Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top rate entertainment!
I loved this movie when it came out and I love it now - it's lost none of it's charm and I find it just as funny now as back then.
Part of the success is a superb cast. Carey Elwes is underrated - he is a great comedic actor and also a very versatile character actor. He is sharp and on the ball in this movie - his delivery spot on.
BUT - even so, Mandy...
Published on 11 July 2004 by muttmummy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for family viewing
Good old fashioned swashbuckler with echoes of Holy Grail and Les Visiteurs - but only echoes. Script flags a little and some of the acting is a little ropy. But good clean fun and the kids will love it
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by nosey joe


‹ Previous | 120 21 2228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammy but great, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Bride - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it for my kids after hearing Mark Kermode and Simon may rave about it. Very good indeed and very popular with both my 9 year old and my 5 years old. Reminiscent of the old Errol Flynn swashbucklers, age appropriate and something i'm quite happy to sit and watch with them. There aren't many movies in than category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess Bride, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
Miss M. F. Silk (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess Bride - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I LOVE this film! I saw it first as i child and still love it. It starts with a young boy in bed with the 'flu, who has been visited by his Grandfather. The Grandfather reads him a book called, 'The Princess Bride'. "When I was your age, television was called books". Lol.

It's a parody to all films, particularly love-themed or fantasy. It isn't a film to be taken seriously. The film goes at a moderate pace and the scenes that flip back to the Grandson and Grandfather show how we, the watchers are feeling about scenes in the film. Robin Wright is beautiful and well chosen as the main female role. The actors chosen for Fezzik, Vizzini and Inigo were also good choices. The character's each have a skill they bring to the story, Vizzini's brains, Fezzik's strength and Inigo's swordmanship. Each help the mysterious Man In Black to save Princess Buttercup.

There are also some excellent cameos in the film, Peter Falk, Billy Crystal, Mel Brooks and Peter Cook in particular.

If you haven't seen this film, i really would recommend it to all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars film doesn't get old, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw it with as much enthusiasm as when I was a kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8 buy, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Princess Bride - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
My nephew asked for this for his b'day & loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling romance with great one liners, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film - loved it as a kid and love it still
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles?, 20 Feb. 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Princess Bride - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Does anyone know if this version has English subtitles?

I love this film. I teach English in Germany and want to show this film to my students. It helps them understand when there are subtitles.

Any information will be very helpful

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film was responsible for teaching me about love!!, 8 Dec. 2006
By 
S. Matthiesen-campbell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this film as a child and learned about love, that this is something true and, although not ike the film, there is true love and it can be endless like the love of Buttercup for Wesley. It is one of those films which you wish you could duplicate and make loads like it, but then that is not the point. This film needs to be unique...it is one of a kind and can not be duplicated. It is a great mixture of action, fairy tale and modern (87) times, romance and mystical (the resurection!). It used to be my official 'sicky off school days' film. There was nothing better than ringing in sick at school, getting big tub of chocolate ice cream, pizza, coke and put "Princes Bride" on without a worry in the world! WHy must we grow up????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Just love it. Grate for the whole famley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite films in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful film beautifully presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess Bride - Special Edition [DVD]
£5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews