Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to make you boggle
Oh but I do love John Carpenter's `The Thing', (an awful lot more than Howard Hawks' original from the Fifties with its `intellectual carrot' monster), and I've probably seen it six or seven times by now. We all know the story: Antarctic survey-team are cut off by storms and find not just their base but themselves infiltrated by something not from round these parts...
Published on 1 Oct 2009 by Brian Flange

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Am I the only one who had a problem?
5 Stars for the US Version, not the UK version.

I love this film, have always loved this film, so much so that I recorded it on VHS, then bought it on VHS, then bought it on DVD region 2 which was not anamorphic, so I re-bought it on Region 1 (which is). It is the first film I decided to buy for myself after buying a blu-ray player and burrowing others films to...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by B. J. Davies


‹ Previous | 125 26 27 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Horror, 7 Dec 2000
By 
A. Ehsan "asharehsan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You have gotta be kidding, The Thing is perhaps one of the best horrors around and quite frankly, it soundtrack has been one of the most sort after (2nd only to BladeRunner)
It is a shame that sequel has not been forthcoming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grotesque effects and tense paranoia!, 5 Jan 2003
By 
D. Moss "systemj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Thing is now a well known classic, but its quite an old film so many people will be put off by this. Believe the hype and watch it anyway. The SFX are much better than modern computer generated monsters that lack weight and depth. The acting is great, with genuine reactions being displayed and a fine script. Probably most important, the creature itself is one of the few Hollywood creatures not to be influenced by H.R Giger's beast in the famous Alien series. Its a totally original concept, one that is really scary.
The plot revolves around a UFO that has been dug up in the Antarctic by some Norwegians. They uncover the alien which then escapes, butchering them in the process. The alien flees to a nearby American base, chased by the last surviving Norwegians. The Americans unwittingly shield the alien and go to investigate the Norwegian base. When the alien leaves its disguise the film really gets going.
The alien itself infects its victims and replaces their body cells with its own. It can create perfect replicas of the creatures it has infected, and changes randomly, often into strange mutations. The thing about it is that at least one team member is infected, and nobody knows who, so they attempt to flush out the beast while it sabotages their efforts. This paranoia is the film's focus, and you never know who is who.
Without giving away the best scenes, the alien looks incredible and the scenes where it is revealed and morphs from its disguise are amazing. The film isn't really gory, but it definately isn't for the squeamish.
All in all it is a really incredible film, one that made me jump and twitch throughout. Fear, like humour, beauty and taste, is all in the beholder, but I think you'd have to be pretty solid not to get sucked into this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a sci-fi horror...!, 25 Feb 2002
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, you've seen it again... yet another 5 star rating for this DVd edition of THE THING. But what other compliment can this film gain other than 110%?
This film has it all... the gore, the thrills, the scares, the tension... look no further than this fantstic John Carpenter film that casts HALLOWEEN into a shadow (despite the fact that it's a fantastic film!), and totally banishes CHRISTINE into a lower realm of horror. This is the ultimate Carpenter film, and is so intelligent and intensive that it demands several viewings.
The DVD edition is simply to die for... an 80 minute documentary that is worth every penny, numerous production stills, deleted scenes... what else is there?
I mean, what a film!!! I'm just waiting for someone to make a modernised sequal (hopefully me lol!). But whatever you think, this film will live in memeory forever, and is an aboslute positive essential to add to ayone's DVD collection. Take no other recommendation, and buy this film as soon as you can... I mean NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLE - BUT TRUE TO THE IDEA, 8 Aug 2004
By 
K. Oblak "ROKY LUNACEK" (SLOVENIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are few movies that seduce our soul the way ''Thing'' does it. Why? Because of our primal human fear. To be alive and withou a spirit. Without a soul... and what is the meaning of of life without all that ... Only death knows the answer ...
During this movie, all I can say is... I was afraid, very afraid ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a john carpenter classic, 10 Nov 2002
By 
i love older science fiction/horror films, and to be honest, this is one of the best, just watch it and see. the fairly original plot, of the alien that takes over the humans, sets the film up brilliantly for a claustrophobic atmosphere, with a lack of trust between all of the characters throughout the film. this helps to create great tension, and you really cant tell who is infected with the alien.
carpenter's direction is as reliable as is with most of his early work, and errio morricone's score just helps to build the atmosphere. worth a mention are rob bottin's superb special effects creations, which are in all fairness, probably more convincing and believable than most modern computer graphics, even if it is just a pile of rubber.
overall, a great purchase, especially considering the wealth of extras included on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OOOOOh leave the lights on and close all the doors, 29 Jun 2004
Occasionaly along comes a horror film which really does scare you to death and this film is it . It took me a couple of false starts to finally be brave enough to wath this through out and boy was it worth it this is a superb film which will go down in the annals of horr movies as one of the best .Watch it buy it its brilliant and totally scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The daddy, 18 Jan 2003
Every sci-fi, horror, John Carpenter or Kurt Russell fan bu this. There is no actual excuse for NOT already having see it, however if you haven't, buy it now. Do not listen to other people who blab on about it being rubbish. It is a decent film, probably the best. The biology of the alien keeps you guessing for hours, and It i amazing to see who is human and who isn't. The special effects are the best. grotesque, yet beautiful (look out for the 'flower' wich is actually a ring of dog tongues with dog teeth growing off them. yuck! but wow!) I love to watch this over and over again, each time learning something new about the film. In addition to watching this, you should read the novel (Who Goes There?) and the later adaptation (The Thing). And watch the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thing--not all ET s are friendly, 23 Oct 2001
By A Customer
THE THING---Evil-unstoppable merciless-Scary.
Jim Cameron eat your liver out---
CRASH! Somethings landed...............
Amongst the Snow theres a multi-cellular transformable Beast-waiting and waiting for blood waiting for failure waiting forweakness.Something most of us identify with-the paranormal fears that stalk us all--.
Indeed imagine a white-collar ALIEN transposed to Earth with claustrophobic sets and a merciless Predator on the rampage-meet THE THING.OK yes its been done before many many times but its the fun is in seeing whos killed next that remains makes THE THING transcendent despite the cliched scenarios.
THE THING s directed with such aplomb by Director Carpenter --at his post-Halloween zenith- that it freezes the blood with its cold intelligence and human warmth --unusually for Horror -We Care.Therefore a chilling classic methinks.
Despite the standard in built cliches there remains a transformable film--from nerve shredding into cow-scared--- it emerges into a really good film that says a great deal about The Human Condition.Technology dysfunctional System corruption territory hostility etc etc.
But coming in the same year as ET-THE THING was nt going to appeal to short popcorn-munchers --and make $1 Billion at the box office--but is a splendid thrill-ride nevertheless.Indeed all the better for sidelining schmaltz and addressing the futility of outlasting organic nature(Humans once again out of depth amongst Bestially Alien Monsters and therefore an extension of Us all- The Thing is the fear of mortality and vulnerability in all of us basically)--head on (will they ever learn?-),THE THING has a psychological and biomechanical credibility that makes it timelessly modern.
Indeed even usual bogey-man the Scientist playing ostensibly as the other bad guy it has its own code of justice-ala 90 S Blockbusters.Coupled with a good ensemble cast make you care about the other more well-rounded characters and you have a classic-yet action never overshadows credibility or character-development.
What is clear from the outset is that The Thing(the xeno-morph) feeds on aggression.Therefore its what you bring with you--fear paranoia distrust etc--that it feeds on-a new twist.And an interestingly Freudian one.
Indeed as a parable for the cold war-THE THING-based on the Howard Hawks classic-- is a metaphor that incorporates themes of evil and aggression and is psychologically chilling in a way-principally by being more graphic-- the original was nt(Hawks could nt circumvent the Hays Code alas.).
Having an almost Kubrick like coldness the Thing will chill your blood and is perfect for those Friday night''comfort''movies.........indeed THE THING has the same basic premise than Alien but is a much much better film.Easily Kurt Rusells finest film and a chilling indigtment of Human (and Alien)nature.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of an anti-climax, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Miss A. Crocker "Reviewer" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is good but it could have been better. There is far too much gore and repulsive mutations going on that it deflects from the actual story - like it's trying too hard to be a horror movie. Let's face it, a remote location in Antarctica, a 1000 miles from anywhere, more snow than you could ever imagine, a bunch of guys living in confined spaces with nothing more than a jukebox and a pool table is bad enough but it could have been more creepy. The horrific 'attacks' on nearly all the crew by the 'thing' as it mutates just seem overdone to me. There could have been more of a psychological threat going on. The ending was not good either with a ' will they won't they' feel.

It did put me off eating my tea too which is rare and I'll never eat anything remotely like orange jelly or BBQ spare ribs ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE THING, 23 July 2009
By 
R. Lloyd (WEST BROMWICH,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing HD DVD (HD DVD)
KURT RUSSELL IS AT HIS FINEST IN THIS GRIP THE SEAT,HIGH TENSION SHEER TERROR SCI-FI HORROR IN AN ARCTIC RESEARCH STATION.DON'T WATCH IT IN THE DARK OR THE NEAREST NOI....WHAT WAS THAT,YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO TRUST THE PERSON SITTING NEXT TO YOU !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 27 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thing [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Thing [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2008)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews