Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
Got this to try to connect a computer in a bedroom to the router which was downstairs.

I had previously tried using a wireless dongle but the signal was not very good and playing online TV it would keep having to "buffer" the connection - not ideal when you are trying to watch some sport like football!

Simple to set-up. You plug one homeplug into a...
Published on 29 Oct 2010 by M. B. Beacher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars silly question maybe....
Can someone enlighten me please...I get that the first netgear plug is attached to the router via an ethernet cable, and the second plug you plug into a normal socket which somehow extends your wifi as though it were sourced from the second netgear plug. But do you then have to attach an ethernet cable from the second netgear plug to your laptop, or does it work...
Published 15 months ago by HACCP-UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 29 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Got this to try to connect a computer in a bedroom to the router which was downstairs.

I had previously tried using a wireless dongle but the signal was not very good and playing online TV it would keep having to "buffer" the connection - not ideal when you are trying to watch some sport like football!

Simple to set-up. You plug one homeplug into a wall socket near your router and connect a network cable to/from the router and then you put the other homeplug into a wall socket near the computer and run a network cable to/from it.

In my case I did this and switched everything on and the computer spotted the internet connection straight away and worked like a dream - tried watching online TV and no more problems so very happy.

The instructions recommend that the homeplug is plugged directly into its own wall socket and not through an adapter however I have found using an adapter makes no difference - although I assume it depends on the age of the wiring in your house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work from the box, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Compatible with my existing Solwise 85Mbps Adapters, connect your Ethernet cable plug in and away you go, would recommend but only if your already using 85Mbps adapters otherwise go for higher speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
I wanted to get web access to an old Dell desktop (that would not play with a wireless dongle no matter what)and trailing cables was not an option. Some people had said that data over home power products were a bit unreliable......as far as I can tell that's not the case.
These are excellent. Works straight out of the box. One of them is even plugged in to an multi-socket block with no issues. Downloads etc all fly along. I can't comment on gaming or video streaming as I haven't tried yet (but that's not why i bought them anyway).
PS despite the image these are UK 3-pin plug socket items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just works, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
No need to write a longer review of this one. Plug it in and it works. Had it set up and working within 2 mins after opening the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extend your connection., 10 April 2011
By 
R. E. Bush (UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Very good product so far, delivered extremly quickly. Even works via an extension lead.
I have a number of Netgear products, so far, they have worked well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Only annoying thing about it is number of connection. My previous ones had 4 each but you can't buy those new anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love these plugs!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Simple to use (plug in and that's it). You're home will be wired-networked up! I have bought these previously and recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars silly question maybe...., 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Can someone enlighten me please...I get that the first netgear plug is attached to the router via an ethernet cable, and the second plug you plug into a normal socket which somehow extends your wifi as though it were sourced from the second netgear plug. But do you then have to attach an ethernet cable from the second netgear plug to your laptop, or does it work wirelessly?

thanks in advance :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works brilliantly straight out of the box, 8 Dec 2011
By 
D. Hooley "Dom" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
I bought this more in hope than in expectation of a successful result.

Our internet signal needs to get from the modem downstairs, to another room upstairs and three rooms away. A wireless signal just can't hack the distance and wall thickness. I have tried an Edimax repeater, but it constantly needed re-booting and the connection was very unstable. However, I just plugged the two units of the Netgear Powerline Ethernet Adapter into the mains sockets with the two Cat 5 cables - instant success! No passwords, configuration, installation or anything! Although the two units are plugged into power sockets which run from two different mains circuit boards (i.e. they are not on the same mains 'ring'), they work together brilliantly.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this item if you are struggling to get an internet wireless signal around a larger house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just works, no hassle, 25 July 2011
By 
P. Clark (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter (Electronics)
Bought a pair of these to connect an Ubuntu/MythTV frontend to the master backend in another room as the wifi signal was unavailable. Plugged in and worked straight away and has continued working perfectly since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Netgear 85Mbps Powerline Ethernet Adapter
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews