Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars129
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2009
Legendary director Martin Scorsese has picked the Rolling Stones for his next music documentary after the success of 2005's Dylan documentary, No Direction Home. Seamlessly cutting new and old footage with a newly recorded concert, shot by no less than ten award-winning cinematographers, the film captures all of the raw energy of the Stones live on stage. Old rubber face Mick Jagger, in particular, shows no signs of slowing down as he dances up and down the stage performing classics and previously unplayed tracks from the Stones' back catalogue, which makes this more of a straightforward concert movie than a documentary. That said, interviews with the band from days gone by does provide more than enough of an insight into the band to compliment the superbly-shot concert footage. Scorsese has crafted a movie that delivers more than enough `Satisfaction' for fans and newcomers alike.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
This is a fantastic concert film of The Stones' residence at The Beacon Theatre, New York, directed by Martin Scorcese

The film is a mix of documentary type clips of the making of the concert, from stage design to setlist, interspersed with archive footage of The Stones and a mixture of favourites and lesser known songs

The film is very much up close and personal and what comes across is how much The Stones seem to be enjoying themselves.

The highlights for me are Loving Cup (with Jack White), Little T&A, Satisfaction and Brown Sugar

This dvd is even better than the Theatre disc from The Four Flicks Stones dvd boxset

Buy it, turn it up and enjoy !
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
It is difficult to decide what is the most exciting about this masterpiece. I like the sound, guest appearances and incredible energy which transcends through the screen. Opening number sets the bar high followed by blast of hits, we born in the fifties, remember so well. I had a good laugh watching Keith smoking on stage imagining the fire safety officer going bananas. Call me old fashion but this is the one you must have!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2008
This really is what your BLU-RAY is ment to SHOW and what your AMPLIFIER is ment to SOUND like.

Crystal sound quality picks up every pinch of air left in these rockers lungs and let me tell you there is plenty of that.

The picture is pure quality showing everything so perfectly even down to the dry roasted pores in the creases of these leather faced rock gods!

The old tv footage and interviews is fantastic to watch and breaks up the concert giving you a little resting time between songs.

This film gives plenty of satisfaction!
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
Firstly, a gripe about the loading times. On my Panasonic DMP-BD35 it took 2 mins 15 secs to display the menu, and on my PS3 it took 1 min 7 secs, which seemed like eons with a blank screen! There were 3 audio choices; DTS HD Master Audio, Dolby True HD, and Digital Multi (With Audio Description). I cannot experience any of these to their full potential, as I am only playing music Blu-rays through my Hi-Fi stereo, which is good enough for me. It starts with a mini documentary, which switches from black and white to colour, SD to HD and back again. This lasts for 13 mins until the start of the concert. The venue is the Beacon Theatre, New York City, 2006, which provides an intimate audience experience. The concert opens with "Jumpin' Jack Flash". What follows is mainly contempory songs, with the occasional oldie thrown in. Luckily "Sympathy For The Devil", "Brown Sugar", and "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" are included in the set. Guest performers include Jack White (From the White Stripes) and Christina Aguilera. Included in the bonus songs are "Paint It Black" and "I'm Free". Mick Jagger gives an energetically extrovert performance. Keith Richards' personality shines through (And he sings two or three tracks aswell, although his voice does not come over well!). The concert is interspersed with archive footage of band interviews, and lasts about 2 hours. The concert footage is in glorious Hi-Def, and really shows off Scorsese's skills in direction. I was really impressed with this film, but would have preferred the band to have played more of their early work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
Shine a Light [2008]It happened. Someone succeeded to film The Rolling Stones with their truth. And, it's Martin Scorcese. Not for people who love explanations of anything. Thank's God, that film doesn't explain magic of the Stones. It only shows the Magic of the band and the best Performer of all time (Mick)[Never filmed like That!]. Scorcese wanted testify of that magic band. Incredible!! Don't listen to sad people who prefer intellectual formatted projects. Here, it's the true living music. Seen 8 times at cinema. Not satisfied. I want more ! The greatest film about the rolling Stones forever and ever. Great choice of photography, sound (we understand guitars alchemy) and many rare songs (as tears go by, some girls,she was hot, loving cup, you got the silver, faraway eyes etc...!!), Great duos (buddy guy, jack white..)And, thank's to the ROLLING STONES. Never too late to realize a dream: The Martin's dream.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
I'd heard about this while it was showing in cinemas but thought I'd wait for bluray, boy did I make the right decision!

This is what bluray was invented for. You can see every wrinkle and bead of sweat. Visually the best bit is when Keef spits a burning cigarette onto the stage, I swear you can see every ember.

Scorcese's direction is better than "The Last Waltz" and that's saying something. The picture and sound are faultless, the Stones are on fire and it really does feel like you're sitting in the front row.

If you love the Stones or indeed proper music in general then buy this, you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
The Stones are wheeled out for their Zimmer frame tour - Jagger does his stuff and music is made, but even Martin Scorsese couldn't find anything from the Stones early interviews that made them other than fairly boring - Interviewer: Why are you famous? Charlie Watts: I don't know really. When compared to the sparkling humour of the Beatles' interviews the Stones don't so much shine as gutter - even the Glimmer Twins don't do much of that these days. For die-hard fans only.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2008
Around the time of shine a light being released I began to enjoy the music of the 'stones but not love it. When I heard that shine a light was going to be released I went along to see it at the IMAX and from the start of the first song Jumpin' Jack Flash I was gripped. Mick Jagger's singing and showmanship was unbelievable as was Keith Richards's incredible guitar playing backed up by the guitar solos of Ronnie Woods and the unstoppable heart pounding rhythm of Charlie Watts. The guest stars were brilliant also being a fan of the white stripes it was great to see Jack White performing Christina Aguellera was great also but by far the best guest star was Buddy Guy his incredible performance on Champagne & Reefer is hard to describe. The tempo went up and up and up untill a marvellous performance of Brown Sugar and to the climax of the stones's signature tune (I can't get no) Satisfaction. The camerawork is cinematic and makes the experience even more enthralling. In short I went in to the cinema just liking the 'stones and I came out a die hard fan. However DO NOT buy this if you do not like the 'stones as the majority of it is music.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
I like nothing better than I great Rolling Stones gig, but to my ears, this wasn't it by a long shot.

I'm puzzled by the majority of 5 star ratings this is receiving.

Jagger and the rest of the band seem to be performing in two seperate gigs- the singer looks and sounds completely disconected from the band.

There are some odd song choices which don't come off in my opinion.

Generally it comes accross as a lackluster performance. There's no fire.

Its beautifully filmed and the technical quality of the blu ray is great.

Marty muggs for the camera's like a trooper.

But Bigger Bang and Bridges to Babylon represent the modern stones better- both musically sizzling performances, where you can feel immediately that they were "on it".
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)