lauraloo (Gloucestershire, England GB) - See all my reviews
I loved this version since it was aired in 1995. As soon as it came on video shortly afterwards I pre-ordered a copy. Watched the video so many times you can hardly make it out now if you played it. About 3 years ago I bought it on DVD and i've probably watched it about 250 times plus. I have also read the book and I think this is the best tv/film version ever made.

Everytime I watch it, it's as if I forget the story and I am hooked to it to see whether or not Elizabeth and Darcy ever get together!

Brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic. Fantastic!, 30 Jun 2006
By 
This is an absolutely fantastic adaptation of a truly classic novel.

Jennifer Ehle as Lizzie is wonderful in her performance as the independant, intelligent Bennet sister who will not marry for anything less than love.

All the characters were brought to life in this adaptation and this is FAR superior to anything before or after it! Namely the very flashy, confusing version starring Keira Knightly. This, in my opinion was just an excuse to cash in on a very successful novel.

No one can match Mrs Bennet, Lizzie, Jane, the bungling Mr Bingley and his poe-faced sisters. And absolutely NO ONE can take the place of or replace Colin Firth as the proud heart stoppingly gorgeous Mr Darcy.

I have seen this series over a hundred times (no exaggeration) and have not tired of it and i know that i never will.

On a rainy Sunday afternoon and a sunny Wednesday afternoon alike, this series is always a welcome distraction to life and everything that comes with it.

A special mention must be made of Mr Collins. He is so totally cringe worthy it makes me laugh. The actor who played him did an award winning job of bringing the character to life.

THIS is the only version of Pride and Prejudice anyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pride And Prejudice [Blu-ray] [1995] [Region Free]
Pride And Prejudice [Blu-ray] [1995] [Region Free] by Simon Langton (Blu-ray - 2008)
8.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews