Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh-So-Funny
This is an incredibly funny teenage girls film and would make an ideal present.

Poppy Moore (Emma Roberts) is a spoilt brat living in the sunny States with her father and sister, and the day her dads girlfriend is due to move in, she pulls one stunt to many and ends up at a boarding school in rainy England. Poppy thinks that it is living hell and tries...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by A.Teenager

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful!
As a fan of chick flicks and their happy endings, I found this film very very fake. It's the typical American stereotype of British people with posh accents. Although some people obviously like this film, others (like myself) will feel like it is a waste of time and money. I urge people to rent before they buy.
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by A. King


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh-So-Funny, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
This is an incredibly funny teenage girls film and would make an ideal present.

Poppy Moore (Emma Roberts) is a spoilt brat living in the sunny States with her father and sister, and the day her dads girlfriend is due to move in, she pulls one stunt to many and ends up at a boarding school in rainy England. Poppy thinks that it is living hell and tries desperatly to get herself expelled and this results in some very funny and imaginative senarios that Poppy and her new found friends find themselves un.

Would definitely buy as a gift for a teenage girl- very funny 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise -not just another teen movie., 25 July 2010
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. I braced myself to watch another teen movie but I was nicely surprised and touched by the highly emotional journey to self discovery that the lead character made. Here was a teenager on the rampage, 'a rebel without a cause' because of the loss of her mum at such a tender age, in her own words she said she had a hole in her heart and her cure for that was bad company and rebellion of the worst kind; but then her father decided that enough was enough and sent her to a boarding school in England. She was hell bent on rebelling there and refused to fit in, and was plotting ways and means to be expelled from the school, but humanity, love and caring from her roommates and the principal's son got to her and gradually her thinking and behaviour began to change. Little did she know that this was the school her mum attended and that they both had something in common, something she discovered when she captained the sports team to victory. Will she still want to be expelled or will she behave and allow the goodness inside her to outshine all the sadness and grief that had marred her life since her mother died. She did discover herself and was able to distinguish real friends who cared about her from fair-weather friends. I like the story very much and the acting did not disappoint.

There was a lot to learn as a parent watching this movie because it highlighted beautifully the communication gap that often exists between parents and their children, we have to engage young people more in dialogue to find out why they think it is cool to rebel. No one really tried to communicate to her, except the Principal who was her mother's friend and wanted to help her. I guess the father was at the end of his tether, maybe the Dad could have engaged her in discussions to understand why she was acting up, but I am all too aware of how difficult this can be especially when the teenager sees the adult as the problem and the target for her rebellion. It was beautifully resolved too, I guess both were hurting from their loss and could have shared their grief but hey the movie was great and a lot of life lessons learned.

Having Natasha Richardson starring in it amongst other stars like Nick Frost, Emma Roberts ,Nick Moore etc was an added bonus. I love Natasha Richardson and as always she lit up the screen. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildly entertaining!, 13 Sep 2008
By 
xXx Lauren xXx (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful girly film in the same league as 'The Princess Diaries'. The culture clash between the superficial American Poppy and the well-mannered British girls is hilariously well acted throughout, with the typical English and American stereotypes played brilliantly. The whole cast bring a huge amount of humour to the plot, whilst underneath everything you can see that the film is a celebration of friendship, acceptance and finding yourself. A must see movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film Review, 8 April 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
I'd really recommend this film to any girl that is 12+ because of the language. I really love this film about a spoilt girl from America who makes friends in the most unlikely places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film, 5 Feb 2010
By 
L. Kay (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
Both my 8 year old daughter & I loved this film. It's like another St Trinians but better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whoa it's good!, 21 Dec 2008
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah, this film is really good! It's all about an american girl who was cheeky to her dad so he sent her to an english school, which she thought was really posh, because she was spoilt in america and had, like, all she wanted, for e.g a phone (that she wasn't allowed at certain times at her new english school). Parts of the film are funny, and also a bit scary/sad at certain parts. She always gets told off by the teachers at first, but by the end she had learnt not to be so rude and spoilt.

I would recommend this loads!!!!!! The first time I saw this was at the cinema with my friends, and I really enjoyed it and also wouldn't mind seeing it again...............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Child, 10 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
A typical American teen, meets a preppy boarding school in England after pushing her father to the extremes. As Poppy finds her feet in England, she has to make friends and in th eprocess falls in love. All she wants to do is go home and hang out. Having got the headmistresses son (Alex Pettyfer)in her eyes and the girls support, will Poppy ever find true happiness??? An entertaining film that girls will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute romantic-comedy without the heart-throb!!!, 16 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
Wild Child is a cute, quirky teenage comedy along the same lines as The Princess Diaries and A Cinderella Story.

Poppy Moore is a spoilt rich kid living the high life in America. After one stunt too many her exasperated father is forced to send her to a strict English boarding school in the hope of straightening her out. Naturally Poppy rebels against the regime as she struggles to find a way to get herself expelled, leading to a number of mildly funny scerarios. After numerous failed attempts the ultimate route to expulsion appears to lie in seducing the headmistress's son: Freddie. But as the time of her expulsion draws ever closer and Poppy starts to settle in and make friends will she really want to leave at all?

Undoubtedly the story is not what anyone would call original. There are countless teenage films following the exact same formula. What makes Wild Child work however is it's crafty script full of reasonably funny one-liners as the cultural differences between the English and the Americans are polarised to extremity. The acting throughout is very strong with special mention to be given to leading lady Emma Roberts, who manages to keep us glued the whole way through making a very smooth transition from precocious brat to lovable friend. Do I predict a future star in the making? Her love interest Freddie is possibly the film's weakest link and is mainly the reason this film loses a star. Not only does he look too old to be interested in petite Emma Roberts his charisma is not portrayed very well on screen. Perhaps this was due to an alarming lack of screen time or a poorly written script for his scenes. Either way he fails to make the cut as a teenage heart-throb.

Classy outfits, catchy tunes and lots of physical comedy rise this movie from the gutter it could so easily have fallen into.
I would recommend this movie for any teenage girls. This is the perfect movie for a girly night-in or a mother-daughter evening. Younger kids would equally enjoy it alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you need to escape it's for you!, 15 Oct 2008
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it and you will too if you take it as it comes!! Nothing serious about it, very well acted, and naturally the hottest british actor of the moment is excellent in it! The best thing about this is the american british clash and love hate relationship!! As many british sterotypes as there are american ones!
Would make anyone's Christmas Holidays brighter!!
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!! I recommend hands down lol
Go on have a laugh this Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! A must have!, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Wild Child [DVD] (DVD)
This is brilliant! I'm 17! and i love it! defo a must have. this is probably aimed at 14 to 16 but heeyyyyyyyyyy! It is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Child [DVD]
Wild Child [DVD] by Nick Moore (DVD)
6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews