Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About passion, love and growing up
This is a wonderful movie about an all consuming love between Paulie and Tory who are roomates in a girls only boarding school. The two are also secret lovers until Tory's sister walks in on them in bed. Tory resorts to denying the whole thing for fear of the repercussions with her family and friends. However, Paulie is a very passionate young teenager in love and doesn't...
Published on 1 Dec 2006 by RD

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
I can see why other reviewers reacted as they did, I found I had a kind of love/hate thing about it. Piper Perabo was very watchable, a treat for me as I rather enjoyed her Coyote Ugly bar room performance, but the others were a bit limp. There was a deal of resonance in the adolescent emotions, but I found the over-reaction to being spurned a little too embarrassing -...
Published on 4 Jan 2008 by Jamazon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About passion, love and growing up, 1 Dec 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a wonderful movie about an all consuming love between Paulie and Tory who are roomates in a girls only boarding school. The two are also secret lovers until Tory's sister walks in on them in bed. Tory resorts to denying the whole thing for fear of the repercussions with her family and friends. However, Paulie is a very passionate young teenager in love and doesn't take the rejection well refusing to believe it was nothing and let go. This culminates into a dramatic ending which I feel was rather underdeveloped leading to the only (but significant) flaw I had with this movie.

'Mouse' is the other important character in the movie as she is new to boarding school and ends up sharing a room with Paulie and Tory. This makes her privy to the fact that the two girls are lovers but she slowly accepts it and becomes good friends with them. The breakup leaves her looking out for Paulie on Tory's behalf since she knows it'll hurt her deeply.

Above being a love story it is also a tale about 'Mouse' growing up and coming of age.

Great film, glad I took a leap in renting it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but haunting and beautiful, 6 Mar 2004
By 
"Lost and Delirious" is a little Canadian production that has made a name for itself as a "lesbian" film. As other reviewers have pointed out, it is less a study of sexuality, and more a depiction of how it can feel (whether the feelings are for someone of the same or opposite sex), to be passionately, desperately, hopelessly in love - the good side and, the very, very bad side.
The story of the film is supposed to be seen through the eyes of young Mary "Mouse" Bedford (Mischa Barton), who arrives at her all-girls' boarding school to discover her new roommates are, er, more than just very good friends. Although Mouse gives voiceovers and appears to be supposed to be our guide to what happens, the film strays from the true narrative idea by including many scenes in which the Mouse character is not present. That's because the true focus of this film is Pauline "Paulie" Oster, played by Piper Perabo, who gives the performance of her career to date. Although the script is uneven (and the screenwriter, perhaps recognising her shortcomings, begins to quote Shakespeare at length towards the end of the film), and gives Perabo some pretty bad lines, and though her character's behaviour tips right over into the downright melodramatic, Perabo is pretty impressive in this. Perhaps directed with a little more subtlety, it would have been a truly awesome performance; as it is, she is very, very good - and mesmerising any time she is on screen. By the end, I bet not one viewer really cares what happens to Mouse, the supposed narrator and central character, who happens to get the last word - all eyes will be on Paulie. It's hard to believe Perabo is the same actress who was in "Coyote Ugly" and "Rocky and Bulwinkle", and not just because with a different hair colour and style of dressing, as well as of carrying herself, she is somehow almost completely physically unrecognisable - here, Piper Perabo gets to show that she has genuine acting talent, as well as the bravery to do a role like this. Who'd have thought it?
The other actors turn in some good performances, with the adult actors Mimi Kuzyk, Graham Greene and Jackie Burroughs all convincing in their small roles. Burroughs in particular has some great scenes with Perabo. Greene adds a touch of comic relief to what begins to become a dark tale.
It's probably the story's darkness that is its main problem - it is just a little bit too dark, and the plot is really pretty over-the-top by the end. It would have been a more interesting film had it taken a route in which the happenings were a little more believable and true-to-life, as it could have been a film which really said something about the way life is. But, "Lost and Delirious" chooses a different dramatic path, and whilst affecting, it's never entirely convincing.
Nevertheless, despite this film's flaws, I feel I must give it four stars, one reason being Perabo's surprisingly effective performance. "Lost and Delirious" must also be commended for the highly fitting and evocative music, as well as the truly beautiful cinematography - both are first-rate and above the quality of many "Hollywood" offerings. It's a shame that the script is sometimes weak and that the storyline and script don't entirely ring true; despite these shortcomings, "Lost and Delirious" remains a haunting and beautiful film.
The DVD doesn't have any extras, only the film trailer. It's a shame as the Canadian version apparently has a few extras and it's a pity they couldn't be added here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Break From The Norm, 23 Nov 2004
By 
R. Thomas "pipedreamer57" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is so difficult these days to find a truly special film which deals with first love, true love and the expression of sexuality with uncommon sensitivity. Take Tipping the Velvet, which was a good book adapted into a TV series with the most ridiculous over-dramatisation. Lost and Delerious is such a far cry from this as to be an entirely new genre altogether.
The drama centres around Torie and Paulie, girlfriends and roommates and so deeply in love. Or so we think...When Torie and Paulie are caught in bed together by Torie's younger sister, it all begins to go haywire. Torie cuts herself off entirely from Paulie in an effort to convince not only her friends, but herself, that she's not gay. New roomie Mouse is left in the middle, although she doesn't actually do much, just stands and watched Paulie self-destruct.
Piper Perabo (Paulie) brings in a sterling performance, proving she has more talent than Coyote Ugly permitted her to show. Not many reviewers seem to compliment Jessica Pare in her role as Tori. True, Perabo has much more interest, dramatic moments and so on, but Pare has her time to shine as well. Lines which should sound corny ("I'm so lost without you, pete"), she can sincerely carry off, and that should not go without recognition.
It would be a mistake to see this film as no more than a "lesbian flick". Of course there's sex involved, lesbians do it too, you know. It's not porn and it's not reliant on the sex to maintain interest. This is a film truly worthy of commendation. If there was a criticism I had to make, it would be the fact that at times Paulie sounds over-desperate, and the ending is a little abrupt. That said, it is based on The Wife of Bath and has to follow some literary guidelines.
I would quite happily recommend this film to anyone and everyone I know. It's such a shame that it has been overlooked because it went straight to video. That doesn't make it unworthy of watching, I can assure you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulos, 9 Dec 2008
By 
Ms. V. J. Presslee "Lady Lover" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost And Delirious [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
A movie for anyone who knows what it feels like to be completely in love but has had to hide their feelings away. This is a beautiful portrail of a romance between two girls at a bording school who have to keep their love for one another a secret. When Tori's sister barges in on her and paulie in bed together Tori tells everone that Paulie came on to her and in an attempt to prove to everyone she is not gay, she throws herself at the first guy she sees. Even though she is in love with Paulie, she is ashamed of being gay. Paulie then tries everything she can to win back her love with no holding back. A powerful and dramatic ending. Definitly a must see for all my fellow lesbians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love can be a killer., 6 July 2003
By 
Julie (Aarhus, Denmark.) - See all my reviews
The first time I saw this movie, I didn't have any expectations for it at all, mostly because I couldn't handle Piper Perabo after her role in "Coyote Ugly", but after I saw her in this movie, I must say that she is a gifted actress.
The movie could easily be marked as a typical youth-movie where the main characters are trying to figure out their personality, and what they want in their life. But this movie is not all like that. Piper Perabo and Jessica Paré are playing their roles perfectly as the couple, who have too keep everything about them secret, because they live at a bordingschool for girls, true love between two girls will not be tolerated there.
This movie is a fine example on how homosexuality is being marked as something wrong and not at all tolerated, when it comes down to how you should behave in a classic and rich community, and how people will do anything for tearing apart something as pure as true love, just because in doesn't fit in a "normal world".
Certainly a 'one-to-watch' no matter who are, you could maybe learn something...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting& Beautiful, But Leaves Questions Unanswered, 19 Sep 2005
Lost and Delirious hold yours attention throughout, only to finish with a rather abrupt ending, being it's only flaw.
I need not explain the synopsis as other reviews have already done so, but I must express the number of emotions this beautifully created film provoked.
Not for one minute did I think of this as a 'lesbian chick flick'. Lost and Delirious is one of the first modern, honest, raw love stories of this era. Paulie's devotion for Tori is so well dramatised that it captures your heart and you feel her pain. As a viewer, I longed for Tori to give in to her emotions and take Paulie back.
But, it did puzzle me how, towards the beginning, Tori seemed the dominant lover, she showed a lot more feeling towards Paulie, yet it's her who finishes the relationship and causes Paulie to destruct emotionally, and phsyically.
This aside, L&D is an amazing piece of cinematography, a must-see for any helpless romantic sick of the cheesy, 'Hollywood' predictable love stories which are all too popular today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Masterpiece., 30 Jun 2003
By 
yeovil_til_i_die (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
Fantastic movie. It is not very rare that I watch a film and am left completely speechless and filled with such emotion.
Based on Susan Swan's novel "The Wives of Bath" the film itself is about a girl sent off to boarding school, Mouse or Mary Brave,(Mischa Barton) who room shares with Tori (Jessica Pare) and Paulie (Piper Perabo), who are lovers. This is a powerful, refreshing and beautiful movie so please see past the lesbian theme,it is a love story of the highest standard, to be honest you forget it is girl loving girl.
Mouse: "You are a girl in love with a girl, aren't you?"
Paulie: "No. I'm Paulie in love with Tori. Remember?"
Enough said.
Morals and real-life issues run throughout the movie and as with all first class films, it gets you questioning yourself and society.
Piper Perabo is undoubtedly the star, but with superb supporting roles from Mischa and Jessica. You feel her pain, her excitement, her desperation as Piper delivers a performance that is so accomplished and of the highest quality. She is so convincing of her belief in true love, it is so vivid, touching. A lot is asked of her acting abilities and Yes she delivers, with outstanding results. The relationship she forms with an eagle is so simple yet so deep, it has so many levels.
When Tori gets caught with Paulie by her younger sister, she decides she can not continue being with Paulie and sets about leaving her as she is worried about not following the "Norm". She would be disowned by her own family. However, Paulie is in love and begins to self-destruct. Although, Mouse understands that to Paulie, she is going down her road to freedom. Mouse, is put in an uncompromising postion as she tries to help both the girls move on, she is very subtle at times but direct.
The relationship between the three girls is intense and it is fascinating to watch them develop in different ways. The depth of all three characters is also very strong, you get to feel attached to them, understand them, you feel their emotions running through your body.
The dialogue is second to none and sticks with you way after the end. Towards the end of the film Paulie realises her struggle is over and that Tori will not let her family down and move away from the norm, she would rather die than feel the pain of rejection and the torture of not being with the one person she has ever let herself love.
The thing that makes this a Magical movie rather than a good one is the fact that it is so personal, you automatically feel so involved. In fact it is chilling but so easy to relate to for anybody, straight or not, who has ever been hurt by love. Highly recommended, its one of the best films i have ever had the privilage to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost and delerious, 19 May 2003
Having watched several films lately, that i was not all that impressed with I was extremely scepticle about another lesbian film. Shock horror, i was wrong. Lost and Delerious was really something different. It was quite an accurate account of feelings that young people can so obviously go through when experiencing first love.This film showed the confusion of sexuality, with the wanting to be accepted firstly by family and also by peers. I'm sure there aren't many lesbian or gay people who were completely sure of themselves by the age of 16.So congratulations to all those involved, in making a real film that most could certainly identify with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless perfection, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Pearce (South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost And Delirious [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Based on the budgets given for filming controversial stories, the director produced a world class ageless film. The acting is superbly delivered. The film captures the immature emotions of young people in love, where love makes their entire world turn round. Coping with rejection at such a young age is not always easily and if not seen or handled properly can and in the film, does lead to tragic circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice film, 10 Jan 2006
1 erotic scene, very gentle and well placed.
Shows both extreme paths of whether to admit or deny having a taboo love - one party believes she has more to loose and chooses denial while the other publically expresses her true feelings despite a seeming 'no win' situation.
Full of teenage angstg, passion and fun. Well acted by beautiful lead rolls, well set (location
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost And Delirious [2008] [DVD]
Lost And Delirious [2008] [DVD] by Léa Pool (DVD - 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews