Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chess and Draughts Set
This chess and draughts set is excellent value for money. The pieces are kept in drawers either side of the charming wooden box/board. The pieces are robust and well proportioned and the board is a convenient size to be stored away neatly.
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Gremlin Boogie

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality
The word "deluxe" is slightly misleading, as the quality is not that great; one corner was damanged in the item I received, but the item was sealed so it felt like the manufacturing thought it was OK with have the veneer chipped off. Also, the colour of the drawers did not match the box, nor did they match each other. The pieces are very roughly carved, and not "deluxe"...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by Christine


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chess and Draughts Set, 10 Feb 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
This chess and draughts set is excellent value for money. The pieces are kept in drawers either side of the charming wooden box/board. The pieces are robust and well proportioned and the board is a convenient size to be stored away neatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made and solid, 28 Mar 2010
By 
D. L. George "wilscombe" (Cirencester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
There are better chess sets but they cost a lot more. This one is well made and very good value. Reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delux wooden chess/draughts set with drawer., 22 Feb 2010
By 
KatyC (S. Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
The chess pieces are a comfortable, workable size. They are varnished wood, and look good, and they have thin, felt pads on the bottom of each piece.
There is also a felt pad on each of the four corners of the wooden base.
The board is almost 12inches x 12inches, but there is a small margin around, which means the playing area is only 10inches x 10inches. This makes for quite a compact game when all the chess pieces are on the board.
The drawers are handy for storing the pieces, but they slip out quite easily when transporting the board around. I am going to fit a tiny catch onto each drawer, to hold the drawer in place.
On the set I`ve bought, one of the drawers is a snug fit, but the other drawer is not quite flush.
We can live with that though.
The set also contains draught pieces, and instructions for playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent present, 3 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
Purchased as gift for my grandson - he likes it a lot and with the draughts as well was good value. Arrived in a couple of days well packaged - despite the snow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 21 Oct 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
The word "deluxe" is slightly misleading, as the quality is not that great; one corner was damanged in the item I received, but the item was sealed so it felt like the manufacturing thought it was OK with have the veneer chipped off. Also, the colour of the drawers did not match the box, nor did they match each other. The pieces are very roughly carved, and not "deluxe" in feel. I ended up returning the item, and am sorry I wasted the time. Have since found a "deluxe" version, which is of course "deluxe price". So I guess the lesson I've learned is that there was not way you could get a really nice item for £23.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set, 22 July 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Welsh "JoesMum" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
Bought this for an 8 year old avid chess fan.

The board is of good construction and the drawers are ideal for holding all the chess/draughts pieces.

Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Deluxe Chess set this is NOT!, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
The pieces are poorly made and small - the product description states that the king is 3 inches, but it is only 2". The woodstain on the board was poor and looked as if it was wearing off in places.

It came out of the box for 30 seconds and will be sent straight back. If it'd been half the price, I probably would've been quite happy, but for £30 I was pretty appalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starter set, 3 Feb 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
My 8 year old son received this set for Christmas and is very pleased with it. It is an excellent starter set (includes drafts too) but would be just as good for a more experienced player. The board has drawers in the side where the pieces can be stored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice chess and draughts set, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
Good wooden chess and draughts set. It's nice having one self-contained unit to cover both games, and I like the fact it's made of wood. It's not small, but fits ok on the shelf and would be ok in the car- although I'll probably buy a magnetic set for traveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Draught & Chess Set, 22 April 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set (Toy)
Bought this for a friends daughter and by all accounts it is a real hit. Good quality and well thought out design!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deluxe Wooden Chess and Draughts Set
£25.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews