Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poetic and thought-provoking, 1 Sep 2008
By 
E. Smith (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the cinema tonight, and came away wanting to see it again.

It is the story of the hopes of a small girl who wishes no more than to be able to go to school - no easy feat in traumatised Afghanistan.

The violence-induced scars on the community are there to be seen, shown in the poverty of basic survival and the brutalised local boys who run wild. Set against the backdrop of Bamiyan's destroyed Buddhas, the film takes in the sweeping and dusty landscapes and the harshness of life, but is full of lyricism and poetry, and last but not least, pure human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie on the Plight Even of Young Girls in a Taliban Society, 28 Nov 2008
By 
Max Scharnberg (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
I think that both the daughters of the Makhmalbáf family (Samira and Hana) are even more gifted as directors than their parents. A few days ago Hana M. was in Stockholm to introduce her new movie, which is an art work of the highest quality. A young girl zealously wants to go to school and learn to read and write. Almost everywhere she is met with hostility or indifference. And it should not go unnoticed that that there is no solidarity within the female sex. When she finally finds the school for girl, all the other girls intentionally move to prevent her from finding anywhere to sit. Also the female teacher soon throws her out of the classroom. On her way home she and other girls are taken as prisoners by boys playing talibans. And what happens then?
The performance of the girl is genuinely impressive throughout the entire movie, and regardless of what mood is predominant in each scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most heart breaking & beautiful movie in years!, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
This little girl miraculously embodies the human purity - I don't know what kind of human would not be profoundly touched by this story. When you're lucky enough to be born in a democratic country where education is the right and obligation for everyone, we don't even think to appreciate our fortune and we keep on complaining about small things. All through the movie, I wanted to go hug her, offer her everything she needs to go to school, anything she needs to have the best education. I hope the charity organization that I endorse (with my modest donations) are actually helping these innocent children to have the chance to be educated.
This is by far the most heart breaking and most beautiful movie I've seen in years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST watch!, 22 Mar 2010
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
A poignant story, comic in some places, it follows the valiant attempts of a six year old girl undertaking an epic battle against the odds. Her goal is to get to a school so she can 'learn some jokes'. It seems a simple plot at first, although there is much more to this tale. The underlining political message about the plight of women under the Taliban rule smacks you straight between the eyes, and offers much food for thought! However, there are many more topics tackled here than just the obvious. The 'war on terror' and it's long reaching effect upon these children's lives, is played out wonderfully by the cast, who considering their young ages, give amazing performances. The scene of the bullies tell of the injustice of bullying, but more alarmingly so starts to make you wonder why are they like that to begin with? Do the powerless and frustrated turn to extreme actions because of a greater injustice? You find yourself wondering who exactly is the victim here, is it just Batkay (the main character) or the bullies as well? There is a metaphoric image of America bullying poorer nations in this story which conjures up some interesting emotions in the watcher! This is a very thought provoking film, hard hitting, and beautifully put together. It's a definite must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An an amazing film that should be better known., 5 Mar 2014
By 
Peggy Goldwyn (Beverly Hills, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
A metaphor for the treatment of women under the Taliban, play-acted by children. A brave young heroine, ultimately overwhelmed by her circumstance to be born a girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story that makes a lasting impression., 25 Nov 2013
By 
2ManyShoes (Bergen, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film at the cinema when it first came out some years ago. Lately I've often been thinking about it and wanting to see it again because it made a strong impression on me. An interesting, different and moving film centered round the strong will of a little girl who wants to learn to read and takes the matter into her own hand in a society where little girls like her don't go to school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A work of beauty, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
This film captures the innocence and purity of childhood, and the sinister consequences of child's play gone too far, so reminiscent of Lord of the Flies. If you have seen Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter and Spring, you'll enjoy this so much - it shows beauty in so many things: the cutest little girl with a missing front tooth determined to attend a village school; the simplicity of life in a world without TVs, cars or mobile phones; a child discovering the joy that reading brings. But its message is also very harsh and I found many scenes of this film very disturbing - notably the mindless cruelty of children and their propensity for aggresion. Without any explicit violence we feel the horror of these children's games crossing over into the realm of reality - just a close up of a stone for example was enough to convey what could happen. The film is set in Afghanistan and its children live in a time of war (as did William Golding's boys) - however, I feel that the setting and period are universal and many aspects of the film are relevant in every culture and in any period. This beautiful film will make you think and be grateful for what you have; perhaps it will also bring back shameful childood memories of a time when you could have been a nicer, kinder child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful film, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most powerful and moving films I have ever seen. At different moments beautiful, horrifying, charming and funny. The little girl playing the main role is amazing. The young female Afghan (?) director says something more important than all the Hollywood types put together - although that's not probably a very surprising statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Human urge to learn, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Paul Morris "Unclemo" (Ventnor ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this little film immensely.Such an unusual subject and so brilliantly filmed.The classroom shots were touching in the extreme and it was as if there was no camera just you behind the little girl..
The destruction of the Buddha was quite shocking.
A film that makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD]
Buddha Collapsed Out Of Shame [DVD] by Hana Makhmalbaf (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £89.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews