Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's still got Miles To Go, but for now, she's Breaking Out, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
Forget the name, forget Hannah Montana, and forget the 'scandals'.
Just imagine this is the debut album of a 16-year old girl coming from Nashville, and you may just be in for a nice surprise.

1. Breakout - As the title track of the album, although most agree that this song is one of the weakest, it works extremely well in terms of bridging the gap from Hannah Montana music to this album. With upbeat lyrics about school and homework, this is perfect for younger fans, but also gives all fans a taste of what's to come. It should also be noted that this song was originally sung by one Katy Perry, who provides backup vocals throughout this record.

2. 7 Things - This was released as the first single from Breakout, and rightly so. With the smooth, melodic versus that suddenly switch to the rough, rockier chorus', this song surprises you both with it's tune and it's lyrics. Without looking too much into the story behind the song, it's clear just from the lyrics that the message is - sometimes you truly want to hate a person for both important and stupid reasons, but at the end of the day, you still can't help but love them. This is the true definition of a love/hate relationship, and is the perfect anthem for anyone who's ever felt like they hate their current or ex partners.

3. The Driveway - The transitions feels very much complete by this point. We're no longer listening to Disney's blonde bombshell, and this song really proves that. Although the lyrics are still about a teen romance (or the end of one), the lyrics are clever and we really get to Miley's wide vocal range. This song is one of my personal favourites on the album, and I'd recommend anyone who wants to hear it at it's best to type into youtube [Miley Cyrus - The Driveway live in Berlin]

4. Girls Just Wanna Have Fun - Covers are very rarely as good as the original, even less are actually better. When it comes to this particular cover, it's a lot like Marmite. You will either love it or hate it.
One thing is unarguably true - Miley has made this song her own, giving the well-known song a thoroughly modern feel, as well as speeding up the tempo - the result is that even if you hate this version, you cannot deny that it isn't a carbon copy of the original.

5. Full Circle - Undeniably catchy, with playful lyrics, this song isn't necessarily a stand out, but blends in nicely with the feel of the album, and brings back the hidden genre that keeps appearing on Breakout - country. In between the previous song and the next, Full Circle aims to keep the overall feel of the album fresh in your memory.

6. Fly On The Wall - One of my favourite tracks, this song puts a twist on the album, taking you in a different direction than you were expecting. With it's punk/rock influences, incredibly catchy tune and spunky, fresh lyrics, Fly On The Wall was completely the right choice for the second single off Breakout.

7. Bottom Of The Ocean - Now we're being taken in yet another direction. The first slow song on the album, Bottom Of The Ocean was supposedly written after the demise of a pet fish. The style of the song is simplistic, yet it speaks volumes. Just beautiful.

8. Wake Up America - You have to admire someone so young for trying to use their influence on youngsters to encourage them to be more 'green', and the tune works very well as an anthem. Unfortunately, the lyrics don't match, as many find this song either comes off as preaching, or just annoying. Still, they say you should write about subjects close to your heart.

9. Four Walls - One of the standout song on Breakout, Four Walls is another cover. It has to be said, although there are four songs on this album that are covers, Miley makes each of them different to the original somehow. In Four Walls, we truly see her as the country artist she naturally is. Her powerhouse voice bursts through the speakers with pure emotion and sincerity.

10. Simple Song - Another standout song. A cover of Jeffrey Steele's Simple Song about getting away from the sheer noise of everyday life, this song works perfectly with Miley's voice - it's the right blend of rock and country, allowing her to showcase her vocal talents whilst keeping that edginess.

11. Goodbye - A fan favourite, Goodbye is another slow song, about love lost, and the later regrets. The lyrics aren't as mature as those of some other songs on the album, but the message still rings loud and clear.

12. See You Again Remix - This is the version of See You Again that was released as a single in the UK. Though not as good as the original, this song still has instant hit written all over it, with it's electronic poppy beats, and the ridiculously addictive chorus.

This is a brief review of Breakout - the only way to really tell if you'll like it or not is to listen to it. However, the main problem I have with Breakout is that it's not a live album. Most Disney stars very much sound best when they're in the studio, where their voices can be altered to be as smooth as silk, but in Miley's case, even though there's very little editing to her voice on Breakout, it just doesn't compare to hearing/seeing her live performances. This girl was born to perform, and stands out a mile from most other musicians her age. Her voice is unique (sounding more like a 60-year old smoker, but in a good way), her performances jump out and grab you, and although 'Breakout' is mostly songs about the trials of being a teenager in and out of love, there are already hints of an exciting career as both a performer and song-writer.

So, I'd recommend this album to anyone who enjoys real Pop music, Country music, and those of you who just want to try something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet niblets it's brilliant !!, 9 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
Being a 19 year old female some may say I'm too old to be a Hannah/Miley fan, but I don't care !! She's amazing and so's her music too. I would recommend this album to any pop fan. It's funky and catchy. My favourite songs would have to be "7 things", "Girls just wanna have fun", "full circle", "fly on the wall" and "see you again". Although these are my personal faves all the songs are easily 10/10 and I could listen to this album all day and night it's just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Shock... One Of My Favourite CDs, 21 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because of all the bad press about Miley taking very personal pictures of herself, I was unsure if I would like this CD. My mum got it for me on my 14th Birthday and at first I only liked a few tracks but now I love the whole CD. My favourite song on the album is probably Girls Just Wanna Have Fun as its an upbeat version that reminds me of songs in musicals. There is a mixture of fast and slow songs that get stuck in your head the first time you hear them. The free 60 day trial of mileyworld.com was just the perfect bonus. I would recommend this to any Miley Cyrus or Hannah Montana fan, or just to anyone that likes pop/rock songs. THE BEST CD OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life After Disney, 6 Dec 2008
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Well, well, well.
Who'd have thought it.

Just at the point when The Wolf was losing the will to live
with respect to the plethora of young and dumb female performers
currently flooding the airwaves along comes a little bit of fresh air.

Ms Cyrus' new album, pitched up in The Wolfcave, courtesy of
Scatty and Gritz (The Cubs), on Wednesday evening after school.

It was satchels down and red bandanas on within eight bars of title track 'Breakout's calamitous opening chords.
Air guitars aflame and four pairs of Vans bouncing off the walls and furniture.

Mrs Wolf was, as you can imagine, not amused.

Boys will be boys I guess.

This is cheerleader rock of a very high order.
Redolent in some ways of Ms Lavigne's 2007 release
'The Best Damn Thing' - and nothing wrong with that.

The twelve tracks are a largely uptempo set of strong
melodies and mouthwatering singalong hooks.
I defy you not to join in with the la-la-las of 'Simple Song'.

Single '7 Things' is a five star howl.

'The Drivaway' delivers proof (if proof were needed)
that this young lady can indeed sing and sing very well.

There are those (and I cannot count myself among them)
who might believe that a song as iconic as Ms Lauper's
'Girls Just Want To Have Fun' should be sacrosanct and
left well alone.
Ms Cyrus is brave to have dragged this old karaoke warhorse
out of mothballs and kicked some life and real energy back
into it. It really is a cracker!
Love those barking synthstrings and Mr Laboriel Jnr's delicious skittering high-hat.

'Bottom Of The Ocean', 'These Four Walls' and 'Goodbye' are
all worthy mid-tempo ballads.

'Full Circle', 'Wake Up America' and dancefloor friendly
'See You Again' are all strong rockers.
Cliched ? Sure - but with cliches of this quality who gives a hoot?

'Fly On The Wall' is perhaps the one fly in an otherwise Michelin-worthy soup.
The riffs and vocal effects were just a little too contrived for me to swallow.

A cracking little album. Cracks have in fact started to appear
in the ceiling due to the cubs' high volume replays.

They are, after all, their father's children.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i can't wait to hear it again, 6 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
From being introduced to Miley Cyrus when she was just a 14 year old girl in Hannah Montana, this really is a 'breakout' from her alter-ego. Although some tracks do have the ensence of the teen-pop sensation Hannah Montana, Miley Cyrus shines through with individuality.

1-Breakout - The beat to this song is awesome, however i find the lyrics quite 'tweeny' at the beginning but as you get through the song, Miley Cyrus pulls the song back! - 4/5
2-7 things - a great rock song, a song that you could really get into. what makes it more interesting is its possible association with nick jonas. either way, excellent song that everyone can relate to. 5/5
3-The driveway - Excels in her singing ability, excellent song, very pop/rock 5/5
4-Girls just wanna have fun - a Cyndi Lauper remake, i personally dislike the orginal song, due to it being overplayed and i always skip this version of it too. Takes Miley Cyrus back to a Hannah Montana persona, although her voice is still excellent on the track. 2/5
5-Full circle - One of my favourites, really shows what she has to give lyric/vocal wise, very catchy tune! 5/5
6-Fly on the wall - This is quite an electrionic track, so i suppose it depends on your opinion of that genre. good lyrics, very entertaining. after listening to it a couple of times, it really grew on me 3/5
7-Bottom of the ocean - a really good ballad, excellent lyrics and tune 5/5
8 - Wake up America - It has been said that this song is very 'hannah montana-esque, but i think that can be used with a pinch of salt. this song really shows Miley's love for America and making the most of her ability to teach the younger generation about global warming. 'i know you don't want to hear it coming from someone so young'- very clever, she is taking into account the adults in the from seat rolling their eyes, 'but in the back seat, yeah, they wanna hear it'- kids in the back, want to hear it and understand. 5/5 miley
9-These four walls - good ballad, lyrics and tune 4/5
10-Simple song - another good song, similar to most on the cd, still good beat and lyrics
11-Goodbye - really nice ballad with excellent lyrics, very touching song with a good story behind it. 5/5
12-See you again - probably going to be the most popular in clubs so will introduce a wider audience range. rock mafia remix really brought it up to speed 4/5
all in all, this is a great mix of rock and pop with some excellent ballads thrown in for good measure. really establishes miley cyrus as her own person away from hannah montana.
buyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loved this, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
Bought this for my daughter as a gift, she absolutely loves it and plays it all the time.
Arrived as stated and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miley Cyrus cd, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
Loved it for my little girl came in plenty of time and she got it for her birthday. Also Amazon were selling it at just the right price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
Breakout 10/10
7 Things 8/10
The Driveway 10/10
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun 9/10
Full Circle 10/10
Fly On The Wall 9/10
Bottom Of The Ocean 10/10
Wake Up America 9/10
These Four Walls 8/10
Simple Song 8/10
Goodbye 10/10
See You Again (Rock Mafia Remix) 10/10 better than the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars breaking out, 9 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
Miley as she's never been seen before, as she starts to develop her new image away from Hannah Montana. With such classics as 'Fly on the Wall', '7 Things', 'See You Again' and 'The Driveway', and some amazing lesser known tracks, its worth the purchase! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars miley magic, 30 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breakout (Audio CD)
I brought this as a present for my nephew much to the disgust of my two daughters who also love Miley. The CD is really good (he's playing it lots!!!) and Miley's version of the climb is so much better than XFactors. Really good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breakout
Breakout by Miley Cyrus (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews