Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first-person perspective on a legendary rise and fall
Firstly, the BluRay aspect of this film. It was ok, however the early fights that are shown are just as dodgy in quality as I suspect they would be on DVD. Mike Tyson talking to camera is shown in immaculate clarity though. You can see every scar, mark and pore on his fight-worn and worldly-worn face.

All that aside, it was an interesting 90 minutes spent...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Jim Red

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Documentary but doesnt do his boxing career justice.
This is not as good as the other reviews indicate, at least not in my opinion anyway. It is a decent enough documentary but not worth the acolades it has been recieving. The structure of this film is too fragmented and I was hoping for a more indepth look at Tyson's career. Instead; this films starts with a painfully long monologue from Tyson about his upbringing, his...
Published on 23 April 2009 by N. Thompson


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hagomentery, 10 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I was blown away with the fight footage and it was interesting to hear him talk about the matches but its strange just to have his monologue,I would have liked to hear from someone else. I suppose it added to the impression of a loner,slightlt deranged misfit but you only get Tyson and his viewpoint,which is a shame.Still worth seeing for the fights and his insights into his fights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needs more of the fights and less of the talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a Christmas present for someone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tyson the movie, 2 April 2015
This review is from: Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie and quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champ!!!, 15 Feb. 2010
Great Blu-ray Edition! Great movie + more than 3 hours fights from Ringside!
Mike you are the champ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars range of emotions, powerful movie., 14 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
A great movie, no, there is no drama or acting, just a man exposed.

From growing up in brooklyn, his convictions, girls, desires and fights, this film hides nothing and begs no questions about Mike tyson.

I had watery eyes at one point, in sympathy for Mike, but at other times laughed due to his wit. My eyes were glued to the screen and my emotions from sorrow to joy were attacted to this film, it is a very powerful one indeed.

For those with any interest in boxing, or even know anything about the fighter himself or just hearing his name, you will not regret seeing this movie.

Tyson is not the animal the world painted him, he was truly a victim of circumstances his whole life.

If you think you know Tyson... then watch this movie, see how wrong you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary - must see, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Vitz (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easily the best documentary I have seen about Mike Tyson. Covers everything in Tyson's life and career with some rare fantastic behind the scenes footage (some I had not seen before including his early years with Cus D'mato, in his changing room before a fight, early boxing bouts as teenager). Covers all major bouts in his pro career and all the "out of the ring" issues. Includes straight talking description of Don King, D Washington, R Givens and moving & touching piece on Cus D'mato - where Tyson teared up and almost unable to speak of his mentor.

Must see for anybody - sports fans or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT A NICE MAN, 13 April 2015
By 
W. C. Chelton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
A VERY WEIRD GUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insightful, 6 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
movie is fascinating. The advertised 4 hours of fights are really only 3 hours, or less taking out interupted reviews by randoms. Tyson's fights are shown mainly as snippets and there arent all his crucial fights. The extras look sloppy and badly put together and abruptly end, however, movie is great and top value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
P. Tobin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD]
Tyson: The Movie [2008] [DVD] by James Toback (DVD - 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews