Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job
I'd like to say this was a nice little toastie machine but that wouldn't be accurate. This thing is huge. I made the mistake of reading four slice as four in total and not four sandwiches, so this was quite a surprise when it arrived. Not to worry though, it just means more toastie for me. The machine heats up quickly and toasts evenly. It generally seals the bread well...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by LiteraTec

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars breville vst005
this breville sandwitch toaster does the job but of poor quality,catch flimsy,very clumbersome,not the quality I would expect of Breville,would not recommend,got to be better on market for the price.Too costly to return,put up with it learn by my mistake.
Published on 16 Mar 2011 by Mr. B. P. Hale


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most appreciated christmas present, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Arrived quickly in time for xmas although I left it rather late. Ideal for a big family and greatly appreciated by my daughter and her large family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another very good appliance from breville, 15 Jan 2010
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
great toastie maker. can put anything between the bread but dont try something like soup. normally done in about 10mins or less. no removable plates, but surface is easy-clean and is very easy to just wipe a cloth over the plates once its cooled down.

dont overload it, you'll know when you have because it will be hard to close the top. if you can press it shut then fine, but if you have to exert yourself to shut it then take some stuff out from the filling. they can snap or bend at the handle if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster, 5 Feb 2010
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
This toaster seems under powered. does nod crisp up the toastie, and is not easy clean, if you use cheese it leaks through where the toastie is cut. it also gets stuck in the riges on on the plastic surface.. FAr from great, am considering buying something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Breville VST005 4 Sandwich Toaster, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Barker (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
First off, I am astounded at the positive reviews that have been written for this 7 5*'s? Seriously? What were you using to make your toasted sandwiches before, an iron?!

The thing is huge - which you'd expect for a 4xs sandwich toaster. IT stands up out of the way if needed, looks OK. That's about it for the positives, hence the 1*. IF I could get away with giving it 0 though, I would have.

Someone said you can really fill it with lots of fillings. This is true, you absolutely can, but don't expect any of the filling to still be in the damn thing when it's done.
There's no auto-timer. I don't mind this, however when the green light goes on the signify it's done, don't expect the toastie to look or feel any different to the bread you put in there. Actually hang on a second, here's the beauty of the Breville VST005 4 Sandwich Toaster. Not only does it not seal your bread, but your bread comes out soggy. No, you read right - soggy. What kind of toastie maker is that? If you want anything vaguely edible you have to leave it on your plate for a good 5minutes for it to even resemble any form of 'toasted bread', and I use that term very loosely.

All in all I'd have had better value for money if I'd simply set fire to my money. I couldn't give this thing away if I tried. If I wanted to eat soggy toastie, I'd put a piece of wet bread in the microwave and put it on full power for a minute. Not only would it retain its filling, it'd probably taste a hell of a lot better too. Thing is, I don't, which is why I bought the Breville VST005 4 Sandwich Toaster in the first place.

If you're thinking of buying this sandwich toaster, my simple advice would be "don't"..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good quality, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Toastie maker works well, but the catch on the front holding it together has broken already after just 3 mornings of use. Very dissappointed with the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How can anyone give this 5 stars?, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Husband threw out my brilliant (but manky) ancient Rima Grill when we got a new kitchen 7 years ago and I have been searching for a decent toasted sandwich maker since.
First tried a huge Foreman Grill which squashed all the filling out, so all the cheese melted and ran into the drip tray (but it's ok for grilling hamburgers/chicken breasts).
I foolishly chose to believe the good reviews for this toasted sandwich maker but it's a dreadful machine.
Bread goes hard like cardboard rather than toast and the filling completely runs out, even though I used very little cheese and did not over-fill. The escaped cheese doesn't even go crispy as it did in my old Rima
Just as bad as the Foreman grill for toasties but worse in that it has a smaller surface so the cheese pours straight out around the outsides, and as the machine is flat rather than tilted, the filling leaks everywhere rather than downwards, making it (and the work-surface) even more of a pain to clean.
I have given it 2 stars rather than one because it is non-stick and does get hot, so may be a bit better for solid fillings like a toasted ham sandwich, but it's a disaster for cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toaster, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Stephen Wright (Castleford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Great fun to be had making toasties with this product. Easy to clean so all you need is bread, cheese and whatever else takes your imagination to create perfect toasties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
NICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too big except for a family, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VST005 Stainless Steel 4 Slice Sandwich Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Mistakenly bought instead of a 2 sandwich capacity. Reminiscent of a trouser press, it is too big & took up a lot of space on the kitchen counter. Does stand on its side, so could be stored in cupboard with high shelf or under stairs, but really too big for one or even two people. I returned mine unused & am now looking for a smaller version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews