Customer Reviews


1,806 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,385)
4 star:
 (257)
3 star:
 (75)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy
The Best knife sharpener I have ever bought - beware knives are razor sharp after using this little gadget.
Published on 20 Dec 2009 by Julie

versus
470 of 514 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT TO BE USE OFTEN
This added after using the product for a month or more: 13 April 09: I am not saying don't buy this tool; if your knives are really bad it will work fast to get an OK V that seems really sharp. Now you have that V, you need to keep it, that is what a sharpening steel does without grinding or as with this gizzmo cutting loads of metal away. Try this, see how much swarf...
Published on 11 Mar 2009 by Mr. M. Grace


‹ Previous | 1 2181 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 20 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
The Best knife sharpener I have ever bought - beware knives are razor sharp after using this little gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


188 of 203 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Results, 7 Mar 2009
By 
S. Glenister (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
Without wanting to just repeat what everyone else has said about this product, it works and more importantly it gets quick results, it has a great little suction-cup attachment feature, and its small and neat. BUT...
I believe this device has its place; when a knife gets so blunt that you can no longer sharpen it with a steel, you can use this gadget to bring the edge back and then hone it with a steel.
Otherwise you will end up with a sharp edge that doesnt last very long.
One minor problem I found with it is that it sometimes tended to make my knives one-sided (sharper on one side than the other), this is not an issue as you can correct it with a steel.
So yes, I would recommend you get this device, but not instead of a sharpening steel, I believe you need both to achieve a perfect result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


470 of 514 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT TO BE USE OFTEN, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. M. Grace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
This added after using the product for a month or more: 13 April 09: I am not saying don't buy this tool; if your knives are really bad it will work fast to get an OK V that seems really sharp. Now you have that V, you need to keep it, that is what a sharpening steel does without grinding or as with this gizzmo cutting loads of metal away. Try this, see how much swarf (metal shavings) are produced with this. It takes little time to loose 1/128th of an inch to a 64th/inch of metal/your blade, that's approx 1mm. Measure your knifes depth. If it is about 1.5 inch you will make it disappear after 64 to 125 sharpenings. Your knife is then knacked. Sharpen your knife every time as one should to keep the edge as the pros do, your knife will be gone pretty soon. lesson, use the right tool for the job at the time. Use this when you haven't kept the edge with a steel, not often if you like your knives. Better still, use a sharpening steel or Taylors Eye Witness Classic Chantry Knife Sharpener on every use and you will have your knives sharp for life and as good as new...original review follows.

I have to agree with the comment others have made that with so many ad like glowing reviews one has to wonder how many are generated by the company marketing this product. Add to that the slagging review for NEW KNIFE SHARPENER [] which is almost certainly the same product, or someone should be getting sued for patent infringement.
OK a product review. I got this today and it uses the same technology that has been around for decades, most likely carbide blades set at an angled `V'. The suction system, again a take from old tech works and is a good redeployment of this idea. This type of product comes into its own when one has a really dull blade when a steel isn't enough and that would require a lot of time using an abrasive system such as ceramic or diamond stones. On the subject of diamonds, they describe the product as having "diamond precision" which without doubt is misleading and an attempt to make the buyer think they are getting a diamond based cutting edge.
This sharpener removes a lot of your blades metal very fast, which if over used will wear your knives out very fast. This system really isn't abrasive, it is a small cutter that cuts a new edge which as any engineer (I am an engineer) will tell you, is by nature rough not razor smooth finish. I found that while it is actually good for resetting the blade angle if used with care, using other sharpeners that are less severe afterwards, resulted in a much better edge that cut rather than tearing; I finished using a V steel system.
If you want to see how to keep knives sharp, watch a pro, a butcher who will sharpen their knife after every cutting session, many times a day. They use a steel, which doesn't remove metal and in effect damage the knife by shortening the knife's life.
Bottom line is use with care and rarely. Best to get something like the Taylors Eye Witness Classic Chantry Knife Sharpener and use it on every use of your knives so that you really never need to use such a drastic method
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sharpener, 28 Aug 2009
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this after the good reviews as I had just purchased a new set of global knives.
Firstly the good points - It's a lot smaller than it looks on the picture, tiny in fact. The suction pad works a treat, shouldn't slip and cut yourself. Really seems to sharpen well, also on serrated blades, which is not that common. Then the bad points - this was 5 more for the silver than the blue which annoyed me somewhat. Then there was the issue on smaller blades you couldn't get the knife that close to the sharpening blades so not all the knife was sharpened. Finally DO NOT USE THAT OFTEN - it seems to remove quite a lot of metal, so only use if your steel isn't doing the business anymore or on older cheaper blades. 4 stars for effectiveness and design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
Brilliant sharpener, best Iv'e ever bought, suction pad keeps it locked on your worktop and sharpens a variety of knives and scissors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Sharpener!, 30 April 2009
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
Small and easy to use. I was sick of having blunt kitchen knives so after a bit of research, plumped for this one. I use it more or less every time I use one of my knives now and they have never been sharper. I always used to sharpen my knives on a block, the old fashioned way but i didn't ever get the hang of it and it was too much effort. The only down side for this sharpener is that when sharpening my serrated knives, the unit has come 'unstuck' from the work top and fallen on the floor. The serration seems to cause a bit of instability but that is only a small problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANYSHARP KNIFE SCISSORS SHARPENER SUCTION CUP, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product, keeps the blades you use it on razor sharp, be aware that light pressure gives a better result than heavy pressure when sharpening the blades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snick Snick, 16 April 2012
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
Works well. I don't have very expensive knife, mostly what I can get at Ikea or Sainsburies, so I don't mind if it takes a fraction of the steel away after each sharpening. The way I see it, is that it will keep your 20-30 knifes sharps for many years before having to buy new ones, which is perfect for my needs, and saves me buying new knives anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knife Sharpener, 19 Dec 2009
By 
R. Andrews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
This is the easiest knife sharpener I have ever used. Anyone should be able to use it and it does what it says on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AnySharp Global, 18 Dec 2009
By 
A. B. Durrand (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AnySharp Global World's Best Knife Sharpener (Classic) (Kitchen & Home)
A great product to use, stays attached to the work surface by way of the suction cup and has put a wonderfull cutting edge back on all the knifes I have usded it on. I would highly recommend this product to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2181 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews