Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars TV Choice - TV Themes
I always enjoy listening to TV theme songs and have quite a collection of both LPs (yep, still have the vinyls) and CDs with themes from as far back as the 60's.
Published 12 months ago by Miss K Welch

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment Plus
This is a 40 track CD published on the EMI Gold label, printed in the EU.
Unfortunately, not to the usual high EMI standard of original artists and original recordings on compilations, as all forty tracks are what's known to theme collectors as "fakes", in other words, not the well-loved, original tv themes that we all know and are used to. Only detailed in a very...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by Andy J


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment Plus, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
This is a 40 track CD published on the EMI Gold label, printed in the EU.
Unfortunately, not to the usual high EMI standard of original artists and original recordings on compilations, as all forty tracks are what's known to theme collectors as "fakes", in other words, not the well-loved, original tv themes that we all know and are used to. Only detailed in a very small font on the unseen back label it says, 'all tracks performed by the New World Orchestra except track 40 by the Cardiacs'.
The quality of the sound recording is average, however, the fact the themes are NON-originals is very disappointing to say the least. I do not accept the fact, well you get what you pay for, because in the past there have been some terrific original tv theme compilation CDs from well known reputable record companies at budget prices.
I find that EMI should know better than to produce NON-original material without at least detailing in large font on the front artwork slick of the CD, all tracks performed by the New World Orchestra. But then, if this was done sales would definitely stall.
This CD is not worth the money as no attempt has been made by the New World Orchestra to even emulate the original themes recording. It's their own interpretation.
Folks, save your cash and avoid the trash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another "revised re-issue" of cover versions...., 10 Sep 2008
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
... and bad ones at that. All tracks performed by the New World Orchestra on a toy keyboard.

Not recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough Emmerdale!!, 27 Feb 2012
By 
A. Forrest (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
What a shame, I bought this as a present for an Emmerdale fan and the music was only seconds long!! Never mind, it wans't an expensive purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor reworkings - avoid, 3 April 2011
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
If you remember the tunes, these will sound similar, but not the same. A cheap reworking by some session musicians. Don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TV Choice, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
Was nice to hear all favourite TV themes again, but some tracks were just that -
the theme from the show - about 30 seconds to a minute long !! I don't know if there are any longer versions of the theme tunes, but I was a little disappointed just to hear 30 seconds or so. But I guess you get what you pay for..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay., 5 Nov 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
This is a decent selection but not original themes.
They are average quality, okay but that's all.
You can probably do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tv Choice, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
Sorry but this one sounds as if the orchestra consisted of and an old drum kit and nothing else! Forget it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TV Choice - TV Themes, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
I always enjoy listening to TV theme songs and have quite a collection of both LPs (yep, still have the vinyls) and CDs with themes from as far back as the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TV Themes, 24 Aug 2013
By 
J. Y. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
I needed some TV themes to use as a radio quiz - this CD fitted the bill very well. Delivery was very fast and efficient. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cd, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TV Choice - TV Themes (Audio CD)
liked the cd was looking for just one tune on it and this one was only one that had it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TV Choice - TV Themes
TV Choice - TV Themes by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews