Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Re-release Of A Classic British Indie Film
"Babylon" was part of a spate of movies made in the late 1970's and early 1980's which tried to put music on the big screen, making something to appeal to young people and also portray something contemporary. Whilst "Quadrophenia" seemed oddly dated and "Breaking Glass" a little cliched, "Babylon" manages to pull off most of its ambitions as this most welcome release on...
Published on 2 Nov 2008 by pjr

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Add a star if you like reggae music or lived thru these times ..
Set in the early 80s this film tells the story of a bunch of young black adults trying to run a successful sound system & culminates in a Battle of Sound Systems.

The film features a soundtrack of roots type reggae, mostly from Asward & is presented very clearly despite the films age.

Some of the dialogue can be a little hard to follow but that's not...
Published on 31 Oct 2008


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this with my adult daughters and enjoyed telling them of the places I recognised and how these places have now changed. It was interesting how it brought back memories of my own young adult years and how authentic the film was for those times, the music, the attitudes, the way people spoke, behaved etc. A great trip down memory lane for those of us lucky to have grown up in those days and those parts of London. Great acting all round. Sad to be reminded of how racist people were then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking film!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film many years ago, then just had to buy it, along with the soundtrack. A classic film with some great sounds on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
this is a great dvd to watch as it shows how far this country has come to stop racism and hope it continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRIXTON YA CAAL DIS!, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
Babylon is one the most powerful pieces of urban city youth movies evermade,How this film captures the authentic realism of such subjects of friendship,alienation,racism is brilliant.Brinsley Forde as Role as Blue is so convincing that sometimes you think your watching a documentary,the scene where Blue meets a Rastafarian preacher is one of my favourite movie scenes ever and add to this the tremendous soundtrack to the film,Babylon is simply brilliant filmaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars babylon wow, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
love this film and so happy to have a permanent copy in my collection. the music,the acting the general accuracy of a time in Britain where black people were brutalised and victimised is spot on. it has some really funny entertainment value added with pathos and desperation. its serious but does not take itself too seriously. its funny but not flippant.

the actual dvd copy is of a very high standard sound and vision are good.

a must have for those that love reggae music and the 1970's. things have never been like this again. some of that good some of that sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is highly recommended to all.Great classic, one for the collection can be watched over and over, Good quality in blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Babylon dvd, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
Exactly what my friend wanted, delivery arrived within a week. Would have got 5 stars but the button holding dvd in box was broken so it won't stay in place in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars babylon, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
my dads a big reggie fan , and he was impressed with this dvd , thanks again for making my dad happy !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brings me back to a different era, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film.
It deals with the issues of that time but also shows a fun and light side. The setting is real, unbelieveable that we grew up in this time, where everything seemed so simple as opposed to todays over exposed technological society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still sends a shiver down the spine..., 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Babylon [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film back in 1980 at Birmingham Arts Lab when it had just been released. In may ways it parralels 'Quadrophenia' with its themes of youth culture and one person's life unravelling as they experience disillusionment and betrayal from every corner, particularly in the environment of a late 70s South London rife with racism - quite amusing to see Mel Smith cast as a racist garage owner - the climax of the film where the police raid the dance still sends a shiver down my spine, especially when it cuts to the credits and the chanting of 'Can't take no more of that' resumes after the sound system has been silenced.... Great film and although of its time doesn't seem dated... Lion! Lion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

Babylon [DVD]
Babylon [DVD] by Franco Rosso (DVD - 2008)
6.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews