Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars74
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2010
I thought the first film was excellent, which I caught on TV accidently whilst channel hoping, so bought both the original and this sequel on the strength of the first film. Although i think the film deals bravely with a subject matter that is very much in the public consciousness with the surge in youth violence, and it deals with the subject in a sensitive way as well as being very stylised. Unfortunately it failed to have the same impact the first film had. I think it's worth watching, but whereas I can say I could watch the first film over and over, this sequel I don't think I would want to see more than once. SOME of the actors are great including the guy who plays Moony, and I love Noel Clarke so there is an extra star in there just for him alone:)

In a nutshell - it's......... OK!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
Really enjoyed this film , I would recommend that you watch Kiddulthood first though, as it is a follow on from that film. 9/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 December 2010
The London tourist board probably weren't too happy with Adulthood or the "prequel", Kidulthood. London is portrayed as pretty much a poster-child for zero-tolerance policing, with unrestrained violent youth common on the streets. What makes this more unsettling is that the cast & crew interviews don't lead me to believe the cast were actually doing very much in the way of "acting" in either film. As with the first film, the script & direction are fine and the plot, if pretty predictable, hangs together without too much issue. It's a pretty straightforward "revenge" flick, though, and you will have seen it all before in a different setting.

3 stars, then, with the 3rd for technical merit alone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
Excellent follow up to Kidulthood. We see the difference six years make and the paths the characters from the first instalment take. Not usually a fan of the kind of music that accompanies the film but have to say that it does give the film and extra bounce to it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Six years after Sam Peel is released from jail for killing Trife, he realises that life is no easier on the outside than it was on the inside and he's forced to confront the people he hurt the most.

Some have moved on, others are stuck with the repercussions of his actions that night, but one thing's for certain - everyone has been forced to grow up.

Through his journey Sam struggles to deal with his sorrow and guilt and something else he didn't expect - those seeking revenge.

As he's pursued by a new generation of bad boys, Sam sets about trying to get the message across to his pursuers that they should stop the violence.

Much like Trife tried to tell him all those years ago.....

A worthy follow up to kidulthood, this could also have been called Sam's redemption, as he is now a shadow of the character he was in the first film. And this is why Clarkes film works so well, because you never know if Sam will crack and begin to be the person he once was. There were times when i thought he would go back to his ways, but he only commits violence in this to protect himself, not because of wrath.

It's well scripted, and well cast. If you are from the UK, you will know that the 'gangsta' accents, a lot of the cast use are spot on, and also very annoying, just like in real life.

The ending is a bit over the top, and Danny Dyer has no real reason to be in this film, apart from acting the geezer, but these are minor quibbles in an otherwise terrific story.

Looks like Clarke could be big.

He even references doctor who when he is on the bus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2008
Decent drama, well directed & acted. It's a world a million miles from me but it came across as an earnest portrayal of urban life in the Big Smoke.
A more mature film than Kidulthood, that isn't deliberateley trying to be shocking!
It's not excessiveley violent (certainly not like Green Street or Rise Of The Foot Soldier) although it has it's moments! A lot of very strong language, again not as liberal a use of the C word as the aforementioned movies. There are a few sex scenes, but nothing too strong.
The soundtrack is well suited for the movie, although it's not quite my genre.
Danny Dyer fans, take note, as his part is little more than a 5 minute cameo (although the DVD cover suggests a bit more??).
Interesting to see a couple of faces from Dr Who popping up, no doubt as a favour to Noel Clarke - look out for Nicholas Briggs, the voice behind The Daleks, in a very brief part, and also Rose Tyler's mum on a bus too! Rest assured, there is no actual connection to the scifi show itself!
Noel Clarke is assured both in front of and behind the camera, and shows great potential as a young director.

This isn't purely a film for the 16-25 market - it's strong, British based drama, that only briefly threatens to stray too heavily into Boyz N The Hood territory.
The optional, in picture video commentary is a good idea too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2008
What this film is great for is its sociological potency. It is important that the section of society that the movie deals with has a voice, and "Adulthood", like its predecessor "Kidulthood", both go to great lengths to give this (growing) section of society a voice.

Middle England cannot ignore movies like this. The youth portrayed in this film vary little to real life. The UK faces a major shortage in labour in the up and coming years - "Kidulthood" and "Adulthood" shows why. Expect immigration aplenty to plug the labour gaps, whilst these kids go around trying to assert just who is the real 'bad man'.

The UK is in a current state of malaise, it is in need of a shot-in-the-arm. What kind of shot is open to debate. "Adulthood", and its predecessor "Kidulthood" are both good starting points in trekking the answer.

In short then WATCH IT.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2008
6 years after the incidents of Kidulthood, Sam (Noel Clark) is released from prison a new man. He regrets what he does and wants to move on with his life, the only problem being is that some of the friends and family of Trife haven't forgotten. Since that dreadful night, everyone involved has been forced to do some growing up but some of those have grown up with the bitterness and anger boiling up inside them.

Jay (Adam Deacon), one of the closest friends of Trife is truly after revenge so he pays someone to kill Sam. Along the way, knowing that people are after him Sam seeks to not only find out who's trying to kill him but make amends for the lives he's destroyed.

This is a truly immensely real film, it doesn't hold back in showing you the violent lives of London's inner city youth. I never thought I'd root for the bad guy but seeing the power in Noels performance, playing a man who truly wants to end the violence it truly came through. Although the actors are playing kids in late teens to early twenties, I was surprised by the age of some of the actors especially Noel. Maybe it's just his acting power but with him being 33 I was genuinely surprised that I couldn't actually question the age of the character he was playing.

Anyway, enough of that. I'll just wrap it up with this. People will say that this is a negative view of inner city childhood and doesn't accurately portray the lives of such kids. Others will say it's possibly the most accurate depiction you're going to get in a nation wide movie. I would go with the latter, it's frighteningly realistic and somewhat unfortunate. Noel Clark is a truly talented man, not just as an actor but as a writer/director.

I would strongly recommend this to any film fan, fans of the original Kidulthood or just kids looking to learn a thing or two. In regards to tackling this type of culture, why not show this film in schools? It may not have the biggest impact but it would certainly show the repercussions of such behaviour.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I actually liked Kidulthood but this was just awful. Six years after killing Trife, Sam is released and for his own selfish reasons and being a victim in jail himself he tries to become a reformed man but his past keeps catching up with him.

I just don't like the whole idea of attempting to morph Sam into a sympathetic character who you're supposed to feel sorry for. He's a psychopathic thug who evidently has no remorse for his actions as is shown throughout the film. But other than that the film was flawed from so many other angles. There was one scene where Sam is trapped in a house surrounded by the police and manages to escape by running off on foot, talk about true to life realism. All in all a pointless sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2008
Sam (Clarke) is released from prison 6 years after he killed Trife. Now old faces are warning him that someone is going to hurt him and his mother.

Kidulthood powered itself to the media's attention with its strong and controversial look at a group of young youths in London and its sequel Adulthood continues the look at what is regarded at a stereotypical teenager.

Clarke stunned critics with his hard approach to real life Britain in his first film and how the general public react to seeing teenagers who wear a hoodie and swear every other word. Though Clarke's view of the stereotype is exaggerated he has hit the nail on the head with the behaviour of modern teens. The way teens treat adults and how teens are so inconsiderate of others is a very accurate portrayal of the typical teenager and the film creates that hard realism by using such figures.

Criminals, druggies, and thugs are all in these two films and give viewers a good look at what British teenage life is like.

In context of the last film, Sam's return was always going to spark anger with friends of Trife's and Clarke has grabbed the concepts of revenge and human emotion and twisted the ordinary revenge into powerful shock.

Adulthood is a coming of age drama as we see characters from Kidulthood grown up with their own lives at university or with their family. Seeing the change in characters makes the viewer feel associated with the story as the realism behind the change in circumstances is an occurrence that happens with everyone.

The plot uses issues of loyalty, hatred and coming of age to get the point of realism across to the audience. The strong focusing upon such issues fulfils the drama genre and creates that ultimate hard real life sad feeling. The plot is consistent but the dialogue feels very repetitive and is often hard to comprehend with the constant use of slang. The performances and facial reactions are enough to make the issues understandable, in particular Clarke who you can empathize with.

There are a few predictable and repetitive moments but there is a surprise around every other corner which makes this enjoyable.

Clarke's direction is the best part of this film. Sharp and fast, Clarke has created one of the finest directed British films to date with appropriate use of high and low angled shots in the context. The splitting screen likewise is a great technique, a unique and diverse approach that feels like an observation of the teenager's lives.

Adulthood is a true sequel, strong and realistic with plenty in store to shock and excite.

8/10
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)