Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game for the average game player
This is a brilliant game!!!! As the name suggests, you play an assassin who has to undertake a number of assassinations in various different cities visiting some more than once. Along the way, you carry out other tasks and search for objects. Sounds simple and to be honest the whole thing is, but it is really fun. As you may guess, I am not a seasoned gamer! I like to...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by Joolz

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, But Needs Variety
Assassin's Creed is definitely a game that can't fail to impress when it's first installed. The scale and depth of the graphics, the smoothness of the animation and the atmospheric sounds combine to create a trully impressive gaming experience and it's easy to get drawn in as you explore the environment.

The combat is fairly easy and the range of stylish kill...
Published on 23 May 2009 by S. Porter


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, But Needs Variety, 23 May 2009
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed is definitely a game that can't fail to impress when it's first installed. The scale and depth of the graphics, the smoothness of the animation and the atmospheric sounds combine to create a trully impressive gaming experience and it's easy to get drawn in as you explore the environment.

The combat is fairly easy and the range of stylish kill moves will sate your bloodthirst. It's just as satisfying to stalk city guards and silently kill them in broad daylight as it is to flambouyantly launch yourself at someone and impale them with Wolverine-style abandon.

Sadly, the more you explore, the more you find to dispell the rapture. Once you've completed the missions a few times, you soon realise how repetitive the the gameplay is and how fickle some of the controls can be. I found myself simply killing the begging women so I didn't have to listen to them bleating the same few lines to me over and over again. That said, I still never tire of climbing the turrets and towers just to dive off again into one of the handy piles of straw which break your fall.

The story is good, and I'm looking forward to the next installment which is due later this year. I'm hoping that the developers have done something to increase the range of gameplay to reward those of use who come back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game for the average game player, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Joolz (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a brilliant game!!!! As the name suggests, you play an assassin who has to undertake a number of assassinations in various different cities visiting some more than once. Along the way, you carry out other tasks and search for objects. Sounds simple and to be honest the whole thing is, but it is really fun. As you may guess, I am not a seasoned gamer! I like to play games that are easy to pick up and have good playablibilty which this game has. The story is pretty good, although it isn't as long as some others I've played and there is a degree of repetitiveness in searching for objects etc but that doesn't, in my opinion, detract from the enjoyment that you can get from playing this game. I love the setting and style and the graphics are awesome, felt like I was partaking in an interactive film!! I suppose if you are a swish game player and find games easy to master then this may not be challenging enough for you as the difficulty level doesn't get to stressful levels. However, if you're like me and enjoy playing games which keep you entertained and don't really like getting too tense & stressed at the extreme levels of accuracy that you need to master in some games, then this may be exactly what you are looking for. I want to see more of this style of game around, fun & playable but without raising my blood pressure sky high. Am looking forward to seeing what Assassins Creed 2 has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great game, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Stuart Bennett "Stuart" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
bought it as a present for my nephew he really loves playing it so i will certainly look on amazon again for future game purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Jun 2013
By 
H. Chisholm "tigerrz1" (kilmarnock,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
my son loves this and has played with it so many times he has completed it but still plays it with his friends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars must have for ps3 owners, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
assassin's creed is such a big title now that anyone who owns a console and wants to get into the latest franchises and game series should play assassin's creed. it has a unique plot and unique gameplay style, as well as great design. historical fans may enjoy this tight concise game. if the series interests you the second game is also very good, although the sequels after that tend to become bloated and their gameplay and plot is not as tightly packed or plays as smoothly as assassin's creed 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed - PlayStation 3, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Jonathan Price (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed
PlayStation 3
Rated 15

Stats:
1 Player
HD 720p
Requires a minimum of 1330MB of free hard drive space.

Story:
Desmond Miles gets kidnapped by Abstergo and placed in a system known as the Animus, Desmond has to locate the Apple of Eden by syncing with a past ancestor and in the case of Assassin's Creed, that ancestor is Altair Ibn-La Ahad(a trained assassin) from the Medieval times.

Story review:
The back story actually provides good tid bits of history, that you might not of known about at school, but Medieval is quite a boring setting to lay host to the primary storyline of Assassin's beating his mentor to the Apple of Eden. Desmond's story at the beginning is a bit rushed, sometimes the creators need to lay foundations of a character first, before they go right in there guns blazing, which is what Ubisoft has done right here. However his story is somewhat explained through narration, but I think it's better to visually experience the kidnapping part than to have it explained to me through dodgy camera angles. I must say though, the story on a whole is dull and lacks any real depth or meaning; it's not the case of knowing what's what, but the case of please liven this up with some explosions. Anyway I've found the story to be dreary on a whole; so it's awarded 2/10

Visuals:
Like I mentioned in the other paragraph; the camera angles are dodgy, where you'll barely get a glimpse of the character's face, but it does say to press something when the screen glitches, but I don't want to be faffing when I'm trying to get the gist of the story. The graphics are subtle but not remotely exciting, they're just too bland and don't contain any real texture. 4/10

Gameplay:
Stalk and Kill is all you'll be doing, all day long. It's just boring, you can climb, stab, pray, sit, run/walk & push people, but no real surprising element to be add. When people are pursuing you, it's almost impossible to climb, cos he sometimes comes across dead ends on the wall, which unable him to go further. One question though: how is praying; blending?
I would've thought people would recognise Altair by the clothes he wears, but clearly that's not the case. 2/10

Conclusion:
Don't waste you time on this, it's tedious and boring. There's far more better games out there and besides Assassin's Creed II & Revelations explain Altair thoroughly either through recaps or through extra storlines; but both games don't require you to purchase Assassin's Creed at all. I bought the first, thinking I might understand the story better, but ACII pretty much outlines all I needed to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing is true, everything is permitted, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I was looking for a game that would engulf my mind like the Resident Evil series has. Something that wasn't just shooting anything that moves but had a story behind it when I saw the advertisements for Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (PS3)) on TV. I admit that buying a game on the basis of an advertisement, no matter how flash, isn't the best way to choose a game, or a series of games, but in this case it proved to be the right choice of game for me.

This is the first "episode" of, what has become, a best selling series.

You start the story/game as an assassin called Altair who, with two others, has been sent on a mission. Altair is a high ranking assassin, but things go wrong and Altair is forced to flee. As you return to the Order's "Master" you start to discover that Altair is not very popular. Altair reports back but is surprised to discover that he is not the only survivor.

Stripped of weapons and rank, as a result of his failure, Altair must learn to use the basic weapons he had long given up for better and more advanced ones.

As he learns, you learn - and what you learn next is that you are not Altair. You are, in fact, a man (Desmond Miles) being held prisoner by an organisation called Abstergo. Abstergo are using a device called an "animus" to access the memories of Desmond's ancestor Altair. They are looking for something in the past, but Desmond doesn't know what and they aren't going to tell him. Following Altair's actions it becomes apparent that not everyone in the past was being truthful too, but who was lying to Altair and what does it have to do with Desmond. More worrying Desmond is subject 17, and there is no sign of the previous 16.

This was the first game I had on my new PS3 (Sony PlayStation 3 Slim Console (320 GB Model)) and I worried about controlling the avatar as I haven't played a PlayStation since I played the original Tomb Raider and Medieval on my sister's PS console all those years ago. I have played the Resident Evil series on Wii - Nintendo Wii Console with Wii Sports + Wii Sports Resort and Motion Plus Controller (Wii) - (using Wii-mote and Nunchuk) but I was concerned about using the Play Station controller. I needn't have been.

Controlling the characters is easy - running, jumping, climbing, fighting and assassinating are all easy actions to complete. This is both due to the game creators thinking things through with the planning of the action-to-button controls, and the easy to use PlayStation controller itself.

The game itself consists of a number of "missions" which Desmond undertakes in the animus, in the role of Altair. These missions are directed by the Master of the assassins who tells you which city to enter and which enemy is to be assassinated. This sounds simple, however, Altair's journey is fraught with danger. He will meet enemies on the road, then have to smuggle himself into the city, climbed to high points and take a leap of faith, fight his way out of (or run away from) trouble, interrogate, eavesdrop, pickpocket, and perform tasks for other assassins in order to get the information he requires to find his target.

With each mission his notoriety grows and so he is easier for the guards to spot. This means his stealth actions are more important than they were on the starter levels. His prey is better protected, and escape is harder.

There are also a number of mini games within the larger game. Several of these involves the tasks for other assassins, however there are a series of flags to be collected. They can range from 20 flags in his home city, to more than 100 in other cities. The problem is that the flags are so hard to find that the task appears to be impossible - even with the 15 in his hometown I was only able to find 19 and I have searched every square centimetre of the map. Altair has walked more miles than a charity walker in search of that missing flag.

Should you accidentally (or on purpose in the case of beggar women who repeat the same lines over and over again, or drunks who want to pick a fight with you and so attract the attention of guards) dispatch an innocent you will lose some synchronisation (part of your life bar) but this will return after a short time is; so unless you're stupid enough to assassinate several innocents in quick succession you should be okay.

Altair heals automatically so there is no need to run around searching for medical packs or herbs. If you're badly damaged just find a quiet place and wait until your health returns.

As the game progressed I became more and more involved in Altair's story, as well as Desmond's.

I will admit that I was a little perturbed when it came to an end. After Altair's final assassination Desmond is left alone in the room with the animus. For the first time he has "eagle vision" and can see a large amount of symbols and drawings all over the main room as well as his bedroom (go there last as it marks the end of the game). I waited for several minutes after looking at every symbol, puzzle, drawing expecting something to happen and nothing did. Apparently this is correct, as Assassin's Creed II starts where this one finishes - Assassins Creed 2: Game of The Year - Platinum Edition (PS3).

I would suggest that you take the time to look at the images, symbols, drawings and puzzles as their importance becomes apparent when you play ACII.

A thoroughly enjoyable game with increasing difficulty and not a great degree of game playing skill required. I can see this series easily joining Resident Evil as another of my obsessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins Creed - The Crusades, 4 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I am writing this review after two successful sequals, when the first Assassins Creed is now available to buy as a budget game. Despite being one of the first PS3 games to be released this remains an exceptional game and stands up well against any game released since. This is my favourite Assassins Creed game and at a budget price it is an absolute bargain.

This first outing of Assassins Creed is set at the time of the Third Crusade. The order of assassins referred to therefore relates loosely to the order of hashishin who operated in the Holy Land at that time. Just like the historical order you will find yourself working for both the Saracens and the Crusaders. However there is a strong morality imposed on the game which I'm sure was not a concern of the real assassins, in this game they are killing for the greater good rather than for money or political gain.

This was one of the first PS3 games to introduce a system of free running and a lot of the game involves mastering this technique. There is an excellent introductory sequence that explains all the moves and lets you practice with them without throwing you in at the deep end. So while at first you may feel overwhelmed by the number of controls, the learning curve develops nicely - you start with the basics and new equipment and techniques are introduced as you go along. By the end of the game your assassin is a bit like a medieval James Bond with numerous different weapons and gadgets to choose from in order to complete his missions.

The main part of the game involves a sandbox style exploration of the Holy Land which is revealed bit by bit until you can ride ( or walk ) from city to city and explore several major medieval cities including Acre, Damascus and Jerusalem. If you are a fan of history like me you will love the detail that has gone into these cities. Each building is extremely detailed and varied, and there are dozens of townsfolk which inhabit the land who can be seen busily going about their business. Depending on which city you visit there will either be a Saracen or Crusader army in control and the different knightly orders are all shown in the game.

The main character of Altair is particularly cool and can be seen carrying different weapons as he gets access to them. One aspect of the game is the need to maintain a low profile and as the game points out people in medieval Outremer did not spend their time running about the streets. While on street level you have to walk to stay unnoticed, its only when you climb up and jump from rooftop to rooftop that you can run without attracting attention. As your character performs more assassinations in each city though rooftop guards become more common making this more difficult.

You can kill standard guards as you need to ( either Saracen or Crusader, it makes no difference to Altair ). However the game makes a big point that you should not be killing civilians. This is part of the morality of the game, your assassin only kills when he has good reason, not because he is some sort of psychopath.

The plot of the game involves an ancient artifact that eventually you try to recover. Along the way though you are given lots of different missions to help restore balance to the Holy Land. These generally involve assassinating corrupt leaders of both sides, and one of the highlights of the game is the freedom it gives you to scout out and prepare these assassinations as you feel fit. The only slightly annoying bit is that after every important assassination there is a dramatic death scene where Altair stops to listen to his victims final words. This ruins any escape plan you may have had because by the time the game cuts back to the action again you are surrounded by guards and have to fight your way out.

The other annoying aspect of this game is the part of the plot which deals with Altairs modern day descendant Desmond. At the start of the game you find yourself playind Desmond who is locked in a laboratory and forced to use a special interface to access his ancestors memories. This whole section is utterly pointless and boring and persists into the two sequals. Desmond has no abilities to fight, jump or even run. Instead he wanders around looking for clues and talking to the two scientists. This whole back story may link the three Assassin Creed games but it adds nothing to the drama. Every time the game cuts back to what Desmond is up to I would groan and just try and get back to Altair as fast as possible.

Although this game does not have the full variety of options available in the sequals there is still a hell of a lot to do. From exploring the cities, to performing assassinations, to pick pocketing people or eavesdropping on enemies plans. For the truely obsessive compulsive there are large numbers of flags to collect, a bit like the optional treasures in Tomb Raider. These are located throughout the cities and trying to get to them is excellent practice for your climbing and jumping skills.

Perhaps I am biased because I prefer the crusades setting to the renaissance but this remains my favourite Assassins Creed game. The level of detail and freedom of action compare so well to other games allowing you to spend as much time as you want playing it. Simply exploring the medieval environment and taking in all the sights can fill many hours of your time before you get to the fun of sword fighting and assassinating bad guys. As a budget game this can't be beaten and if you have been put off this game because its older than the sequals I still urge you to give it a try. In my opinion Altair remains the original and best assassin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!!, 4 Mar 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game, although can feel a bit "samey" after a while, but nonetheless gripping. Visually stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top game, 5 Feb 2010
By 
A. Bassett (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
am very pleased with this purchase , its very good keeps you ready for what ever . would recomend to anyone who likes the old fashioned sytyle of game .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Assassin's Creed - Platinum Edition (PS3)
9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews