Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shine a light on me...
Legendary director Martin Scorsese has picked the Rolling Stones for his next music documentary after the success of 2005's Dylan documentary, No Direction Home. Seamlessly cutting new and old footage with a newly recorded concert, shot by no less than ten award-winning cinematographers, the film captures all of the raw energy of the Stones live on stage. Old rubber face...
Published on 12 Feb 2009 by Kevin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the hype
Shine a light on bluRay is the reason Blu ray was developed, the film blu ray has been waiting for, a film that will show you what blu ray and surround sound can really do. So said all the publicity hype and reviews by fanatics of the Stones. Its good yea but no more and no less than a concert thats been filmed. If you are a stones fan you will love it. If you are a...
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by Mr. Alan J. Shellard


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shine a light on me..., 12 Feb 2009
This review is from: Shine A Light [DVD] (DVD)
Legendary director Martin Scorsese has picked the Rolling Stones for his next music documentary after the success of 2005's Dylan documentary, No Direction Home. Seamlessly cutting new and old footage with a newly recorded concert, shot by no less than ten award-winning cinematographers, the film captures all of the raw energy of the Stones live on stage. Old rubber face Mick Jagger, in particular, shows no signs of slowing down as he dances up and down the stage performing classics and previously unplayed tracks from the Stones' back catalogue, which makes this more of a straightforward concert movie than a documentary. That said, interviews with the band from days gone by does provide more than enough of an insight into the band to compliment the superbly-shot concert footage. Scorsese has crafted a movie that delivers more than enough `Satisfaction' for fans and newcomers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Is On Their Side!, 19 Nov 2008
This review is from: Shine A Light (2 Disc Collectors Edition with Bonus Digital Copy) [DVD] (DVD)
Can't believe the ridiculous comments of Mr Reed, clearly not a Stone's fan, I've been a Fan since their second single & first album which I purchased when I was at school and remained a Fan ever since, and no, not a Fanatic just a Fan!

I with some other old friends went to the Premiere at one of the chosen Cinema's and we all thought that it was just fantastic, now that I have bought the DVD and played it back in DTS mode with a good high volume I enjoyed it even more. Yes, o.k. Keith's vocal on 'Connection' isn't outstanding but he does do a good job of 'You Got The Silver' and even though Paul Weller's been told for smoking on stage, in the States where the ban came in sooner clearly Keith doesn't give a monkey's, which has always been a Stones trait for all of us who have lived through it.

Mick does an excellent job of 'Sympathy For The Devil' and the crowd obviously love it, yes, there are young girls down the front near the band, why is it so hard to believe that young people actually like them, hasn't Ronnie just hitched up with someone young enough to be his daughter! Did we expect to see ancient Stone's fan's down the front with their zimmer frames, well, we're not that old, was Mr Reed present with his torch and personally 'Shine A Light' on every individual to see if any of the audience was over 60, what nonsense, been to a real concert recently have you?

As I remember it, the Stones have always dressed how they pleased and I think they still look cool, are they now supposed to buy all their clothes from 'Greenwoods'? As for the comment don't trust a man in a suit, well if you were there Mr Reed you will remember that Brian Epstein put 'The Beatles' in suit's at the beginning, I rest my case.

I hope when I reach Jagger's age, and I'm not that far off that I can still have this kind of energy, hat's off to the bloke, well done mate and keep it up. I also noted that Charlie Watt's is still just using a basic drum kit for all these great songs, I just saw Mick Fleetwood recently and he'd need a Transist just for the drum kit alone!

Remember from very early on they wrote their own song's and basically invented the 'The Rock Band' in this format, I'll bet many of the 'Bands' around today hope that they will survive this long and still be at the top of the game, this DVD show's off the quality of what will become their legacy to rock music!

If you are a lapsed Stone's Fan because of age or whatever, maybe listening to more mellow music in your late years, this is well worth buying to rekindle those days before you started popping the vitamins. As they say, 'If The Knees Are'nt Knocking, Then Keep On Rocking' well done to the Stones & Mr Scorsese, pure excellence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up there with the best, 24 Nov 2008
By 
M. W. Atkinson "Atko" (Leigh, Lancs.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shine A Light [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic concert film of The Stones' residence at The Beacon Theatre, New York, directed by Martin Scorcese

The film is a mix of documentary type clips of the making of the concert, from stage design to setlist, interspersed with archive footage of The Stones and a mixture of favourites and lesser known songs

The film is very much up close and personal and what comes across is how much The Stones seem to be enjoying themselves.

The highlights for me are Loving Cup (with Jack White), Little T&A, Satisfaction and Brown Sugar

This dvd is even better than the Theatre disc from The Four Flicks Stones dvd boxset

Buy it, turn it up and enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its Only RocknRoll But I Like It, 13 Nov 2008
By 
Jeffna (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine A Light (2 Disc Collectors Edition with Bonus Digital Copy) [DVD] (DVD)
I managed to miss this in the cinema and waited a long time for it to turn up on DVD.
Its a great DVD, the sound is good quality, the video shots are superb the atmosphere is electric.
Its really nice the way Jagger comes across a bit tongue in cheek and the band don't seem to take it all too seriously.
The Stones aren't the best band ever but they have a long list of rock songs which deliver and have delivered constistently since 1960. Its all good fun.
Charlie Watts does a great job holding the rest of the band together, literally. And Jagger is still mesmeric to watch.
I saw them once in Croydon in the '60's with Brian Jones, only for the sound to be obliterated totally by screaming girls.
So it was nice to get to hear them in concert at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men never get old, 26 Oct 2009
By 
J. Bartu "jetbar" (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is difficult to decide what is the most exciting about this masterpiece. I like the sound, guest appearances and incredible energy which transcends through the screen. Opening number sets the bar high followed by blast of hits, we born in the fifties, remember so well. I had a good laugh watching Keith smoking on stage imagining the fire safety officer going bananas. Call me old fashion but this is the one you must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 13 Nov 2008
By 
C. R. Buckley (Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really is what your BLU-RAY is ment to SHOW and what your AMPLIFIER is ment to SOUND like.

Crystal sound quality picks up every pinch of air left in these rockers lungs and let me tell you there is plenty of that.

The picture is pure quality showing everything so perfectly even down to the dry roasted pores in the creases of these leather faced rock gods!

The old tv footage and interviews is fantastic to watch and breaks up the concert giving you a little resting time between songs.

This film gives plenty of satisfaction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the hype, 23 Mar 2010
Shine a light on bluRay is the reason Blu ray was developed, the film blu ray has been waiting for, a film that will show you what blu ray and surround sound can really do. So said all the publicity hype and reviews by fanatics of the Stones. Its good yea but no more and no less than a concert thats been filmed. If you are a stones fan you will love it. If you are a casual fan of blues and The stones as they were in the 60s /70s ( as I am) then you pays your money and you takes your choice. Is ok but not the stunning visual experience as promoted by the hype. Its just a Blu ray DVD plain and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expecting More Earlier Songs!, 13 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. R. Laverick "Robert Laverick" (Sunderland/Durham Border) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, a gripe about the loading times. On my Panasonic DMP-BD35 it took 2 mins 15 secs to display the menu, and on my PS3 it took 1 min 7 secs, which seemed like eons with a blank screen! There were 3 audio choices; DTS HD Master Audio, Dolby True HD, and Digital Multi (With Audio Description). I cannot experience any of these to their full potential, as I am only playing music Blu-rays through my Hi-Fi stereo, which is good enough for me. It starts with a mini documentary, which switches from black and white to colour, SD to HD and back again. This lasts for 13 mins until the start of the concert. The venue is the Beacon Theatre, New York City, 2006, which provides an intimate audience experience. The concert opens with "Jumpin' Jack Flash". What follows is mainly contempory songs, with the occasional oldie thrown in. Luckily "Sympathy For The Devil", "Brown Sugar", and "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" are included in the set. Guest performers include Jack White (From the White Stripes) and Christina Aguilera. Included in the bonus songs are "Paint It Black" and "I'm Free". Mick Jagger gives an energetically extrovert performance. Keith Richards' personality shines through (And he sings two or three tracks aswell, although his voice does not come over well!). The concert is interspersed with archive footage of band interviews, and lasts about 2 hours. The concert footage is in glorious Hi-Def, and really shows off Scorsese's skills in direction. I was really impressed with this film, but would have preferred the band to have played more of their early work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank's to Mr Scorcese : INCREDIBLE, really !!, 16 July 2008
Shine a Light [2008]It happened. Someone succeeded to film The Rolling Stones with their truth. And, it's Martin Scorcese. Not for people who love explanations of anything. Thank's God, that film doesn't explain magic of the Stones. It only shows the Magic of the band and the best Performer of all time (Mick)[Never filmed like That!]. Scorcese wanted testify of that magic band. Incredible!! Don't listen to sad people who prefer intellectual formatted projects. Here, it's the true living music. Seen 8 times at cinema. Not satisfied. I want more ! The greatest film about the rolling Stones forever and ever. Great choice of photography, sound (we understand guitars alchemy) and many rare songs (as tears go by, some girls,she was hot, loving cup, you got the silver, faraway eyes etc...!!), Great duos (buddy guy, jack white..)And, thank's to the ROLLING STONES. Never too late to realize a dream: The Martin's dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is incredible!, 21 Mar 2009
By 
M. J. Bassett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd heard about this while it was showing in cinemas but thought I'd wait for bluray, boy did I make the right decision!

This is what bluray was invented for. You can see every wrinkle and bead of sweat. Visually the best bit is when Keef spits a burning cigarette onto the stage, I swear you can see every ember.

Scorcese's direction is better than "The Last Waltz" and that's saying something. The picture and sound are faultless, the Stones are on fire and it really does feel like you're sitting in the front row.

If you love the Stones or indeed proper music in general then buy this, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shine A Light (2 Disc Collectors Edition with Bonus Digital Copy) [DVD]
£22.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews