Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages and Subtitles
What Amazon doesn't tell us:

Languages: Dolby Digital English 5.1, Castilian Spanish 5.1, French 5.1, German 5.1, Italian 5.1, Spanish 5.1

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Complex Chinese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish.

I think it's a...
Published on 18 Dec 2008 by Sibelle1973

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical tim burton film... but with music
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street could split audiences like its title character splits jugular veins. Some could embrace Tim Burton's dark vision for the material. Others could have the opinion that the film continued Burton's descent into his own increasingly narrow world view, showcasing his reliance on the same collaborators (Depp and Helena Bonham...
Published on 9 Oct 2011 by bizmandan


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages and Subtitles, 18 Dec 2008
What Amazon doesn't tell us:

Languages: Dolby Digital English 5.1, Castilian Spanish 5.1, French 5.1, German 5.1, Italian 5.1, Spanish 5.1

Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Complex Chinese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish.

I think it's a brilliant movie if you are open to see and hear something different from the ordinary. Tim Burton is pure genius and Johnny Depp amazing as ever!
However it may be no the best movie for people with a sensible stomach...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The years have changed him, 28 April 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Murder. Cannibalism. Death. Obsession. Revenge. Blood. Goth makeup. And lots of razors -- "at last, my arm is complete again!" Sweeney Todd exults.

Somehow it doesn't come as a shock to me that Tim Burton adapted Stephen Sondheim's musical "Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" -- or that he somehow spun it into something so delicious. That dark, grotesque, hilariously melodramatic story is perfectly suited to Burton's style, and Johnny Depp is absolutely stunning as the titular bloody barber.

The malignant Judge Turpin (Alan Rickman) lusts after the wife of Benjamin Barker (Depp), so he convicts Barker of a crime he didn't commit, and enfolds his family into his evil hands.

But fifteen years later, the Barker returns to London and sets up a barber shop over Mrs. Lovett's ghastly meat pie store. Of course, he's enraged when he learns that his wife was raped and since poisoned herself, and that his daughter is the ward of the lecherous Judge. Enraged and maddened, Barker renames himself "Sweeney Todd" and vows revenge.

And he finds that he LOVES using his razors for a far bloodier task than shaving. With the help of Mrs. Lovett (Helena Bonham Carter) -- who finds a thrifty use for those bodies -- Todd cuts a bloody swathe through all who have wronged him. And when his daughter is punished for refusing to marry the cruel Judge, Sweeney closes in to get his revenge at last.

There's always been a gothic look to Burton's movies, and he's always dabbled in very twisted, macabre storylines. And he really tops himself with "Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" -- London is painted in black, white and grey, right down to the ghoulish faces of the characters, and their bleak little dens of horror. And songs -- lots of magnificently horrible songs.

But Burton pretty obviously adores the combination of gory grotesquerie and very, very sick humour ("They don't commit sins of the flesh, so it's pretty fresh"). And he doesn't try to make Sweeney or Mrs. Lovett palatable, thankfully. While we sympathize with Sweeney's losses, and the horrors that have changed him into the Demon Barber, you just can't pass over scenes where they sing, "It's man devouring man, my dear!" "Then who are we to deny it in here?"

There are some moments that relieve this gory gothic parade -- there's a sweet love story between Sweeney's daughter and a young sailor. And the plot becomes progressively darker toward the end (yes, it CAN get worse), when the plot throws us some shocking new twists, resulting in a Grecian-tragedy finale soaked in even more gore.

Oh yes, there's blood. Tons of it. It spurts like Monty Python's bloodier sketches, which ends up being more hilarious than yucky -- as is the casual introduction of cannibal meat pies. And there are some spectacularly gross moments, like a finger found in one of the pies.

Burton uses some of his favorite actors in this one, particularly Depp and Bonham-Carter. Depp is THE perfect ideal Sweeney Todd -- his creepy eyes, pallid face and still, almost seductive manner are perfect for the maddened murderous barber. He goes through the movie slashing his razors at the world, and injects a real creepiness into scenes like Sweeney cooing at his "friends."

While she's only a passable singer, Bonham-Carter is eerily wholehearted as Todd's equally amoral partner-in-crime, who is quite happy to assist him.... and make tastier pies in the process. Rickman is wonderfully loathsome as the Judge, and Sacha Baron Cohen has a small but priceless role as Pirello, a huckster acquaintance of Todd's who starts causing trouble. He really steals his scenes.

Most directors would have prettified, sanitized and defanged the grotesque "Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber of Fleet Street," but Tim Burton and Johnny Depp revel in the gore and madness. Astoundingly great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical tim burton film... but with music, 9 Oct 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street could split audiences like its title character splits jugular veins. Some could embrace Tim Burton's dark vision for the material. Others could have the opinion that the film continued Burton's descent into his own increasingly narrow world view, showcasing his reliance on the same collaborators (Depp and Helena Bonham Carter) and the same type of gnarled cityscapes and murky production values.

With the potential for such sharp disagreement about the quality of the film, a person's own Burton biases may help determine his or her feelings about it. So being a fan of Tim Burton, I would fall down on the side of the fence of liking it. However even though Depp and Bonham Carter hold their own on the singing, I have never been a fan of musicals, they make me cringe and take me out of the film, I'm sure I would be of a different opinion if people broke out in song on a regular basis in real life, but they don't. The dark style of the film did help to some what temper the ridicules plot device of singing to express thoughts and feelings, but I still can't help thinking that this would have been so much of a better film if it was "normal". But what is normal when Tim Burton is concerned?

What's beyond dispute is that Burton commits to grisly violence like never before. Even in a movie in which beheadings were the standard (such as Sleepy Hollow), there was never this much blood and this many dead bodies. Like almost everything else in the film, even the blood is some shade of brown or black. It's clearly a conscious effort on Burton's part to be so unrelentingly dreary, but it may turn off viewers seeking colour, which we get only during a day at the beach for Todd and Mrs. Lovett. Set apart stylistically from the rest of the film, this scene does well to contrast and to highlight just how bleak the London setting is, but this sequence may have unintended consequences. It may make audiences miss the Burton they once knew, who regularly saturated his films (such as Big Fish) with colour. Without colour, this bloody film is frequently and confusingly bloodless, as well as cynical to the nth degree.

Burton's vision of London is fully realized, if not entirely original. Then again, the biggest complaint about Sweeney Todd could be, not that Burton is stealing from others; rather, he's stealing from himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable movie, 4 Feb 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
''Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street' tells the story of wrongfully imprisoned Benjamin Barker (Johnny Depp) who returns to the streets of London after 15 years as Sweeney Todd, after learning that his wife has killed herself. In hope of revenge against Judge Turpin (Alan Rickman) who was responsible for his imprisonment and the suicide of his wife, Todd returns back to his home and barber shop on Fleet Street where, with the help of Mrs Lovett (Helena Bonham Carter) a pie maker in the premises downstairs, Todd begins to murder his customers by slitting their throats whist they are sitting in the chair, and then sending them to the cellar where they are used for pies.

I've seen the West End show of Sweeney Todd (who was then played by Jason Donovan) and absolutely loved it, so I was familiar with the story and the songs and knew what to expect when going to see this movie adaption. The team of Burton, Depp and Bonham Carter have done it again and recreated the classic tale perfectly and kept the charm and black comedy of the stage play perfectly in the big screen version - something that raley happens in stage to screen conversions. Depp's singing abilities and London accent were surprisingly good and Burton's usual dark imagination created a believable, yet still stage-like atmosphere to the Victorian London setting.

If you are unfamiliar with the story or the play, I do warn you that this is very gory (hence the 18 certificate) and the dialogue is also mainly in song, which I can see from some reviews (not necessarily on Amazon) that this isn't to everyone's liking. I personally found it to be one of the best films I've seen in a long time and every performance from the whole cast was brilliant. Although not as good as the stage play, it has a mix of murder, music and comedy that blends together to be one of the best movie musicals I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Burton Depp combo does it again!, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Vittani (Castleford, UK) - See all my reviews
Like many others this film first peaked my interest because it was a Tim Burton movie. Usually I hate horror films and dislike anything along those lines, mostly because they're too realistic and make me feel uneasy. So a film about a barber that slits peoples throats should be a complete turn off for me.

But having said that every film of Tim Burton's that i have seen, I have loved. From his recent forays into stop animation and his classics such as Edward Scissor Hands. So knowing this to be a Tim Burton film I had no doubt that I would like it.

But I didnt just like it. I loved it! I was singing the songs before the film even came out, so I had to stop myself from singing in the cinema and ruining everyones viewing.

I think when people think of musicals they think of over the top music and choreographed dancing. A lot of musicals do have that. But Sweeney Todd is different. The singing is understated and blends perfectly with the film. It views like real life, you know how some people will start singing under no matter where they are. It's like that, completely natural. And since the actors/actresses that were given the roles aren't trained singers it gives the songs a relatable quality lacking in most musicals.

It isn't like Phantom of the Opera where you've got to hit a high note to join in. You can be the worst singer in the world and not have a trouble singing along. Because of this theres an added innocense and sweetness to some of the scenes. Giving the actors more depth than the lines alone could accomplish.

The characters of Sweeney (Depp), Mrs Lovett (Carter)and Judge Turpin (Rickman) are good examples of this. Sweeney Todd is a man consumed by rage and vengeance. The tasks he's set himself leaving little room in his mind for humanity. But through his singing we see a part of the man he was before the tragic events of fifteen years ago. We see a man who loves his wife and child. But as the movie progresses, its almost like he loses touch with this remaining humanity and focuses on his dark side. So much so that the safety of his daughter seems to matter little next to him accomplishing his purpose.

In Mrs Lovett we see a woman who still harbours feelings for a certain barber and who tries her best to let him know and change his course of action. She attempts to lure him away from his path by hinting at marriage and life elsewhere.

Yet she is the one who first suggests the idea of disposing of Todd's victims in her pies. Despite her earlier thoughts of someone using cats in their pies disturbing. Carter really shines in this role.

The villain of the film is the incomparable Alan Rickman. He plays Judge Turpin, the recipient of Todd's hate and bloody urges. Despite his cruel nature he displays an innocence and vulnerability that is quite refreshing amongst all the stereotypical single layered 'bad guys' whose only motivation is seemingly death and destruction.

As with all Burton movies the film has a dark, seductive back drop. The scenery is perfect for the time it portrays, dark, gritty and decadent. The differing aspects between the classes is handled beautifully, all these points combine to make you think that you really have stepped into Victorian London.

So as a final note, if you like gore and death in your movies you'll love this film. If you like musicals you'll love it. And if you think Tim Burton is a director who can do no wrong you'll certainly love this. If you answered no to one of the three points above you might have a problem. It all depends on what you like. Either way I know I love this and I'll be watching it as many times as I can. Lol, I've already got the CD on order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I saw this at the flicks three times and couldn't wait to have it on my shelf! I love sondhiems music and this version is brilliant..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, see it, bleeders!, 19 July 2009
By 
Morten Hillebert Bay (Struer, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie by Burton and Depp is rich in both story depth, character development and blinding visuals, though last thing mentioned is not completely true, as there has not been a dirtier looking London for a very long time. Still the picture is great. There is no lack of Special Features in this set. Being a 2-Disc Special Edition, this is to be expected. There are both some features about the making of the movie, about the story of Sweeney Todd and a feature about a special Horror Theatre tradition, just to mention a few. Both discs have interactive menus. The package is a traditional keep case, the ones that WB use for all their 2-disc features: a space for one disc in each side of the keep case. The box art is nice, and matches the feel of the movie.
Overall, a very good movie, with good Special Features. The Special Features are all located on disc 2, so to get any of them, I believe that you will have to buy the 2-disc Special Edition (unless they have made a different "set-up" of features for the single-disc edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 July 2009
This review is from: Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I think Sweeney Todd is a brilliant film that suits the style of Burton, Depp and Bonham-Carter perfectly.

I have never liked musicals but really enjoyed this and have watched it 2 nights in a row.

I was pleseantly suprised by Johnny Depps singing voice and it just goes to show how brilliant and versatile he is as an actor with another outstanding performance here.

One review said that Bonham-Carter had a passable voice I completely disagree with that her voice is fantastic and perfect for the role. She also had by far the hardest part to sing if you ask any music expert. She always goes unappreciated but Bonham-Carter is a wonderful actress and that was shown in this film where she was the equal if not better than Depp.

There where also some brilliant support roles particularly Timothy Spall, Alan Rickman and Sacha Baron-Cohan.

A fantastic film definite watch for musical lovers, Burton lovers, Depp and Bonham-Carter Fans and anyone who likes anything dark and gory.

Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT IS THE POINT OF GIVING THIS A BAD REVIEW BECAUSE YOU IDIOTS DIDN'T REALISE IT WAS A MUSICAL??????!!!!!???????, 29 Jun 2008
Jeez Louise people, c'mon!!! Great musical, good film. Highly recommended. Pretty good blu ray transfer too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand guignol at its best...meaning razors, slit throats, dripping red stuff and enough black humor to fill a cemetery, 30 Jan 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"They all deserve to die.
Tell you why, Mrs. Lovett, tell you why.
Because in all of the whole human race, Mrs. Lovett, there are two kinds of men and only two.
There's the one staying put in his proper place and one with his foot in the other one's face.
Look at me, Mrs Lovett! Look at you!
No, we all deserve to die.
Even you, Mrs Lovett, even I!"

If you had any doubt, that's Sweeney Todd, and he puts his philosophy to work. Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street, is Stephen Sondheim's re-telling of a barber driven mad. His wife and child were taken from him by a corrupt judge, who used and destroyed the wife and kept the child, who now is a young woman. Sweeney was transported, but he managed years later to return to London. While he plans his revenge on the judge he takes his revenge on humanity. He slits the throats of those he shaves. He's fortunate in meeting Mrs. Lovett, who makes a poor living making and selling awful meat pies, the main ingredient of which is pussycat. Now with Sweeney providing a constant source of fresh meat, her pies become best sellers. Sweeney finds his daughter, but retribution is inevitable. Now, twenty-eight years after Sweeney's Broadway debut, Tim Burton, with Sondheim's encouragement, has made a movie of the show.

A tragedy of revenge, as some critics have said? I'm not so sure about that...there's too much lip-smacking by Burton and Sondheim, as well as by the audience (at least the audience I was a part of) over the gore. But Sweeney Todd certainly is tops as a superb example of an engrossing, cynically humorous, fast-paced, wonderfully acted piece of flinch-inducing Grand Guignol. I enjoyed every minute of it, even while I was squinting my eyes to avoid most of the neck slitting. Even as graphic as the slicing and blood spurting was, there was something so over the top about those scenes that perhaps I'm just a softy. (But note how Sondheim mixes together the beautiful song of longing, "Johanna," with the impersonal series of throats being slit. It's startling to hear and see, and the beauty of the song nearly makes us complicit in Sweeney's on-camera blood-letting. On the stage it was even more riveting. It's a brilliant, lengthy set piece.)

All the actors, I thought, did a fine job doing their own singing. Sondheim said recently in the NYTimes that he agreed completely with the decision to cast the actors first for their acting abilities and then for their singing skills, not the other way. Bonham Carter has taken some criticism, but I think she does a perfectly fine job. She has a light voice without much power behind it...but she certainly did an excellent job with her meat pies song and her by the sea song. Her characterization of the character was excellent, I thought. Fortunately, playing Mrs. Lovett isn't a zero sum gain; I think it's perfectly reasonable to enjoy what Bonham Carter does with the role while loving the ghastly comic turn Angela Lansbury gave Mrs. Lovett on stage. It would hard to think of better actors for doing such revolting jobs as degenerates than Alan Rickman as Judge Turpin and Timothy Spall as the beadle. For me, where the movie starts to slacken a bit is toward the end, when Sondheim tries to bring a sense of real tragedy to the story. That has been a problem, as far as I'm concerned, with the stage production as well as the movie. Too obvious, too "sincere" for me. Still, without the final revelations there wouldn't be a story at all.

I saw the stage show shortly after it opened on Broadway, then again when a touring company brought it to St. Louis. My reaction then was the same as with nearly all Sondheim shows I've seen...too mannered, too overly intellectual, too clever. Then I listen to the recordings of the songs from his shows and I change my mind. Burton's movie (over which Sondheim had control over how the songs would be presented and over any cuts) seems to me to have resulted in a much more affective presentation, due to the style, the cuts and the trims, than the stage show.

And it seems to me that Johnny Depp has established himself as the most interesting and versatile American actor of his generation, probably the most talented, too. I cannot conceive of Di Caprio, Cruise, Pitt, etc., etc., being able to carry this part, much less even taking the chance and agreeing to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweeney Todd - The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street [DVD] [2007]
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews