Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Present
After much research, we bought this as a present for our 10 year old daughter, who's just getting into chess and loves the game. Decided to go for a reasonably priced starter set, but didn't like the ones with a printed board. This standard set is excellent value for money and has a beautifully inlaid wooden board which folds to store all the pieces. Although the pieces...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by R McRae

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Price doesn't reflect the quality
Unfortunately I feel the quality of material used is poor. To feel your getting what you have paid for the product would be better priced in region of £10.
Published on 29 Oct 2012 by Jo young


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Drunken queen, 11 Nov 2014
By 
M (WALLINGFORD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Unfortunately my some of the pieces in my chess set were deformed. One of the pawns has a missing 'head' and the black queen leans like she is drunk. I wouldn't recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
really good product. I like the quality of the product, the design. Overall I would definitely recommend this product to those who wish to purchase chess set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Good quality chess set that I bought for my 14 year old son. He loves that it folds up as he takes it over to friends and the size is a good size too. Definately excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift to 7 year old. Cannot ..., 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Bought as a gift to 7 year old. Cannot complain at the price; would have wished the pieces could have been a little larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Chess Set, 12 Jun 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Delighted with this chess set - it survived a trip to the Caribbean wrapped up inside a suitcase and is a nice neat set - lightweight, pieces fit neatly inside the box which clips shut, not the tiniest set available but nicer to play with as a result and good value. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Nice size for transportation. Tidy and neat board when open. Safe storage for pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Its OK but the pieces are very poor quality. I will invest in a better quality set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Excellent present for grandson. well made and sturdy. would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
A sweet little travel chess set. Good quality, well made, this will last us a while. Am very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather Flimsy!, 1 May 2013
By 
David Morrison (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set (Toy)
Sorry can't really recommend this product as the board is made from very thin ply and the chess peices were poorly finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standard Wooden Fold-Up Chess Set
£16.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews