Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Hail Rock 'N' Roll
If you still yearn for the days of rock 'n' roll then this album
is definitely for you. 15 great old songs all given an individual
touch whilst remaining true to the original. Buy it!
Published on 17 Dec 2008 by DavidG

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly dissapointed
As a big Dion fan I was a little doubtful about this project as I felt all the songs had been done so many times before and I could not see what he would bring to them? I loved his albums of old blues stuff where he stamped his personality on the songs but i'm afraid as I feared these rock n' roll tunes where just 'okay'. I liked the DVD and Dion demonstrating his guitar...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by Roy Matthews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly dissapointed, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Roy Matthews (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
As a big Dion fan I was a little doubtful about this project as I felt all the songs had been done so many times before and I could not see what he would bring to them? I loved his albums of old blues stuff where he stamped his personality on the songs but i'm afraid as I feared these rock n' roll tunes where just 'okay'. I liked the DVD and Dion demonstrating his guitar playing and would of bought it just for that disc but overall I hope his next release is either new songs or maybe another visit to the blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Hail Rock 'N' Roll, 17 Dec 2008
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
If you still yearn for the days of rock 'n' roll then this album
is definitely for you. 15 great old songs all given an individual
touch whilst remaining true to the original. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JR: Dion returns, older, wiser, better than ever, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Bronx In BlueAfter Bronx In Blue, Heroes is a return, by Dion, to his rock and roll roots. All the tracks take me back to my earliest memories of popular music, yet all are fresh and have the unmistakeable thumbprint of Dion on them. In part tribute to sadly lost friends, all the tracks are terrific, in many cases sound very like the originals, but have originality because of what Dion has added in his interpretation. A must buy for any rock and roll fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dion still going strong, 9 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Been a fan of 50s rock'n'roll forever and love to hear new versions of the old stuff. Dion's singing does it proud and the DVD is really interesting as Dion recalls those days with his fellow artists. His first-hand story of the ill-fated Winter Dance Tour in Feb'58 was particularly moving.
A thoroughly recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Rockin', 3 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
The greatest white singer in the history of rock and roll (in my humble opinion)still cutting the mustard. On the back of 2 great blues orientated albums comes his tribute to guitar heroes. His voice is as good as ever (he'll be 70 next year!) and he attacks these songs with all the fire of a 20-30 year old.The DVD is a real bonus with Dion talking us through each track. Long may he continue to record. Top tracks - Summertime Blues & Believe What You Say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of his 21st century albums -and they're all pretty damn good, 2 April 2013
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
This is a tribute to his peers of the late 50's, the foundations on which rock'n'roll is built. They are people he knew, whom he shared bills with. Here he revisits some of their greatest songs to magnificent effect. Dave Marsh the veteran rock music writer who told Dion while on air that he believed three of his albums of the 21st century were the best he's ever made. This, for which he supplies the liner notes, is one of them and it's impossible to disagree. He sings songs by Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash, and Elvis, by Chuck Berry and Bo Diddley, Buddy Holly and Richie Valens, Eddie Cochran and Del Shannon. He jammed on guitar in hotel rooms with several of them.

Somehow, while mostly sticking to the original arrangements, he makes them vital again, not modern exactly, but refreshed by adding his own subtle twists, and, of course, one of the greatest voices of popular music.

Now in his early seventies, Dion has been writing, singing, playing music for over 50 years and unlike any other rock star I can think of is still creatively viable as he makes some of the best music of his long career. He's got old, he's not got stale.

Still the tough Italian kid from the Bronx.

Still cool as....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How does he do it?, 22 Oct 2009
By 
F Arnold "sweet fa" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
This is an amazing record. To produce, at nearly 70 years old, an album of seminal rock and roll tracks that seem to be based entirely on the original scores for these songs, but with a special Dion twist and modern recording techniques (and still maintain the original 'vibe') proves that he really is something rather special. I have to admit that Dion can do virtually no wrong for me. I have followed his career from the late fifties through his various incarnations - doo wop, acapella, rock and roll, gospel, singer-songwriter with even country overtones, bluesman and all the little offshoots. This ranks as one of his very best, but I think that is because I was brought up with these songs. There are no particular standouts - they are all marvellous interpretations - although I have some favourite songs amongst them, in particular 'Who do you love' (given a Latin slant missing from most versions, 'Rave On' and 'Runaway'. A word of congratulation to the marvellous players. A great, great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old heroes, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Roger Verallo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heroes (Audio CD)
Rock and roll can still be fun, a great performance by one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47d54b0)

This product

Heroes
Heroes by DION (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews