Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Round Up Tree Stump Killer
Works really well on stumps if you drill a few holes and then pour in some neat Round Up or squirt it in using the plastic pipette device that came with it. Just need to make sure you are drilling into live wood then after one application it's goodbye Mr Stump!!
Published on 20 May 2012 by Helvellyn

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glyphosate works but the product is very poorly featured in terms of essential extras
I hate using glyphosate based herbicide but this is not the reason for my two star review.

The product consists of a concentrated glyphosate solution and a pippet. It does not in my view represent a well designed product and it represents poor value for money. Surem it works - but this is simply because glyphosate (the core ingredient) works. What does the...
Published 2 months ago by G. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glyphosate works but the product is very poorly featured in terms of essential extras, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
G. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
I hate using glyphosate based herbicide but this is not the reason for my two star review.

The product consists of a concentrated glyphosate solution and a pippet. It does not in my view represent a well designed product and it represents poor value for money. Surem it works - but this is simply because glyphosate (the core ingredient) works. What does the product offer other than a bottle of crude but effective chemical herbicide?

The fact is that the product, despite the price, contains only the bare resources - no disposable gloves and no disposable brush for application. Given that the instructions advise the use of both items, I consider this to be a product shortcoming - for the price both items should I think be included and at the very least disposable gloves should be included. A number of competitor products do, I have subsequently discovered, include gloves. The product does come with a pipette. However the pipette that came with my product was not labelled by volume.

Immediate needs prompted my purchase - lacking the ability to grind a large leftover Leylandii (why do people plant those things?) stump I had to resort to Roundup. Application, following the dilution instructions, was easy.

A paintbrush is advised for application to a stump and it's a shame that a disposable brush is not included with the product.

With a brush, application is easy and the product also seems to work *very* quickly. The product has to be applied to a freshly cut tree and I applied mine to a tree that had been removed four days previously. The stump was still white and the pores were visibly open. Within four days of application I noticed the tell tale sign of stump death (dark discolouration).

The instructions recommend the use of gloves but, as above, this basic resource is not provided in the packet. The instructions do say that the wearing of gloves is not essential but having read up a bit about glyphosate I would suggest that the instructions here are just giving voice to Monsanto's marketing and the idea that glyphosate is safe.

The weedkiller contains a concentrated generic glyphosate formulation and so can be used with dilution as a general purpose weedkiller. Dilution instructions are included on the box although my product did not come with the detailed "data sheet" that is available via the Roundup website and which gives further and more detailed dilution instructions for general purpose weedkiller use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Round Up Tree Stump Killer, 20 May 2012
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
Works really well on stumps if you drill a few holes and then pour in some neat Round Up or squirt it in using the plastic pipette device that came with it. Just need to make sure you are drilling into live wood then after one application it's goodbye Mr Stump!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars japanese knotweed, 14 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
Used last septenber on Knotweed and did not see any result ill growing season this spring, and results amazing Knotweed totally gone in all areas , very good product, but be patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bye, bye tree stumps!, 22 May 2011
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
Having chopped several untidy little trees down I had to kill the roots - ROUNDUP did the job effortlessly!
Thank you for prompt delivery of a very good product.

Ann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ideal for tought roots, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
it does exactly what it says. I had a very tough and resilient tree where roots were all over. The best way is too drill a whole it the roots(if they are big enough) or simply cut by half and apply the product straight on it. 24 hours later the roots are killed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Round Up root killer, 3 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
Excellent for removing weeds etc on patios and block paving driveways does what it say's on the packet and easy to apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It means business this stuff..., 27 Jun. 2010
By 
Kevin O'Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought this product to kill a Russian Vine that has been growing voraciously over two walls in my back garden. I had - I thought - taken it out last year (again) and have been battling to keep on top of it ever since but to no avail. 'Drastic measures required' I thought, so under advisement from the dad-in-law (who has quite a green finger) I bought this product. I wasn't expecting much: it's only a smallish bottle but I mixed about two thirds of it up into a four litre sprayer and got to work. As this product is systemic you just spray the leaves of the target plant and wait between two to four weeks for it to kill it off. I noticed the leaves looking a bit frazzled after about a week, then after a further week and a half the bloody thing is finally dead. I now intend to use the remainder of the solution to give the remnants of it a final dusting (although this is possibly quite unnecessary) in case it has a mind to stage a last-gasp come back!

In conclusion I'm delighted with the results of this product. For my purposes I found it extremely easy to use and the results were devastating (as far as my vine was concerned). I obviously can't comment on its other applications e.g. tree/stump removal but for stubborn and established (or out of control) hedgerow/vine removal it is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best product, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
In my experience this is one of the best products for permanently removing brushwood and deep rooted weeds. Apply it neat to hardwoods and saplings and diluted to green weeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RoundUp Tree Stump and Root Killer, 12 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
I always use this product, as it is the most effective one on the market as far as I am concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roundup, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer 250 ml Liquid Concentrate Weedkiller (Garden & Outdoors)
Exellent product, you just have to wait for it to take effect, about two to three weeks. Not so good for thistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews