Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars25
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2008
East Side Story [2006]
This is a feel-good movie about a Mexican man (Diego) who lives and works for his grandmother in the Mexican area of LA. He is in a non-relationship with a Mexican real estate broker (Pablo), who is in denial about being gay.
The area in which he lives is becoming fashionable with gays, and it is when a white couple move in over the road that the story really starts up.
The development of the story between the older of the two new neighbours (Wes) and Diego is played out against Wes's boyfriend increasing jealousy, Diego's attempts to leave LA to open a Mexican restaurant in Phoenix, and the return of his aunt from Europe ("I am still on Monaco time").
It's a well-balanced movie and although the outcome is not certain until the end, everything works out.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2009
"East Side Story" has the feeling of a home-made production which is almost standard for TLA releases. The quality of acting is so so at best (and mostly uneven) and it is the story that either saves or kills the effort. "East Side Story" fortunately has a plot which should keep the viewers (gay viewers most likely) interested.
Diego works in a family restaurant owned by his grand-mother Sara. He is gay but he believes that nobody knows about it except his closeted lover Pablo. He is obviously wrong. His affair with Pablo goes sour when he refuses to continue playing his friend's erotic games. Fortunately, his neighbourhood begins to change and as a part of the change a gay couple moves next door.
Pablo makes an attempt to turn straight and marry Diego's crazy aunt Bianca/Blanca but Diego stops her short of taking the vows. In the meantime Diego starts falling for his neighbour Wes but Wes moved in with Jon who only dreams of leaving the barrio. In the process Diego changes his restaurant into a fashionable haunt for the new gentrified neighbourhood and Wes sends Jon away and... See for yourself!
If you can't find the title on the list of Academy Awards nomination (let's not set our hopes too high...) it's not by chance. This is just a feel-good movie with little ambition. But sometimes it's good to have a few of them handy.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2008
Yes - nice, funny romance and well acted too, especially by Rene Alvarado playing the main character Diego, 'muy simpático'...
Once Diego stops doing what everybody else wants and starts to make some decisions of his own, things get moving.

I'll watch it again
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
I'm not usually one for writing reviews but there was something about this film I loved that has compelled me to put pen to paper as it were. Based in East LA, the film centres around 2 love triangles, both involving Diego, the ambitious grandson of a restaurant owner. Without giving too much away about the plot, this film leads the viewer on twist-a-minute rollercoaster ride of love and emotions that is impossible not to get sucked into. This is a real feelgood film, with a little extra added WOW. When the film had ended, I switched to the bous section and watched the entire film again with the cast and director commentary. I think the success behind this film lies in the fact that it was cast superbly, and each had such good fun in making it. Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
Set in a Hispanic community Diego wants to build on his relationship but his boyfriend is nervous about it, one day another gay couple move into the area and Diego clicks with one of them much to the annoyance of the boyfriend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
A film for a wet Wednesday afternoon when there is nothing else to do. A rather glossy approach to gay Mexicans. It doesn't really touch on the subject in any depth. The story line is a little cutesy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
The quality of this DVD is quite disappointing. It looks as though it is a VHS movie copied to a DVD format. Not the usual quality of a DVD recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
I love the story with the East side story. I love the romantic kind of films so this is a good dvd. I would recomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
is ok gay drama and bit funny as well, not very much a bit slow, if u like romantica dramas this is the movie for ya
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
This film could have been good if they had just delved into the couples relationship a bit more.... Because trust me if my man was flirting like that with another man in front of me I'd hit the roof!!! But they just didn't show anything like that they just touched on it with some lame scenes. So all in all the story I think was weak.. why would anyone who has just committed to buying a house together and then in a couple of days is dismissing you in front of a new guy and flirting..... Acting was ok but a few lessons wouldn't go a miss!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)