Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kicking and screaming, Indie-inspired, electopop dance music
There's always that danger when you first listen to an album and it sounds exactly like how you expected it to sound. That's not to say that Made in the Dark isn't a good album, on the contrary, it's a great album, full of all the lovable electronic pop charm we've come to expect from Hot Chip, but just don't expect another massive leap, like the one they pulled off...
Published on 14 Feb 2008 by Mr. D. N. Reece

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dim lit but still bright
Hot Chip are easily one of my favourite groups, but they're not without their flaws. This album, their third, is their most experimental. It pays off at times (Ready For the Floor), but there are places where it gets a bit too strange even for my liking (Shake a Fist). There is the odd moment of epicness (Touch Too Much), and even a good laugh (Wrestlers). Of course there...
Published on 13 April 2011 by Mr. Nicholas G. Stephens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kicking and screaming, Indie-inspired, electopop dance music, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. D. N. Reece (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
There's always that danger when you first listen to an album and it sounds exactly like how you expected it to sound. That's not to say that Made in the Dark isn't a good album, on the contrary, it's a great album, full of all the lovable electronic pop charm we've come to expect from Hot Chip, but just don't expect another massive leap, like the one they pulled off between Coming on Strong and The Warning, now that was a grand canyon affair. This album, however, feels like a more polished version of the things they were doing on The Warning, with a few extra dynamics chucked in for good measure and heck, even the slower songs with their ballad like progression, such as, `We're Looking For A Lot Of Love' sound more comfortable this time round.

So where The Warning was a bit of a rough around the edges pop affair, Made in the Dark is a slick, well-produced, ambitious album. The melodies here are so infectious, at times even schizophrenic, that you can't fail to start head-nodding, toe-tapping etc. `Out at the Pictures' begins with a slowly ascending synth, some shrill electronics that whirl around faster and faster until the drum beat kicks in and before you know it, Alexis Taylor has begun singing `It's on every street/ It's funky, cheap/ Sometimes you find/ You're in your mind' in his charismatic croon and you're going pretty much full on. And lead single, `Ready for the Floor' is instantly memorable with its bouncing bass, and a soaring chorus that Kylie would be proud of. But that's the thing about Hot Chip, they're not afraid to be as pop as pop can be, like album highlight `One Pure Thought', which starts off with an infectious blend of jagged guitars, sentimental synths and disco beats.

How much you like this album though, may well depend on two things, firstly how much you can take of Hot Chip flaunting their offbeat brand of pop when perhaps being too self-consciously fanciful. `Bendable Opposable' and `Wrestlers' seem to be quirky for the sake of being quirky and may lack some of the panache of the other songs. And secondly, how much you can appreciate their downtempo `lighters in the air' ballads, like `The Privacy of a Love', which is so laid-back it almost falls into Norah Jones territory, but not quite, though at one point Taylor sings `In the privacy of our love/ We're in each other as hand in glove'.

What this album also shows is how the band have managed to turn Indie-inspired, electropop, dance music kicking and screaming on it's head and filled it with a dry charm, `I'm only going to heaven if it tastes like Caramel' sings Taylor on `Hold On'; a syrupy polish as found on a `Touch Too Much'; and an at times manic, bouncy bass-filled pop fantasia like `Shake a Fist' and `One Pure Thought', and at others a slow-burning Gospel affair, like title track, but above all it's an album filled with a capricious sense of fun and one that does credit to the bands quirky nature. It's not one to shy away from anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dim lit but still bright, 13 April 2011
By 
Mr. Nicholas G. Stephens (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
Hot Chip are easily one of my favourite groups, but they're not without their flaws. This album, their third, is their most experimental. It pays off at times (Ready For the Floor), but there are places where it gets a bit too strange even for my liking (Shake a Fist). There is the odd moment of epicness (Touch Too Much), and even a good laugh (Wrestlers). Of course there are one or two ballads that also stand out (Whistle for Will). However, their fourth album, One Life Stand, has far more memorable moments (Thieves in the Night, One Life Stand, Alley Cats, We Have Love), and their second, the Warning, is an absolute classic (Boy in School, Over and Over, Look After Me, Arrest Yourself). But while Made in the Dark remains their weakest album, it's still good to listen to on occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly original, 24 Aug 2008
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
Catchy, Original, Punchy and infectious.

Mix of eclectic beats and sounds, which will intrigue, with brilliantly fun and foot tapping tunes - as well as a couple of more laid back songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
Hot Chip are a brilliant band, very funky music! I ordered this for a friend for her birthday and it arrived in time and the cd and packaging was in excellent condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant pop music, 28 April 2011
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
A good friend of mine recently gave me Hot Chip's latest album "One life stand" as a present for my forty first birthday. Having enjoyed that album, and made the obvious connections to Scritti Politi, I thought that I'd give this recording a try (I had previously had it on my Amazon wishlist). After listening to it for three or four times, I was not disappointed.

This is genuinely pleasant, humorous and at times very clever pop music. The record contains enjoyable flashes of 'white boy' soul, Depeche Mode-style electronica and I guess what passes for dance-music these days. All very good stuff. The link to Scritti Politi (who I like) is less obvious on this record than on "One life stand" but that could just be me.

All the tracks are of a consistent quality but stand out moments (for me) include - Shake the fist, with it's interesting cutting and pasting interlude; One pure thought, with its vaguely Indie guitar riff; Wrestlers with its inspired WWF lyrics; and Hold On, which also includes a very witty hook. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Album, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
None of the songs on this album let the band down - Bought this after having seen them at a festival and heard most of their singles, expecting the rest of the album to be a letdown, but that's certainly not what I got. Some very interesting album tracks, good variation of pace, and held up by the stand-out singles. Well worth the low price tag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bold and inspired collaboration deserving of a much wider audience, 23 Dec 2008
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In The Dark EP (Audio CD)
Hot Chip add Robert Wyatt to the list of music legends they have collaborated with (having previously remixed Kraftwerk).

According to the sleeve, these 4 tracks are remixes by Robert Wyatt (and "Geese", whoever they may be?), whereas the group's website states that they are re-recorded versions. They SOUND like re-recorded versions but either way this is a great EP. Wyatt adds vocals ("duetting" with Alexis Taylor) and instrumentation and makes the songs his own (I can think of no higher compliment). The last two tracks have some additional electronic enhancements and something that sounds like a kora - not at all what you'd expect on a Hot Chip record but it really works.

Overall a much more downbeat vibe than "Made in the Dark" but it just serves to highlight the strength of the song writing on that album - both lyrically and melodically.

So why is this limited to just 500 copies for the world then? Maybe it's a Christmas present for their fans - which no doubt their fans will treasure - but it has so much more potential than that. No doubt the late John Peel would have earmarked this for heavy rotation.

Belated single of the year 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 4 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
I'd been looking forward to hearing this album after hearing Hot Chip play some of the new tracks at the 2007 Hay Festival, back in May 2007... I'd agree with the first reviewer that this is possibly a better album than The Warning - which in itself was excellent. Its a proper grower of an album, first time I played it through I wasn't sure, but after its second airing its been looping non-stop today! Overall, its feels slightly more energetic, up-tempo, funky beats sound than The Warning, with superb manipulation of analogue sounds, the usual gibberish Kraftwerk-hommage lyrics (including a smattering of German, if my GCSE memory serves). A lot of the songs borrow heavily from history (but in a good way), and in some respects, the album leaves an impression akin to a 2manydjs mash-up / Soulwax mixes - which is probably not surprising since Soulwax remixed Ready for Floor. Overall - a great warm-up album for a night out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight, 5 Feb 2008
By 
A. Bennett "0bennett" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
I don't know about everyone else but hot chip's album "coming on strong" was at best, Awful far too mellow it is like barry white backing tracks with sub par singing, however things have moved up with "The Warning", i was never a fan of the real offbeat electronic stuff but by the time of this album they have moved into their own fantastic album i really can't fault it slightly the singing at times is beautiful with little subtle variations in tone and you can really tell how funky they can find themselves look forward to the upbeat crazy "shake a fist", their new single "ready for the floor" of which you should check out the Soulwax remix, other fantastic tracks include one pure thought which has a deep rhythm and softness, "hold on" and "don't dance" which is near impossible not to dance to, in short one fantastic album defiantly their best lively, chilling and romantic. Looking forward to seeing them again it should be a new experience thats how much this album is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better than The Warning, 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: Made In The Dark (Audio CD)
Lucky enough to get a chance to listen to a preview copy and think this is definitely better than The Warning, which itself was a cracking album. Much more listenable and with more stand out tunes than its predecessor, this album gets so much better the more you listen to it. On initial hearing I wasn't sure about this, but with every play the album improves. Some of the album's songs are amongst the best Hot Chip have produced. Lyrically obscure and with very little meaning at times, this does not diminish from the quality on offer. Favourites include "We Re Looking for a Lot of Love" which has a start reminiscent of Fix You by Coldplay (don't let that detract from it). This is a cracking ode to a loved one. The opening single "Ready for the Floor" is instantly memorable, "Shake a Fist" , "Touch too Much" and "One Pure Thought" all share fantastic production and are dance-orientated. Overall this is an album to be listened to at least 10 times before you can seriously have an opinion. It contains a real mixture of styles & songs and shows how Hot Chip are becoming one of the nation's musical national treasures. I've already been on the blower to get odds for them to win the Mercury Music Prize with this. Anything around 10/1 would be a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In The Dark
Made In The Dark by Hot Chip (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews