Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training

For a novice or first timer this is an excellent set of DVDs. Clear and concise with good filming and first class explanation delivered in a simple and easily understood format. Nothing hidden and problems that we all see are addressed and help provided. First class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish This Was Available Years Ago, 5 Jun 2009
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent DVD for the first-timer or novice in getting the best out of training working sheepdogs. Even for those who won't put their dogs to sheep, it's a great insight into how it all works if ever you watch sheepdogs in action. The DVD is not-over-technical, fun and easy to understand in a way that first timers will find a great asset...just wish the sheep were included!!

Also enjoyed the trailer - "Border Collies Off Duty" - looks like an excellent compilation of Border Collies in their elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exemplary, 15 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
Format, content and flow are beautifully done. In addition to the learning value that is conveyed, it is a true pleasure to watch the trainer, dogs, sheep and country side all interact as it should. It was asthetically pleasing to watch, the content was exciting and a great deal of knowledge/technique is shared. All very practical. Andy gives excellent examples of approach of when things don't go so well and he also provides a broad diversity within the dogs with their unique personalities and demonstrating how you adjust the training to the dog. This is where the real teaching/learning begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
I have never reveiwed anything before but i had to on this one, i have trained a dog to work cattle and found it hard work and when i read Andy's reason of why he made this dvd i.e(Struggling on our hands and knees in the base of a hedge one day), i thought it was just me that couldn't follow the manuals, so i got it straight away and if i was to sum it up in one sentence it would be; Well laid out step by step guide and detailed plan on how you can set up your dog to suceed. Starting with the handler, setting up the training ground, type of sheep, etc., three different types of dogs (styles) and how to bring the best out of them. excellent dvds for livestock farmers or potential trial handlers that will help make training more stuctured with a better outcome, and lastly it's fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Victoria Eveleigh "Tortie" (Exmoor, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD packed full of detailed advice and good quality filming. Andy Nickless is honest enough to show what happens when things don't go according to plan, which is especially useful as you learn much more from that than when everything looks effortless. Every step in training is explained in great detail, without being patronising in any way. This is an interesting DVD to watch if you just like dogs, and it is a tremendous asset if you're trying to train your own Collie to become a sheepdog. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
A bit slow in places and some behavious not explained very well. Would prefer more time spent on problems that occur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have ...., 17 April 2013
By 
R. Mowbray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliantly presented and easy to watch training DVD. Not often does someone show you the good, bad and the ugly but Andy does. It helps put you at ease knowing that even the pro's get it wrong so to speak. In comparision to other training DVD's this isn't monotonous with only footage of a handler working a dog and then a voice over after. Andy gives a great commentary all the time so you can understand what you are seeing and then they play it back in slow motion too. There's no doubt that this is a must have purchase for any first-time-would-be sheepdog trainer as you can see how to and how not to do it. Absolutely brilliant. Just one complaint....where's the 'Second Steps'....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come bye/buy it!, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Susan Pearson "Su" (Shilvington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
I live on a farm and would like more information on sheepdog training as the local agricultural college don't run them anymore! So I got this DVD for christmas and it is really interesting and very informative. Love it, so now all I need is a willing four legged friend to practice on! Would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY good DVD for Border Collie Sheepdog Training for beginners, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
I knew nothing of sheepdog training or herding or generally the use of a sheepdogs. I only heard of it at the age of 32 by a colleague who herself has always 3 (border collie) dogs that she trains with and has had several participations in big herding/tracking/obedience trials with quite some prizes as well. In addition, she is also a breeder and as a big dog lover i got to meet several of her pups/litters. I was lucky enough to get bits and pieces about general dog training from her (who i consider an excellent dog owner btw) which i also applied on my previous dogs. I was never really interested in the breed until i saw one of her dogs that she got back at the age of 2 from an unhappy buyer. I fell in love with the dog and my first aim was to train agility with her. But i could also see that the dog comes from a very good line of herding BC and since i wanted to respect its nature i started training in herding. The breeder helped/helps me a lot but i must admit that after having watched the DVD i understood a WHOLE LOT more about the nature of dogs, the needs of a border collie, the way their mind works and how to approach them. I like the fact that the first DVD handles the most elementary issues such as the use of the whistle or how to build your own training area as well as presenting the dogs that Andy Nickless works with, their three different characters and their different "faults" and how he tackles them in order to make all three of them good working dogs. As a chemist, and thus a nerd, i also like the fact that he presents everything in detail, and the fact that he doesn't use another already trained dog to train the new ones. I would recommend this DVD to anyone that wants to start with the sheepdog training, or even to get more understanding on border collies and why they are the way they are.
I'm still a beginner but i like the activity more and more and i don't think i will ever stop being amazed of what this magnificent breed can do especially when they work with what they were bred for: sheep!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for sheepdog training, 7 May 2013
This review is from: First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD] (DVD)
great dogs great film thoroughly enjoyed and also very helpful. Would recommend it highly to anyone wanting to train a sheepdog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Steps In Border Collie Sheepdog Training [DVD]
£37.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews