Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "five star minus" performance
Any reasonably decent performance of Bohéme will be so emotionally overwhelming that it will be very hard to be objective about it. But what might work well in the theatre may not seem to be quite so successful after repeated viewings on DVD. So it is perhaps right to pick up on one or two shortcomings, which are relatively minor when compared with the otherwise...
Published on 15 Dec 2009 by martin jones

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars La Boheme with Angela Gheorgghiu.
Delvery and packing up to Amazon's usual high standard. Singing up with the best. Unfortunately, the very pronounced colour fringing on the DVD ruined my enjoyment of it. This was a shame because both principals were superb and Marcello and Musetta were sung and played equally well. The Metropolitan Orchestra was, well, the Metropolitan Orchestra. What more can...
Published 16 months ago by E. Hulme


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gem for Puccini Lovers, 4 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Although I already owned La Boheme on DVD I bought this production after partially recording it from Sky Arts and missing "Che gelida manina" aria. It's a wonderful production with extra scenes behind the stage that makes you feel even better than being in the audience. As it was filmed (and broadcast) in HD the details are very sharp when watched on a Blu Ray DVD player. In fact you can see both perspiration in the artists and small defects in their make-up. You would not notice this if you were in the audience. It seems to me that now with HD becoming the norm production teams are going to have to make more effort in the make-up department. All of a sudden people look more as they really are rather than they would want us to see them.
The singing and costumes are superb as only the Met can afford to produce .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars La Boheme with Angela Gheorgghiu., 27 April 2013
By 
E. Hulme - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Delvery and packing up to Amazon's usual high standard. Singing up with the best. Unfortunately, the very pronounced colour fringing on the DVD ruined my enjoyment of it. This was a shame because both principals were superb and Marcello and Musetta were sung and played equally well. The Metropolitan Orchestra was, well, the Metropolitan Orchestra. What more can anyone say than that.
Shame the poor picture and the inclusion of the between acts live chat and interviews detracted so much from it all.
Eric Hulme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puccini - La Boheme., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I am now converted to Puccini's Opera's, Such drama and heart rendering emotions and I just had to buy the DVD of Puccini's La Boheme. Both Puccini's 'Tosca' and La 'Boheme' DVD's contain a comprhensive booklet so that one can follow the story in english.
Beautifull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This version of La Boheme is as good as the last one which broke, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
The protagonists are a bit rougher-looking but maybe that is not a bad thing. The quality of the voices is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Present for Parents, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought for my wifes parents who like this stuff!! The feed back we have had is not so good as they say there is too much of the behind the scenes action which spoils the whole thing and makes the DVD too long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars La Bohéme, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Alex Balmforth "Alex B" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
As for starving aesthetes the principals could all benefitted by diets. At times there appeared to be more extras on stage than audience. Although if you closed your eyes, the singing and orchestra were sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008], 5 May 2009
By 
Mr. D. M. Harris (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I have this on VHS and wanted to update to DVD this was a bargain cheapest i could find i always shop around, but again a bargain and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your money, 11 July 2009
By 
D. E. Whitcombe "dewi" (Dalbeattie,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Dont waste your money buying this disc unless you can put up with over acting, watching the scene change from behind the curtains at the end of the acts and everybody taking their places, Rene Fleming conducting interviews between acts. If you think you must buy it fast forward to last 10 minutes thats about all thats worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puccini - La Boheme [The Metropolitan Opera HD Live 2008] [DVD]
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews