Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vice Vice Baby!
Miami Vice is written and directed by Michael Mann. It stars Colin Farrell, Jamie Foxx, Gong Li and Luis Tosar. Music is scored by John Murphy and Klaus Badelt and cinematography by Dion Beebe. An adaptation from the TV series of the same name in the 1980s, the film sees Vice Cops Sonny Crockett (Farrell) and Ricardo Tubbs (Foxx) go undercover to try and smash a narcotics...
Published on 30 Aug. 2012 by Spike Owen

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Miami Vice emerges as a decent grown-up thriller despite it's flaws.
I'm a huge fan of Michael Mann, Collateral and Heat are brilliant and this unfortunately doesn't live up to those two. Having said that it's a tense and scarily realistic film. I mean, theres no way cop life is like how it's portrayed in films like Bad Boys and the Rush Hour series.

Foxx and Farrell are solid as the focused partners, although it would have...
Published on 12 Oct. 2007 by G. McFarlane

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vice Vice Baby!, 30 Aug. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Miami Vice is written and directed by Michael Mann. It stars Colin Farrell, Jamie Foxx, Gong Li and Luis Tosar. Music is scored by John Murphy and Klaus Badelt and cinematography by Dion Beebe. An adaptation from the TV series of the same name in the 1980s, the film sees Vice Cops Sonny Crockett (Farrell) and Ricardo Tubbs (Foxx) go undercover to try and smash a narcotics smuggling ring.

Is this Michael Mann's most divisive film? Perhaps? What we do know is that it ostracised many fans of the TV series it was born out of, whilst simultaneously it flummoxed the casual cops and robbers movie fans who were looking for a Bad Boys type extravaganza. One thing for sure, Mann did it his way and refused to cop out and take any easy option, if he was going to adapt from the TV show he helped make a big success, he was going to put a different spin on it. He was after all a different artist to the producer bloke he was back in the mid to late 1980s, really anyone familiar with his work should have expected a complex, character driven picture with intricacies stitched into the narrative. And so it proved. Gone are the bright colours, pop culture funnies and OTT action sequences so linked forever to Messrs Johnson and Thomas. In is brooding, neo-noir characterisations and a darker colour palette.

In truth the plot is simplicity supreme, but the myriad of characters built into the plot is one of the things that makes Miami Vice fascinating. Elsewhere the visuals carry the Mann hallmarks (nobody does night city scapes like him), the filming techniques stylish and the director crowns his story with a stupendous showdown. Coldness of atmosphere is very much favoured by Mann, danger lurks everywhere for Crockett and Tubbs, and undeniably we the audience feel that peril too. But it doesn't all work. The pacing, oddly for a Mann film, is choppy, momentum is lost at critical times, and perversely, by keeping Crocket and Tubbs so deep and focused (they barely interact with each other to any great degree of bondinghood), the audience doesn't really have chance to identify with them. The romantic thread between Crockett and Isabella (Li) doesn't really help the flow of the piece either, especially since Li looks and sounds uncomfortable with much of the dialogue.

Yet for all its evident problems, it's a film that pays bigger dividends on revisits, especially if you happen to be a Michael Mann fan any way. Once viewed and digested as to what type of film it is, further viewings become more educational. We can't suck out the exposition and the languid passages still grate on the nerves, but the craft is quality and Miami Vice is always sly, sexy and savvy. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In defence of Miami Vice, 11 Feb. 2011
I feel I must speak up for MV. Okay, the plot is a bit OTT and FOXX and FARRELL are lignious but it has some great features. The music is fantastic. The cinematography is fabulous: the plane flying over the rain forest and the amazing seascape on route from Florida to Havana in a racing boat is breathtaking. Yes, some of the violence is gratuitous but as action movies go it's exciting and dynamic and it feels very expensive and high quality. Its definitely worth watching and you'll be humming the various melodies for years to come, 'One of these mornings, it won't be very long, you'll look out for me, and I'll be gone, I'll be gone....!' JP;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Mann film, 9 Mar. 2008
This is an outstanding movie, regardless of whether it's a remake, or resources original material, or is related to the 1980s tv show in any way. Michael Mann is an outstanding director fusing European art tradition with a blue collar contemporary command of thriller making. This is a very literate film and many of the reviews on Amazon are obviously by people unable to digest the attention to detail that went into this film.

The film is carefully textured, shot and constructed. The characters speak through performance and the subtleties of dialogue rather than simplistic action.

This is a film for anyone who wants to be enveloped in a three dimensional world of contemporary Miami told through the excitement and energy of crime and people who live outside normal rules (the feature that unites both the cops and the villains).

See it and be prepared to be carried beyond normal thriller story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite its flaws, I love this, 11 Feb. 2011
Okay, so this film has nothing in common with the television series.
Yes, it should have been released with a different title.

When I first saw Miami Vice, I too was disappointed with its lack of connection to the original series, but upon repeated viewings - this film really rewards.

In order to watch the full version of the film, and enjoy Mann's commentary, I bought the region one version.
The director's cut is far superior and I really hope it gets released in the uk at some point.

As far as the film is concerned, its one flaw is that it is too realistic. Yes, the people in real life do talk with that kind of dialogue - but this is supposed to be a movie, and not a documentary. At times, Tubbs speaks in dialect that only a cop with twenty-five years on the job would understand. In this respect, Mann's excellent research has been taken a little too far. I hope, next time out, he gets the balance right between realism and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Specifications, 24 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Miami Vice [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great movie + a perfect soundtrack.

Audio:
DTS-HD 5.1: English
DTS Surround 5.1: French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese

Subtitles:
French, Italian, Geraman, Spanish, Janpanese, Korean, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese, Mandarin

EAN 5050582577044
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live now, life is short, time is luck..., 23 Nov. 2009
By 
bohobozo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Miami Vice [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am not a big fan of TV.
So the TV series passed me by, although I believe it has quite a following, so I approached this movie on the strength of Mr. Mann's previous work - an impeccible portfolio.
Whatever, however, Iunderstand this work has nothing to do with the TV series, other than it's title, location, the names of the two lead characters and Michael Mann's history.
Now,I believe that this movie would have fared much, much better at the box office and with its critics if it had gone out under a different banner - title.
Released, unburdened from expectation, untainted by nostalgia, free of cult following of the small screen.
However, whatever, I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed this movie, it improves with each repeat viewing and I watch over and over.
For me there is nothing that galls.
The plot, sub-plots and chapters are seamless.
The editing, screenplay, dialogue and cinematography are flawless the acting superb.
Farrell and Foxx make their roles - a kind of professionally attached emotionally detatched partnership - and Gong Li and John Ortiz are simply outstanding.
A graphic movie, dark, brooding,- with suspense and violence underscoring every scene.
Hard-boiled, brutal and breath-taking.
You can feel the rank heat and humidity.
Now I am probably going aggravate some readers - curl their toes, having them scream 'NO!NO!NO!' but for me this movie is right up there with 'Heat' and 'Collateral'.
This is a film of true quality - one of the best.
This is big screen entertainment.
The soundtrack, too, is compiled with the same deft touch,consumate skill as the movie - and is dank and dirty.
It rocks.
I am on my fourth copy - I've given three different friends on seperate occassions one each - because on listening they've asked - demanded a copy.
It's addictive - with or without the movie.
Both soundtrack and movie are an absolute delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arresting!, 17 April 2014
By 
KL (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many upon first viewing of this film, I left the theatre feeling a little disappointed and confused at what I just watched. I didn't really "get it"..

Being a huge fan of director Michael Mann's work and overall style, my expectations were pretty high, given this was his first major 'crime' movie since the epic "Heat" (with the exception of his previous film 'Collateral'). However I remembered how I felt when I first saw "Heat" for the first time, I felt it slow, overlong and pretty tedious.. today I find it an incredible piece of work, ahead of its time and is one of my all time favourite films. Given this, I stuck with "Miami Vice" and it paid off... Even when watching again on DVD, I remembered feeling a little empty, the same way when viewing for the first time at the cinema, however did find other parts of the film more enjoyable second time around.. Then the blu ray came out.... !

Wow, perhaps I am giving the blu ray edition more credit than it deserves, but upon the third viewing I thoroughly enjoyed this movie all the way through. The passage of time in not seen it for quite a while probably added to my enjoyment as I could watch this again with a fresher view. The picture quality is excellent, the sound, almost deafening and the tweaks and scene additions made by Mann, in my view, certainly add alot more clarity and flavour to the narrative and overall flow of the film. This is a relatively long movie (about 2h 15m) however 10mins into it, I was transported into Mann's gritty Miami world (a shade wearing Horatio Cain is nowhere to be seen btw) and stayed for its duration. Very, very entertaining..

Whether you are a fan of Michael Mann's work or looking for a good all round action/thriller, this is arresting stuff... sincerely glad I stuck with it ! Get the blu ray !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Mann misfire?, 12 Nov. 2010
By 
I. R. Barnes "*technobabble*" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miami Vice [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Like he did with his own LA Takedown (which became Heat) director Michael Mann re-invents his hit TV show from the 80's with this big budget movie version.

Upon its release it disappointed most audiences, who were probably half expecting pastel coloured suits and a Jan Hammer soundtrack, but Mann brings the idea up to date with a very realistic portrayal of undercover police work.

As usual Mann's style is very slick and bristling with energy, a simple scene of dialogue for example has a lightning storm flashing in the distance! The music is superb once again and the story is just complex enough without falling over into the abyss of incomprehensibility! Ok so it's probably longer than it needs to be and the film just cries out for a really cool car chase, but there are some great moments with the Go-Fast speedboats and of course a typical Mann-style climactic shootout!

Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx play Crockett and Tubbs respectively but for me their characters are rather un-engaging and don't have any personality whatsoever, a far cry from Don Johnson and Philip Michael Thomas whose 'buddy' relationship was always an enjoyable aspect of the TV series. This is the biggest fundamental flaw with the film, even DeNiro's and Pacino's characters from Heat had more of a friendship than Crockett and Tubbs do in this movie and they were on opposite sides of the law! This Crockett and Tubbs hardly say a word to each other throughout the entire film! They're just too cold and lifeless to really care about.

Granted you would have to be a certain type of person to do the type of undercover work that Crockett and Tubbs do and maybe the characters are intentionally the way they are but if this is the case then Mann doesn't do a particularly good job at getting this explanation across in the film.

In the end imagining a slice of chocolate cake, that looks and smells fantastic, but upon eating has no taste at all, wouldn't be that far off the feeling of disappointment you feel when you watch Miami Vice! However it is still a brilliant film, even if it does occasionally misfire and if it's any consolation the version presented here on Blu-ray is far better than the Director's Cut which is the only version available in the States!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Miami Vice emerges as a decent grown-up thriller despite it's flaws., 12 Oct. 2007
By 
G. McFarlane "gav_mcf" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of Michael Mann, Collateral and Heat are brilliant and this unfortunately doesn't live up to those two. Having said that it's a tense and scarily realistic film. I mean, theres no way cop life is like how it's portrayed in films like Bad Boys and the Rush Hour series.

Foxx and Farrell are solid as the focused partners, although it would have better to see more interaction between the two, they barely say two words to each other the whole film. The acting overall is very good, with Gong Li and Naomie Harris being the best, it is perhaps ironic that the female characters stand out, since Vice is very much considered a 'guy' movie.

Theres no doubt the main feature of Mann is his visual style. The night time atmosphere of Collateral is brilliant and it is the same here, providing plenty of great cityscapes and night shots. The soundtrack is also brilliant and bonds with the movie well, the highlight being the excellent "Auto Rock" by Mogwai thumping in the emotional finale.

I think the storyline is a weak point in Miami Vice and could have been stronger. I didn't have too much of an idea of what was going on half the time, but this again is part of the realistic cop scenario and avoids having an elaborate plot. I like the opening sequence when you're thrown straight into a heavy-hitting club scene, not sure whats happening and given no clues.

I admit Mann's thriller will not be for everyone and like most of his films it may take multiple viewings to take everything in. Also if you're looking for a movie with non-stop action definitely avoid this. However, Vice is worth the price and if you want a grown-up, intelligent, realistic thriller I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Grasping for greatness, but failing, 12 Sept. 2007
By 
m "macey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
On paper this promises a lot - Mann has been on great form in recent years (Insider, Collateral etc) plus Farrell seems to be waiting for that one big successful role that will propel him into mega-stardom.

But it's a let down. Here are my main complaints (!)...

1. An opening sequence which doesn't really explain things too well and the beginnings of a story there which is simply abandoned after those first few minutes
2. Practically no rapport or sense of friendship between the two lead male roles
3. A ridiculous piece of unbelievable coincidence towards the end whereby (small spoiler alert) the police locate the kidnapped female officer - the guy might as well have looked into the camera, winked and said "Oh, I know where she'll be..."
4. The romance story ends up being the most meaningful thread of the tale - did they intend this? I don't think they did, nice though that element was.
5. Dialogue barely audible at some points, and other times characters using terminology which I guess is only understandable if you are a drug dealer or a policeman
6. Too much reliance on great visuals, not enough emphasis on good story.

This last point seems to be the key to me. Mann's films have become more (on the surface at least) visually complicated lately - this one doesn't even have any opening credits, it just chucks you in - but I think that only works with a very strong story and really big performances. Something like HEAT is almost endlessly watch-able mainly because the story is so compelling and the performances so strong, Collateral too - although that has a simpler plot.

As mentioned, the little romance story is a lovely little surprise at the heart of the film - I've never seen the actress before, but she was great, and so was Farrell, but the main story is just too loose, sprawly and to be honest, uninvolving. Like the man says: if it `ain't life and death, we don't care. Now, OK it IS life and death at some points in this film, but you see what I'm getting at - it needs to be a on a grander scale.

But Mann is determined to weave every film into a giant quilt of a drama with lots of night shots and moody dialogue and bit characters who come and go and sub-plots galore. Sometimes, like HEAT, you can't get enough and you want to wrap that quilt around you for the whole film. Here, like waking up fuzzy in the middle of the night, I was struggling to get out from under the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Region Free Blu-ray Sale opens new browser window
  www.bombayelectronics.com/   -   Coupon Code: BARGAINOFFERS Play all zones A, B, C & DVDs 0-9
     Region Free Bluray opens new browser window
  www.blu-raymultiregion.com/   -   All Zone Code Free 3 Year Warranty. Blu-ray Region (A B C), DVD (1 - 8)

This product

Miami Vice [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Miami Vice [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Michael Mann (Blu-ray - 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Collateral (Special Edition) [Blu-ray] [2004]
Collateral (Special Edition) [Blu-ray] [2004] by Tom Cruise (Blu-ray - 2010)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (144)   
Buy new£7.10
In stock

Public Enemies [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Public Enemies [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Johnny Depp (Blu-ray - 2009)
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (136)   
Buy new£5.00
In stock

Miami Vice - The Complete Collection (Slimline Packaging) [DVD] [1984]
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (66)   
Buy new£41.07
In stock