Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


190 of 197 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The saga the father-in-law's soggy sock.
If you've already seen Michael McIntyre's 'Live at the Apollo', and watched him on various panel comedy shows then you'll be pleased to hear that his "Live and Laughing" tour isn't a re-working of his older material, although some of it does seem to be cropping up when he makes appearances on TV - but that's to be expected.

Yes there are a couple of lines which...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh
This is a good DVD for a first time viewing purposes.
Though his more recent DVD is much better then this.

If your a fan i recommend because it is different to his new one but for those just looking for a good 'one off' DVD go for his more recent work
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Mr. Cd Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

190 of 197 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The saga the father-in-law's soggy sock., 5 Nov 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
If you've already seen Michael McIntyre's 'Live at the Apollo', and watched him on various panel comedy shows then you'll be pleased to hear that his "Live and Laughing" tour isn't a re-working of his older material, although some of it does seem to be cropping up when he makes appearances on TV - but that's to be expected.

Yes there are a couple of lines which you may have seen practised on Mock the Week or something like that, but you watch this and feel that you're getting good value for money. McIntyre takes inspiration from his home life for much of the show, from his seemingly anti-Semitic baby, to booking a holiday, to the 'man drawer' (where the old batteries, keys to the old house, and the old mobile phones live) and this insight into his life makes him more endearing.

In a nutshell: I really enjoyed watching this tour live (at Sheffield) and my wife laughed so much that she was hurting. I initially gave this 4 stars, but in retrospect I think it deserves 5. The Live at the Apollo performance which is included on this DVD contains his legendary 'man getting his head stuck in the tube train doors' routine which always has me in stitches no matter how many times I watch it. This is a brilliant stand up performance, a lot of creative imagination has gone into it, and I do not doubt that you will laugh until you have tears.

Many stand-up DVDs contain nothing you haven't seen performed before, but the main feature is pretty much all new material, and the Live at the Apollo routine is effectively his 'best of the rest' - and it's all good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comedy masterpiece, 19 Nov 2008
By 
B. Franklin "Fronk" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
after becoming a huge fan of his after his performances on live at the apollo, mock the week, the prince's birthday bash etc, i could not wait for this dvd, and it didnt disappoint. A superb performance with some hilarious sketches, such as his young son "adolf", breakfast buffets and farm traffic.
This dvd also includes his live at the apollo performance, which is worth a tenner in itself. Both performances are superb, and i cant wait for his next tour, in which i will surely be getting tickets for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking up and coming stand up, 10 Nov 2008
By 
An avid reader (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
You're probably only familiar with McIntyre from his regular appearances on shows such as 'Mock the Week', he could be the break through comedian of 2009 - he's that good.

Check out his 'Live at the Appollo' sketches on his MySpace page if you want a preview of what this DVD has in store for you.

It's obervational comedy at it's best.

This DVD's the first thing on my Christmas list, and I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A National Treasure!, 29 Nov 2008
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
Michael McIntyre is one of Britain's best comedians and will definitely stand 'the test of time'. This DVD is a testament to his comedy genius. If you want to ache with laughter - buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The live version, 19 Sep 2008
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see Michael McIntyre at The Place in Shropshire where, at the end, he informed us he was practising his set ready to film his DVD the next day. If it has half the act he gave, it is well worth the money, he had me in stitches the whole night! From tractors to his newborn son he covers it all. The second half is a little more risqué, and you might want to make the children leave the room to avoid the swearing but on the whole another cracking performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Light Through Old Windows, 26 Nov 2008
By 
John Wilfers (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
Stand-up comedians have gotten a bit lazy in recent years. They seem to have moved away from more personal material and instead relied on taking cheap shots at easy targets like George W. Bush. Now, just as Bush is leaving the White House, comes a comedian who has a refreshing back-to-basics take on things.

His name is Michael McIntyre and his real gift is to find new things to say about the banalities of modern life, a subject you would imagine had been done to death years ago.

Like the best ideas, the things he says are so obvious that you wonder why nobody else thought of them as a subject for humour before, but McIntyre did and he got it out there. Everyone can relate to the things he says and his self-confidence means that you never doubt him or his material. He manages the difficult trick of being consistently laugh-out-loud funny and, like all talented people, he makes something really difficult look very easy indeed.

With Billy Connolly apparently not putting out a new DVD this Christmas, he has left the field clear for a newcomer like Michael McIntyre to steal his crown as the funniest man around. Hail to the Chief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, 22 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
I pre-ordered this DVD weeks ago, such was my excitement, and I was in no way disappointed. From start to end I had tears rolling down my cheeks from my constant laughter. I love him on Mock The Week, I've watched clips of him at The Comedy Store on the internet (highly recommended) and knew I had to get this. There is hardly any recycled material (as far as I'm aware) from TV shows he's been on, or other stand-up of his that I've seen, however I was almost disappointed not to see the "Walking bus" routine repeated! Definitely the break-through comedian of this year in my opinion. I hope people realise just how funny this guy is. Incredible observatory humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He will have you in stitches!, 12 Oct 2008
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the comedian live at Hammersmith Apollo when they were actually filming for the DVD, it will be worth every penny. He had us laughing so hard it hurt! A true genius of observational humour - an ideal watch for the whole family. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definate must have, 18 Nov 2008
By 
C. Jackson "Gspeed11" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
We bought this having watched him on the Princes 60th Birthday bash....we were not disapointed. We were crying with laughing...the man drawer is just sooooo funny.
Would highly recommend to anyone who just loves laughing at everyday situations...Its a must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great observational humour, 2 Jan 2009
By 
purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] (DVD)
If you didn't get this for Christmas get it now - at 7 it's an absolute bargain as Live at the Apollo is thrown in too and it makes good family watching.

Michael McIntyre does observational humour on day to day life with short surreal flights of fancy. He's much less surreal than Eddie Izzard but similar in terms of observational humour. So we have the gender humour - what is in the man drawer and what is in the attic that men love so much? children's first words and the one-up-man-ship around them....the banal made funny.

He delivered a long set with great energy, pacing the stage throughout. He has an infectious smile and humour and uses his body in his comedy. I see here that some reviewees have found it all too middle class...well I guess I'm his target demographic....I find him very funny indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa0071b0)

This product

Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD]
Michael McIntyre - Live & Laughing [DVD] by Michael Mcintyre (DVD - 2008)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews