Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trivium - Shogun
Trivium are a young band and deserve a lot of credit for what they've achieved.

Now, I am a big fan of The Crusade but some fans were unsure due to Matt Heafy (singer) singing a lot. With Shogun, the screaming is back as well as singing. When I first listened to the preview of their album up on their MySpace profile, I loved what I heard. Now that I've got my...
Published on 9 Oct. 2008 by Nicola Seaton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shogun
This is nothing like the old trivium. There isn't much to be said about this albums greatness apart from Down From the Sky and the solos of most of the songs. The whole album is pulled down by its boringness. The band went through some struggles to produce this album but if there next one is like this then they have truely lost there uniqueness and greatness.
Published on 30 May 2011 by Robert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Trivium and this record, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
I discovered this band short time ago and to me this record his on of the best of the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again, 9 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
This is a great album because it encorporates everything you've loved from their previous three albums, and blends them all into an alloy of wonderous metal. It has the powerful choruses of Ascendancy and the riffage from the Crusade. The Metallica-wannabes has been discarded for definite on this album, they have stamped this record with a recognisable sound of their own.

This is a definite contender for album of the year in my eyes, highlights include Down From the Sky and Throes of Perdition. Oh, and the DVD version is well worth getting, it has a making of feature of the guys in the studio recording the album, bonus tracks which include 'Iron Maiden' and a guitar masterclass from Matt and Corey.

Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Awesome CD/DVD edition of Triviums best album, Would recommend to fans of metalcore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeeha!, 29 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
I can hear the Record Company saying when they first heard 'Shogun' ... "Where's our 'Enter Sandman'? Where's a 'Nothing Else Matters'? I don't hear a radio friendly Metallicesque sing-a-long, arena filling, drive time, million dollar HIT!" And after 'Crusade' that was what I was expecting. But no. As the blistering 'Kirisute Gomen' beats you into a senseless pulp, you soon realize that this is as intense, brutal, diverse, deafening, creative, melodic, heavy, relentless, dynamic and intelligent release you are ever going to hear and one that will win them few fans, but will further support their challenge as contenders for the (new) Kings of Metal.

Recorded in Nashville of all places, Shogun is claustrophobic; as each track ends and you are left gasping for breath, the next awesome track such as 'Insurrection' hits you like a tidal wave that carries you out further and further into deep dark waters. Nobody else could get away with an 11 minute title track AND keep you entertained from start to finish. Nope, this is it - the real deal. Trivium have raised the bar and have set everyone one hell of a target to beat. Even the normally pointless 'making of' bonus DVD's is both entertaining and informative.

The thing is, it feels as though Trivium have been around for decades, such is the maturity and complexity of Shogun. And that is my only reservation. Where to next? Maybe their country song 'My Dog, My Truck, My Woman'. I hope they play it live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
came fast and was perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shogun special ed, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
A. J. Dicken (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
I've followed trivium right from the start and this has to be the best album yet.
The riffs,solo's and vocals will blow you away. Especially "Into the mouth of hell we march", "The calamity" and "Shogun".
Been as this was the special edition you get bonus tracks and a dvd. The only downer to this was the cover of Iron Maiden??? Why?? Although a maiden fan for many years,why Trivium did this is beyond me, they have their own style,speed and greatness which does not blend well on this track.The DvD is worth every penny not only the making of Shogun but the lads try to show how to play a guitar. I say try.....Your fingers will bleed if you could match their speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album!, 13 Oct. 2008
By 
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Matt Heafy said that it was going to be their best album yet. And I believe he was right. The opening track, Kirisute Gomen, has an acoustic into and then kicks in with the words "He who walks the fire breaths"....what an amazing start to the album. The other two tracks that stand out to me are 'Down From The Sky' and "Into The Mouth Of Hell We March". Matt and Corey really do show off their new 7-string signature guitars skills on this album. I highly recommend this album to everybody. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trivium at their best, 6 Oct. 2008
By 
Ms. CR Dix "sugasphinx" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
I have been a back seat fan of Trivium since first hearing Pull Harder. They have had some very catchy tunes but have never wowed me with an album thus far. This album has changed all that. This album sounds more meaty than previous albums, with more tracks you can really mosh about to. It is heavier, with rougher vocals - really f*cking metal! Whilst musically it is a little more technical which really gives it the edge for me. I thoroughly recommend this album. Get yours now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mythology Dripping from Every Riff, 29 Sept. 2008
By 
J. Cozens "metalthrashingmad" (leigh-on-sea, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
From the very first chords of Kirisute Gomen, to very Opeth like title track, every track on this album is dripping some myth or another.With tales of great warriors marching to battle, treachery among the Gods of ancient Greece. This album has many stories to tell.

This is a band coming of age, no more personal struggles, just epic tales and soaring hooks.

A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shogun, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
This is nothing like the old trivium. There isn't much to be said about this albums greatness apart from Down From the Sky and the solos of most of the songs. The whole album is pulled down by its boringness. The band went through some struggles to produce this album but if there next one is like this then they have truely lost there uniqueness and greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD)
Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) by Trivium (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews