Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have upgrade to Blu-ray
Having bought a blu-ray player, I'd decided to only buy new films on the format and not upgrade my old DVDs unless the movie in question was one of my all-time favourites.. I have to say Casino fits that criteria. Scorcese and De Niro at their best! The blu-ray picture is sharp and colourful - it tends to show up the grain of the source print, compared to a modern...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Anorakus

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Very Decent Martin Scorsese Mobster Drama Gets Lazy, Flawed, Treatment for this Blu-ray Issue
'Casino' is a long, but nonetheless engrossing, mobster/gambling film from the long-standing and talented director/writer Martin Scorsese which, ignoring the disc-format it exists on (Blu-ray for this review), would get 5 stars from me. Amongst his more recent work, this film dates from 1995, it remains the last time that both Robert De Niro and Jo Pesci starred in one of...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by Mr. Laurence Williams


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have upgrade to Blu-ray, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casino [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having bought a blu-ray player, I'd decided to only buy new films on the format and not upgrade my old DVDs unless the movie in question was one of my all-time favourites.. I have to say Casino fits that criteria. Scorcese and De Niro at their best! The blu-ray picture is sharp and colourful - it tends to show up the grain of the source print, compared to a modern release, but this is no bad thing. Decent extras too. Worth mentioning that the blu-ray has the original burnt-in 'subtitles' ("Back Home Years Ago" etc.) rather than the horrible player-generated subs on the PAL DVD. A must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Mob film lovers, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Jordi De Diego YagŁe "Jordi de Diego" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Casino is no doubt one of the six best gangster movies ever made and Scorsese's underrated masterpiece. Once you start watching it you get stuck to your armchair and cannot take your eyes off the screen although the film is 180 minutes long. I have had it in most formats VHS, DVD and Blu-Ray. I see it again and again and never tire of it. De Niro, Pesci and Sharon Stone are just brilliant.

Unless you are sensitive to violence and American four-letter words you cannot miss it, but do not watch it with your kids until they are six-teen or older.

The soundtrack too is superb and with a charm all its own, from Angelina by Louis Prima to Bach's Matthaus Passion no better sounds could be found to wrap each and every scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie, 26 Mar 2003
This review is from: Casino [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Casino is a great movie and is by far better than Goodfellas. The movie takes place in the Seventies and Eighties. It follows the story of Sam 'Ace' Rothstein (Robert De Niro) who is sent to Las Vegas to run the Tangiers Casino, which the mob have acquired through the Teamsters Union. Rothstein got his nickname by being an ace gambler who never loses at all when he places a bet. It doesn't take very long for the casino to start generating huge amounts of cash but things don't go very well after the arrival of Ace's friend, Nicky Santoro (Joe Pesci) who is a violent gangster who wants to get his hands on Las Vegas in order to make himself rich. His burglaries and killings interest the Police and the FBI and they start to keep a watch on him everywhere. Rothstein is having his own problems with his wife (Sharon Stone) and everything begins to break apart by the end of the movie. On the DVD there is the original Theatrical Trailer and production notes and cast and crew notes. The DVD is great and any fan of Robert De Niro or Martin Scorsese should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpeice of modern cinema; dark, glamorous and thrilling, 25 Aug 2005
It must be annoying for Martin Scorsese when people call Casino Goodfellas Part 2 and understandably so; Casino, though featuring both Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci, is completely a film of its own. Goodfellas was a study of the middle class gangsters of New York; Casino is about the middle class making it big. It is a far more ambitious film than Goodfellas, strangely more civilised and tamed because of the glamorous setting of Las Vegas, which is revealed to be so hollow and controlled by a group of corrupt old men.
Casino tells the story of Sam 'Ace' Rothstein (De Niro), a Jewish casino manager in 1970s Las Vegas. It revolves around the system of the casinos and how ultimately you lose more money than you gain, but also his relationship with his childhood friend, Nicky Santoro (Joe Pesci) and his wife, Ginger McKenna (Sharon Stone). It flows so beautifully, describing in rich detail through the voiceovers of De Niro and Pesci how the casino works. Casino is such a classy film, each shot packed with glamour and the plot fueled by a great soundtrack and sharp dialogue. There are so many memorable moments and essentially it serves so much less as a biopic than Goodfellas.
The acting is first rate - De Niro shines in all 180 minutes, playing a flawed and possessive man, but one who is weighed down by his loyalities to friends. Joe Pesci is on top form as the reckless Nicky Santoro, a mob boss. His performance is similar to that of Goodfellas, but there is something more classy and swish about it. Sharon Stone would steal the show if it wasn't for De Niro and Pesci, as her performance is one of perfection. You will not know whether to pity, hate, or love her character. This is what makes Casino so great. The characters are so complex and human, they are totally believable and you will be ever curious of their ultimate fates.
This really is Martin Scorsese's finest work of the 90s. If you were to compare it to Goodfellas, you would call Goodfellas perfected, as it takes everything in Goodfellas to the next level, whether it be the charisma of its characters, the violence, the dialogue, or the cinematography. This character driven story will get better each time you watch it and flows like a river, every scene a classic in its own way.
If you are a fan of Martin Scorsese, then Casino is a must have. Even if you're not a fan, Casino is by all means worth watching and an instant classic in the crime/thriller/drama genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!!, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. J. D. Penn "Jod Peeeeee" (Esssex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Casino was another helping of the finest acting. all of the characters were excellect, De Niro again didnt fail in empressing me. The story line was awsome, full of quirky lines and little surprises along the way (a little violence of course). although i dont think this film was as good as goodfellas i was still very impressed over all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casino 2 disc, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Having not seen 'Goodfellas' to compare this to (at the point when I watched this film) I was thoroughly impressed with 'Casino'. A great deal of it is shot with De Niro doing a voice-over, telling the story as he went, which I really liked. The way a casino was run and how it all relates back to mob control was fascinating to see and the various tricks the customers and casino owners use are pretty inventive. Some parts of this film are pretty graphic, as to be expected from Scorcese, but the story overall is gripping and kept me engaged the whole time. The extras disc is excellent, with some great featurettes and bonus material to really add to your understanding of the film. This is a great gangster type movie and brilliantly directed and acted. Well worth a viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodfella's but in Las Vegas, 30 July 2005
By 
Patrick Quirke "murt1987" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is unbelievable, it has so many similarities to Goodfella's from the cast, the Director and the story. Difference is its set in Las Vegas when the mafia ruled the roast out there. If you loved Goodfella's which I do, you will absolutly love this. I wish I had heard of this film earlier because it really is a masterpiece. By the way, I still think Goodfella's is my favourite film of all time, this come a very surprisingly close second. I honeslty didn't expect it to be anything close to it, but it did. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2xDVD, 4 April 2007
None of the other reviewers so far have mentioned anything about the fact this is a special edition version of Casino with 2 DVD's. One is entirely filled with documentaries surrounding the movie, and cast/crew interviews involving most of the main characters. These documentaries are great, and the interviews are very good and reveal a lot about the people behind the actors. Sharon Stone even breaks down in one of the interviews for some reason or other, but I can't quite figure out why. Classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it just me..., 9 Jan 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Casino [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
...or is this the darkest black comedy ever made? I just find Casino so amusing and funny that I hardly even notice the grim violence and harrowing drama. I also think that Casino is far, far superior to the over-rated Goodfellas. Even though it's longer, it passes in a breeze. Casino is just so colorful, multi-layered and intricate despite it's apparent simplicity. The film has three different characters narrating the story but none of it feels like exposition and it's never over-bearing.

Adapted from a true story, the film focuses on the fictional Tangiers Casino in Las Vegas. The boss is Sam 'Ace' Rothstein, his wife, volatile hustler Ginger and his psychotic 'friend' Nicky Santoro. All they needed to do was to keep the cash-flow at the Casino steady to satisfy the bosses back home. But it was just never meant to be. And everything implodes at the end.

Casino is filled with dozens of sub-plots, tangent stories and brilliant side-characters. James Woods is especially funny as a lowlife con-man who can't even win a fight with a ten-year-old girl. Vinny Vella also amuses as long-suffering Artie Piscano. But it's Sharon Stone who walks away with the movie. Despite starring opposite loads of well-established male lead actors she owns Casino. She was absolutely robbed at the Academy Awards when they gave the Oscar to Susan Sarandon. Stone delivered a performance so authentic that it's truly unfair the amount of criticism she gets for her other, less-important films.

The violence will satisfy gore fans. In this lovely film we have a dope with his head in a vice (after getting icepicks in his balls), a truly brutal beating with baseball bats, some moron getting a pen shoved into his neck and a cheater getting his hand mashed by a hammer. Don't let this put you off, that was the old Vegas. Nowadays you just get told not to come back.

I know most people will call it sacrilege to condemn Goodfellas but Casino is just the better film of the two, plain and simple. Better lighting, far more impressive cinematography and more entertaining characters. It just has so much going for it that Goodfellas did not.

The 2.35:1 1080p Blu Ray is absolutely stunning and is surely reference quality stuff. The DTS HD-MA sound is also amazing and there are plenty of extras. A total must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 8 Aug 2005
By 
Brogan (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
You could write this film off as a Goodfellas rehash, but don't! It is quite simply, fantastic! Of course, the similarities to Goodfellas are there, what with the obvious one being the cast and crew. The good thing is, though, is that Casino somehow manages to feel quite different despite looking the same.
The acting is, like Goodfellas, absolutely suberb, with even the bit part players convincing. An Oscar Nominated Sharon Stone as Ginger is absolutely stellar, in parts stealing the show as a money grabbing hustler only out for herself. Joe Pesci is also excellent as Nicky Santoro, practically playing Tommy Devito all over again, albeit slightly more sinister, if you can imagine that. It's Robert Deniro who really shines in this movie though as Sam 'Ace' Rothstein, the calm and calculating Casino Director.
What amazes me about Deniro is that he always seems to not just play the character, but become them. Unlike other flavour-of-the-month, Hollywood expendables, Deniro is always a different person with different traits that he brings to the role through acting without having to use the script to show who his character is. Here, he does just that. There is barely a trace of his Goodfellas role, the cold, ruthless Jimmy Conway.
Also look out for James Woods as the ultimate loser boyfriend and Kevin Pollak of The Usual Suspects as mafia pawn Philip Green.
The style of the film is also Goodfellas-esque, but that could only be a good thing. Scorsese's philosophy must be that, if you've a good idea, why not use it again? The editing is quick and therefore helps along the pace. It's amazing how much information he and editor Thelma Schoonmaker can cram into a film. It may be nearly three hours long, but considering the timeline spans 10 years, that's pretty good.
Music, once again like Goodfellas, is also used heavily and effectively. Most of the time you don't even notice it's there, but when you do, you find that hundreds of tracks are used across almost the entire film, amazingly always fitting perfectly with the tone and length of the scene.
The question is, which is better: Casino or Goodfellas? Having loved Goodfellas and ranking in my all time top films, I'd have to say that my personal favourite has definitely changed to Casino. It's the way that, yes, it is like Goodfellas, but on a much larger scale. It's as though Scorsese just wanted more. The violence is more graphic, the costumes are colourful and garish, the performances are equally terrific, but, at parts, more stand-out and memorable.
If you enjoy Scorsese's work and this masterpiece has so far eluded you, I recommend you buy it right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casino [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Casino [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Vinny Vella (Blu-ray - 2008)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews