Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie. Not so good package.
I saw the movie before buying it on DVD. I liked it so much, that I bought the Special Edition. Unfortunately, the special edition turned out to be a huge box, that would not fit with the other DVD's, that contained the normal cheaper DVD of the same movie, plus some post cards, and a not so interesting book about Tarantino.
The movie is excellent. BUT, steer away...
Published on 18 April 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought this advertised as a steelbook
This was advertised as a steel book blu ray when i brought it so be careful what you are buying. Great film and the company providing gave me a full refund after complaining letting me keep the dvd edition (i all ready owned this)
Published 7 months ago by dean breeze


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Sound, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs [DVD] (DVD)
I was sent two copies of this dvd and both had no sound when I received them. The other features were fine but the actual film was completely silent. Ended up just asking for a refund, it was a Birthday present so a bit annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars resevoir dogs, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs [DVD] (DVD)
havent been able to watch this film as there no sound. havent had time to sort it out with amazon yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs [DVD] (DVD)
I have ordered this dvd twice now. The first time it came there was no sound on it. I tried it on several different machines but there was no sound on any of them. As it didn't cost too much I just reoredered it rather than sending it back and guess what there is no sound again. I have tried it on different machines, checked it is the correct region, etc. but nothing - still no sound. Don't waste your money on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reservoir Dogs., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can not recommend this company as DVD got lost?? Then unable to replace the item. So never got a copy of the movie. Very disappointed all accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unearthly Terrible, 19 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
It is unbelievable how a director of this callibur is producing absolute trash. The extensive violence in this film is the only real feature as the story line is an obvious attempt to con the viewer in to believing that violence is not the only aspect. The only attribute in this film which can be appluaded is the acting from nearly every character however I must say that Quentin Tarrantino should stick to directing due to his evident, complete inability to act!
If you happen to be a sadistic criminal then this film is for you but I must warn all the sane people out there that according to this, brutality and blood are the foundations of a good film according to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire drivel - be warned ..., 1 Sep 2009
By 
Incredibly simple to describe - a film for people who confuse violence with acting, and confusion with plot.

I was suspicious of this film before I watched it - the people who I know who raved about it were all of a type: my suspicions proved well founded. After I'd watched it and when asked why they though it was so good not one of them could say any more than "it just is" or "I liked the violence"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 9 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I'm sorry, but this was the biggest disappointment for a long time. The plot moves at a grindingly slow pace and character development is limited (some of them turn out to be even more horrible than you thought). The number of reviews for this film reveals our fascination with blood and guts, and the praise expressed in them reveals how violence numbs our critical sensibilities. I can't think of one good reason to recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i repeat, this is tripe, 23 Jan 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wrote below that this film just illustrates how blood and guts numbs people's critical faculties. I had hoped that some of you would rise to the bait, but you're obviously too obsessed with praising scenes of grotesque cruelty (where's the artistic merit in having a bloke cut off a tied up policeman's ear? It's not even original!) to find anything worth praising. Maybe that's because the film's rubbish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly family viewing, 14 Oct 2009
By 
GregK "GregK" (Amsterdam, Holland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs (Blu-ray)
My memory had faded on just how gruesome and violent this movie is, its fairly unrelenting, very dark indeed and unlikely to leave you feeling good.
As a character study its excellent, well fimed, innovative and at the time refreshingly different. I can understand why it appeals to some, however I think this original work has been superceded by Tarantino's later works. Pulp Fiction follows much the same format but does it with a lighter hand, less gore and ultimately a better glimpse into the characters world. Buy this if you have all his other films and just want to complete your collection. For me buying this on Blu-ray did not really warrant the extra expense, I should have just bought the DVD, IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't Really See Why The Hype Around This Film, 28 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Reservoir Dogs (Blu-ray)
Okay so, first off BLU-RAY is great but it still doesn't feel brillant without films that were shot in digital. Back to the film:
-Very slow at points
(The dialogue can be a killer it is the most boring parts of the film because what there saying doesn't careter to the story; What could have been said in four lines is said in 15)

-Great Visuals On The Hair
(I have to admit blu-ray allows you to see every little detail on that actors face and hair, I mean everything)

-The Ending Scene Was The Best
(The ending scene has to be the best not because the film had ended but the violence that had not really been seen in the early stages of the film compenstated for it at the end;)

-Conclusion
(Tarantino is brillant at the violence scenes, but i hate the long dialogue. It is a great film to study, when you think of the context but not great for the average film viewer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reservoir Dogs [Blu-ray]
Reservoir Dogs [Blu-ray] by Andrzej Sekula (Blu-ray - 2008)
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews