Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum jumping
An anime movie [that's a cartoon film made in Japan, just in case you're uninitiated] that asks that age old question that must have occurred to all of us from time to time. What would we do if we could go back in time and change the past? More specificially, erase our past mistakes.

Makoto is an ordinary seventeen old schoolgirl, best friends with a pair of...
Published on 2 May 2011 by Paul Tapner

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected delight
A cross between "Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind" and a clever rites-of-passage film, with time travel, and charmingly sweet animation? Oh, an unlikely, but rather brilliant premise allows the film to explore the world of teenage passage, the nature of cruelty, love, and, of course, the casual flippancy of time travel, and examine how our decisions and our powers...
Published on 26 Dec 2008 by Mr. M. A. Reed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 18 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The award winning The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is 'a feast for the eyes as well as the heart', as the DVD blurb claims. Wonderful animation, brilliantly drawn characters and backdrops, time travel, action, lots of touching and funny parts- what's not to like?

Makoto is a school girl who, after an accident, discovers that she can travel in time. The first part of the film deals with her discovery of this and using it to her own gain- correcting minor mistakes and mishaps in her past. She never comes close to joining the dark side with such power, but finds that her changes however small can have a greater and harmful effect for the future/present and her friends. However, there is another leaper and her leaps are limited, and soon her choices become extremely important.

This much adapted version of the Japanese novel (there has been other series and movies since the novel was written in the sixties) is one of the best, perfectly suited to the medium and today's generation. There are questions raised about power, friendship, choice, and love, but the film never becomes preachy or sentimental. One of the best anime of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High School Manga, 10 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This has had a lot of rave reviews and won numerous awards and if you're an established anime or manga fan you'll probably understand why and would rate this 5 stars. As someone who has little or no exposure to the genre,I've little to compare with and perhps don't appreciate the subtle nuances and would rate it 3 and half if I could because it's better than average as a story. The attraction for me was the sci-fi time travel element and a desire to experience and appreciate a film art form different from my usual tastes.

This isn't Disney Pixar animation and for anyone new to the genre is the first bridge to cross. At times the anmation is incredibly detailed, quite realistic particularly some of the clouds, but other times it is very simplistic. However once you become accustomed to it you can settle down and realise what's really important is the story. The plot is engaging and well told and suitable for most ages though not very young viewers. I finished the film satisfied and hungry for more and have gone on to watch Ghost in the Shell, both the movie and some of the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science fiction, time travel, charming?, 24 Nov 2008
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Yes, actually. This is a rather sweet film about a naive gawky tomboy who tries to do the right thing but usually manages to get it wrong. The fact that she does so by flashing back minutes, hours, or days along her own timeline usually makes it worse.

This is a gentle comedy about adolescence with a small cast of clearly defined characters but focussing on our heroine Makato and her two male friends and the slowly growing changes in the nature of their relationship.

While I do recommend this charming little well-animated movie (which is more of the standard of Studio Ghibli than the usual anime) it is not without its flaws. The problem is that I can't say what they are without giving away plot developments, though it does involve the time travel elements. But this is a minor quibble in this warm-hearted movie which is recommended for viewers of 12 upwards -anyone younger is likely to be bored by the character-centredness of it. The rest of us will be delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Done, 23 Nov 2008
By 
M. R. Jones (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well no wonder this movie has received numerous awards, including 'Animation of the Year' awards. It really is that beautiful!

The basic story is that of a teenage girl who, at the point of death, transports herself a few minutes into the past.
She then uses this new found ability to jump back and forth and change minor details in here day to day life (i.e. hours & hours of karaoke). But she soon finds her attempts to improve things making things much worse, even life threatening.

It's a nice story well told and extremely well animated, with the voice actors doing a very admirable job at the English translation.

So why only 4 stars? I have to be honest and say that some sequences, although very beautifully done, bring the pace done considerably and drag things out a little.

But if you want to see some lovely animation with an interesting story, then this is one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super animation..., 26 Nov 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a morality story presented via the medium of animation. The film looks and sounds great and is aimed at audiences from 11 upwards although it will probably do best with those in their middle teens. The individual animations are attractive and American looking although the film features Japanese script within the story. The 101 minute running time moves quickly and will hold the attention of youngsters. The sound effects and soundtrack are lively. The mix of high school and time travel reminds me of those 1960s TV series. Overall I think this will please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality anime, 20 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. G. Carroll (LDN | HKG | SZX) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I was cynical when a friend in Hong Kong recommended this to me, but its the beautifully told story of 17 year old Makoto Konno gains the ability to travel through time and her learning process about the responsibility and limitations of this power. Konno then learns how to use this for herself and her friends. Into this sci-fi scenario is woven young love, so something for everyone.

It is beautifully put together and I can highly recommend it, I have only seen it in japanese with english subtitles so can't speak to the quality of any dub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film making, 26 Nov 2008
By 
Grr "Gumbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was a true joy, best thing i've gotten on Vine as yet. Powerful, well written, beautifully animated and truly original.

I really enjoyed watching it - as i'm sure the above testifies - and wish i could could share a great deal more but am wary of ruining the film for those who know little. The Amazon plot synopsis should suffice, it tells you more than enough.

In conclusion, i loved it and think Anime and intelligent film fans will enjoy in equal measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is seriously overrated here, 25 Sep 2012
By 
J. A. Garlick "jeremyanddasha" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Really the only reason this film is so highly rated and a bestseller on Amazon must be because it is so cheap. It is really not in the same league as the best of Studio Ghibli (e.g. Mononoke, Totoro, Nausicaa). The animation is pretty standard Japanese anime, particularly in terms of the faces, and the atmosphere lacks the magical quality of Ghibli. The characters of the two main male characters are poorly defined, while the female lead is simply a typical feisty female. The story begins quite well as a coming-of-age schooldays love triangle type thingie, but descends into farce in the second half as the time travel theme unravels into absurdity.

Suffice it to say that I and my wife laughed out loud at some of the plot developments (particularly relating to the pivotal role of the painting), and we were clearly not supposed to. This film is really not very good, and I would recommend serious cinephiles to head first for the Miyazaki classics mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting..., 9 Jan 2010
By 
S. Mathur (Denmark, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I thought that this was a very interesting animation film.. It had a different plot and a very uniqe theme, and I like it!
I have already seen it twice, and even discovered new details the second time.. It is worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but the ending let it down., 3 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
All the other reviewers have outlined the plot and feel of the film already, so I won't repeat any of that. I'd just like to add that although I enjoyed the film very much I felt that the ending was unsatisfactory and let it down, both my younger daughter (13) and older daughter (19) felt the same, unless we are missing something? Maybe there is a sequel planned?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006]
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time [DVD] [2006] by Mamoru Hosoda (DVD - 2008)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews