Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trivium - Shogun
Trivium are a young band and deserve a lot of credit for what they've achieved.

Now, I am a big fan of The Crusade but some fans were unsure due to Matt Heafy (singer) singing a lot. With Shogun, the screaming is back as well as singing. When I first listened to the preview of their album up on their MySpace profile, I loved what I heard. Now that I've got my...
Published on 9 Oct 2008 by Nicola Seaton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shogun
This is nothing like the old trivium. There isn't much to be said about this albums greatness apart from Down From the Sky and the solos of most of the songs. The whole album is pulled down by its boringness. The band went through some struggles to produce this album but if there next one is like this then they have truely lost there uniqueness and greatness.
Published on 30 May 2011 by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trivium - Shogun, 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Trivium are a young band and deserve a lot of credit for what they've achieved.

Now, I am a big fan of The Crusade but some fans were unsure due to Matt Heafy (singer) singing a lot. With Shogun, the screaming is back as well as singing. When I first listened to the preview of their album up on their MySpace profile, I loved what I heard. Now that I've got my mittens on the album, I've had more time to proper listen to the album. And can I also say as well, I got the special edition CD/DVD package, the behind the scenes of making the album is worth getting for any Trivium fan, it's a must! And for any metal fan, with the added bonus of instructional videos for guitars and bass of each song.

After listening to the album, I just love the fast riffs and solos. They're very fitting within each song. I think the guitars work very well together and are very solid, even when doing a riff, dual riffs and solos. I just love the band's fast riffs and the drummer Travis Smith (drummer) is such an amazing drummer to keep up with it. Another point to make is that Matt Heafy's vocals have improved - in both singing and screaming. In most of the chorus', which happen to be very catchy and it's quite easy to hum along to, Matt's vocals are clean. But TOO many songs on the album have very catchy choruses, which is a little overwhelming I must say. That's the only little problem I have with the album personally. That could be related to the band's influences (Metallica springs to mind). In some songs, like Into The Mouth Of Hell We March and Insurrection, the chorus' are fitting.

My favourite tracks on the album are Torn Between Seylla And Charybdis and Insurrection. For this album, for me, it's better than The Crusade (but as I said, I am a fan of that album!). I love the music and the band perform very well together.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May surprise some, 27 Sep 2008
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Trivium are a band that have divided the opinions of the metal community since their breakthrough, but even if some people question their style no one can question their talent; Trivium are a true collection of virtuoso musicians who are able to write catchy and enjoyable metal songs.
'Shogun,' the Florida Metal band's fourth studio album is a delight for fans of the band's first two albums 'Ember to Inferno,' and 'Ascendancy,' as it brings a lot of the better elements from those releases back to the forefront, including the screaming Metalcore vocals which divided fan opinion so much.
This choice will take some getting used to for fans who preferred the band's third album 'The Crusade,' but in the end, it is worth being open minded as 'Shogun,' may well be Trivium's best album to date both musically and in all the other areas such as lyrics and production.
In my opinion the best songs on the album are the aggressive 'Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven,' and the slightly dark 'Insurrection,' which borders on extreme metal at times.
The album also should get credit for the career highlight drum performances from Travis Smith, who is frankly amazing behind the kit.
To some fans, the album may appear off-putting on first listen; as the more commercial tracks appear early on in the album and could make the album seem less than heavy on first listen. As with all of Trivium's releases however, the commercial side is balanced with very heavy and technical metal elsewhere.
Whether you are a Trivium fan or a curious outsider you should not be afraid to try Shogun, it contains all the band's various styles distilled on one brutal, thoughtful and fresh album. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as their old material, which was great to all you haters!, 2 Oct 2008
By 
Twitch (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Trivium are one of those bands that you either love or hate, there is not much middle ground. One reason for this is that many people criticize them for not sounding original. I won't go into the reasons behind this because if you care you will know already, but I myself don't agree with that group of people. I like Trivium and think they are original and by far the best band that the Metalcore scene has to offer.

On this effort Trivium bring back the screaming that was on Ascendancy but have kept the clean vocals as well. The guitar riffing is much heavier than it was on The Crusade and is more similar to the Ascendancy album. The drumming is fast and consistent as always and the bass is good as well. The solos aren't as plentiful as I was expecting even though there are a decent amount and they are very good. The lyrics have never been Trivium's strong point, although they are the best yet from the band. It has to be said that Matt is no Dave Mustaine but what he does write is acceptable.

I have the special edition which has three bonus tracks which are decent and include a cover of Iron Maidens `Iron Maiden' and a behind the scenes documentary, plus the band show you some of the riffs on the album and how to play them which for any guitar players out there is an interesting feature. The special edition with all these extras cost only an extra £1 so it is well worth it, in fact you would be stupid not to get the special edition.

Track ratings out of 10:

1) Kirisute Gomen- 9.2
2) Torn Between Scylla and Charybdis- 8.7
3) Down from the Sky- 8.9
4) Into the Mouth of Hell We March- 9.1
5) Throes of Perdition- 8.7
6) Insurrection- 8.4
7) The Calamity- 8.1
8) He Who Spawned the Furies- 7.9
9) Of Promethius and the Crucifix- 8.5
10) Like Callisto to a Star in Heaven- 8
11) Shogun- 9.2

Bonus Tracks:
12) Poison, the Knife or the Noose- 8.2
13) Upon the Shores- 8.1
14) Iron Maiden- 8.4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Metal Masterpiece, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
Trivium have finally arrived!

The Metallica comparisons have been well and truly shrugged off and this album takes Trivium into the next league. And make no mistake, although Death Magnetic is a fine album, this one is more "now", more "future", more "wow"!
Pretentious twaddle that bit I know, but this is seriously heavy, seriously melodic when required - excellent singalong choruses aplenty, and onlt a hintof balladry in the last extended track Shogun.

Strange album title though, as most of the tracks deal with Greek mythology yet the album is called "Shogun",

Am I missing something here?

Seriously though, any metal fan shouldn't miss this as it will be on all the most discerning "best of 2008" lists at the end of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form!, 5 Oct 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
This album sits somewhere in between Ascendency and the Crusade.

Production and structure of the songs just seems much better worked through.

Vocally the band make use of all their previous styles in good measure and bring back the screams in perfect dosage! There is also a new vocal direction featuring deep/black metal stylings.

Musically Trivium are better than ever with melody as well as suitable heavier sounds prominant as ever.

Better than the Crusade. This album restores my faith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triviums - Shogun, 13 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Shogun is Triviums fourth album and is probably the bands most powerful and well structured release.

The tracks on Shogun have the screaming vocal quality that was present in the likes of Ascendancy except there is alot more aggression added this time around. However is it also good to note that they have kept their clear sounding melodic vocals aswell.
The playing on the album is impressive, although i would have loved there to have been a few more guitar solos written in.

The two tracks wchih i think stand out most on Shogun are Into the Mouth of Hell we March and Down From The Sky, which also happens to be the first single release off the album. Both tracks have powerful riffs and great lyrics!

In my opinion Shogun is more similar to the earlier release of Ascendancy, rather than the Crusade (both of these albums are fantastic aswell). You can clearly see a line of steady progesssion throughout the albums right until the very end of this current fourth release.

One can 100% say that if you liked Ascendany and Ember to Inferno then this album is a must buy!

5/5 by far!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trivium, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
This album, as always with Trivium is amazing, it can be clean and epic, to heavy and fast. The solos are also amazing. It is kind of a combination of The Crusade and Ascendancy as it is a balance between singing and screaming I find.
The DVD is also very helpful and shows how to play plenty of iconic riffs from the album and shows it in the making.
Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trivium Return!, 5 Oct 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
'Shogun' is the new greatly anticipated album from Trivium. Now, I personally love Trivium. I've been a HUGE fan since Ember to Inferno and the album doesn't disappoint in anyway shape or form.

The blasting drum beats on 'Insurrection' can cause high amounts of mosh and head banging which as we all know is a huge plus! Other songs include, `Throes of Perdition', `Down From The Sky' and `Into The Mouth Of Hell' as well as many other killer tracks.

Heafy's powerful vocals, Corey's riffage, Paolo's pounding bass and Travis's blasting drum beats are breath-taking and for the die hard Trivium followers, this album only adds to their extensive collection of anthems. For the newer Trivium fans, this is the album you've been waiting for, the one that will change your life and your opinion on metal forever. It's Triviums defining album and their best to date.

Happy head banging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great release in 2008, 5 May 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) (Audio CD)
triviums fourth album is at its most basic a combination of their album ascendancy and their third album the crusade which was a bit watery but did contain some good ideas,in truth then shogun is a heavy album but there is still plenty of melody and clean vocals.
The band flex their skills as much as possible and have released an album that shone through with its fire and desire,it isnt perfect as the odd track falls off the ledge but generally its a return to form that should ensure that their popularity remains,i saw the lads live in support of this album and it sounded class and as they prepare to headline the second stage at this years download i dont imagine them looking out into an empty crowd,their place in metal history isnt guaranteed yet but they are back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back Trivium!!!, 17 Oct 2008
By 
Jez1972 (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Trivium are back with there strongest set of songs yet. Ascendancy is awesome The Crusade they went all Metallica on us and although it went Top Ten on it's release it wasn't a great album, however then Shogun came out and all i'm saying is this buy it, they've gone back to the old days and i've never Matt's full vocal range before from a growl to a scream and everything in between! the musicanship on this album is also amazing my fave tracks on this CD is Down From The Sky and the 12 min title track Shogun. All in all this a fantastic album it will blow your mind and your speakers any metal fan should have this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD)
Shogun (Special Edition) (CD/DVD) by Trivium (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews