Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Pokemon Ranger +
Well, exactly as the title suggests, it's pretty similar to the last Ranger game but it has a few more perks. The quests available are really good side tracks when you don't want to do mission after mission (and are a great way to buil up your styler's power as each quest clear boosts your defences), you end up with a farm of partner pokemon you can swap about with which...
Published on 21 May 2009 by L. S. Boag

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The game itself was fine arriving in working condition but receiving it with no case or manual was very disappointing as this was not stated in the description and pictures showed the game in the case. It was an extra present for my 4 year old son at Christmas and I had to go out of my way to find a case to wrap it in and manual so I could help him play. Disappointing as...
Published 16 months ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Pokemon Ranger +, 21 May 2009
By 
L. S. Boag "Lee" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Well, exactly as the title suggests, it's pretty similar to the last Ranger game but it has a few more perks. The quests available are really good side tracks when you don't want to do mission after mission (and are a great way to buil up your styler's power as each quest clear boosts your defences), you end up with a farm of partner pokemon you can swap about with which is handy when going to different locations, the story line is more proggressive than previous and you can use more than one loop-chain to catch pokemon which is REALLY handy considering I spent a good 15 mins trying to catch the previous game's steelix :S.

The game play is a tad slow to start but it's a great way to get back into the hang of things or learn the tricks of the trade if you havn't played the last one. The variability of Pokemon is much greater and your captures are graded (C,B,A,S) since you can use more than one loop set now.

Even once the game is complete you have heaps more missions and areas available to you, not to mention that 'Boss' Pokemon are scattered around previous locations from earlier missions.

The one thing that does get annoying is the Move Assists such as Drifloon's airlift, in some places you ahve to use a multitude of Pokemoves to cover a very small distance which rapidly looses appeal after the second visit or so.

Over all though, it's a definite buy wether you've played the last one before. Just be ready to do the first aspect (1 1/2 to 2 hours)of it in a oner so you can get onto the better stuff sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just too good, 29 Dec. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I just finished this game about a minute ago. And my goodness was it fantastic! Gameplay is greatly improved. The main aspect that was improved is the capture method. Although pretty much the same as the old game, to capture a pokemon you don't have to continuely loop it, you can take a break from looping. The 'friendship feelings' will stay with the pokemon for a while, allowing you a short break while the pokemon attacks. This meant that really, poke assists were a bit useless, but that was fine by me.
The addition of being able to swim under water, ride on floatzel, mantine, empoleon, torkoal etc was also pretty cool. I mean, there is nothing more awesome the surfing on lava!
You can catch Staraptor and fly on them, or ride doduo to get around a bit faster. There is a better variety of pokemon this time too. The only problem was the lack of save points. Luckily my styler only broke twice in the game, but at certain points, I could imagine how awful it would be for it to break, when you hadn't been to a save point in over 30 minutes.

Get this game before the end of February '09 to download the special missions from Ranger Net!

I couldn't put this game down, my poor DS is worn out. I think it deserves a rest now, but only once I have completed the extra missions!

If you are a pokemon fan or not, get this game.

An additional note, don't get put off by the first hour or two of this game. It was very slow to begin with, but persevere, because it just keeps getting better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next step for Pokemon Rangers, 25 Nov. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
My 7 yr old is a big fan of both Pokemon Pearl and Diamond games as well as the previous Ranger Games. I admit to enjoying them too!
This is definitely an improvement on the previous Ranger games - bigger, better, wider range of Pokemon all means more play time and plenty to occupy any pokemon loving gamers.
Some will say that this game is nothing new and just a rehash of previous Ranger games. While they have a point - it has the same game play style and same aims, there is plenty of reasons to purchase this game if you already own the previous ranger ones. The new arenas, wider range of pokemons not previously seen in the Ranger games (nice to see some of my personal favourites from Pearl make a reappearance), and plenty of different skills to use, make it a more interesting and varied game. It has a similar level of difficulty as the previous Ranger games and is suitable for age 5/6 yrs upwards. It is certainly keeping my 7 yr old occupied! She has played it more than any of the previous ranger games. In the past she has always enjoyed the ranger games but insisted that Pearl and Diamond are her top games. This is sharing the top spot right now - high praise indeed from my fussy daughter!
You do not need to have played the previous games to enjoy this alone and equally, it is ok if you have played the others - both new and old pokemon fans should find plenty to keep them happy in this addition to the Pokemon family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST GAME EVER, 18 Jan. 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is the best game ever honest it goes on for a long time but it keeps you on your toes it brings pokemon to life
its my fav out of all my ds games.ALL pokemon fans will not be disapointed at all good graphics and brillient sound makes thebest game special i am 9 and very happy.After defeating darkri there is still more to do!10/10 in all ways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant game for kids, 1 Feb. 2011
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Shadows of Almia
Set in the beautiful Almia region, this game is an adventure into the world of Pokémon. At the Ranger School you learn to be a Ranger or an Operator. But Team Dim Sun are using machines to control Pokémon's minds. You must stop them!
There are many allies you will meet all over this region, including Keith, Rythimi, Barlow and Ponte, the conflicted marshmallow boy.
As well as allies, you make enemies. Heath, Lavana, Ice and Kinkaid are all trying to control Pokémons' minds.
This game is good for Pokémon fans who want to see their favourite Pokémon in better graphics. Unless you want to see Arceus or Shaymin, then I suggest Pokémon Ranger Guardian Signs. Buying Shadows of Almia second hand is worth considering, unless it's a gift in which case buy it new (you cheapskate!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 18 Sept. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
So I bought this game a while ago. But it came in one day which surprised me because most things come late when I order them. Anyway the game is good. You play as a Pokemon ranger who is just an early teenager. A ranger captures pokemon by drawing circles round the pokemon to befriend them. So in the game you finish ranger school and become a pokemon ranger. You get to pick a starter pokemon which are Starly, Pachirisu and Munchlax. The whole game is good it is repetitive but it's one of those games that are never the same. Because every capture is really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as you would expect from Pokemon but still good..., 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The Ranger series of games is actually really different from the main RPG style of play than the regular series (and Mystery Dungeon). It has more of a puzzle solving feel to it. Pokemon are not caught with a ball, but by drawing rings around them ( although its not as simple as it sounds). You can only keep 3 Pokemon but each has a power to use to solve a particular problem I.e restore health, destroy obstacles etc. graphics are great and are consistent with the rest of the series. If you're expecting turn based action, don't buy but if you're a Pokemon fan and want to try something different, pease go ahead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got it on time, it was so brand new, like nothing was touch, not even the points thing for Nintendo.
So thank you very much XD. and sorry for reviewing so late. thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Son is Pokemon fan, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
7 year old lives all things Pokemon. I don't understand the game, haven't a clue! But he loves it and was good value. I have found that adventure games like this which have a lot of text/directions have actually advanced his reading, as he has been determined to work out what characters are saying/ doing....so something positive about gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Chappy, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
bought same thing from seller on eBay as a Christmas gift for my son. imagine his
disappointment when it turned out to be fake. so i purchased this one through Amazon :) do not really know much about the game? not a pokemon fan myself lol but son loved it....great price, speedy delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia (Nintendo DS)
Ł39.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews