Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars99
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 June 2007
I haven't, in truth, watched this film for years, but I remember it as being one of the funniest in the Pink Panther series (A Shot In The Dark being, overall, the best film per se.)

I thought it might be useful to say to Sellers collectors that this film is not included in the Pink Panther box set in the UK. I think this is because the home video distribution rights were sold to another company, away from UA. So, if you want the complete Pink Panther, you need to get this disc as well.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
Of course, Peter Sellers IS Clouseau! From one bumble to the next, this is definitely a comedy of its time (they really don't make them like this anymore}. Herbert Lom, Graham Stark, Christopher Plummer, Catherine Schell, Burt Kwouk, a great cast and a very entertaining plot albeit a tad repetitive at times, but don't let that put you off.

Following a line of Clouseau films, we now find Herbert Lom as Chief Inspector Dreyfuss - pulling his hair out in frustration, and Sellers playing it in his own inimitable way. There really is no-one to touch him, and I laughed at his antics to the end. If you Love Sellers...you'll love the film.

Out of interest this particular film is not available in the collection The Pink Panther Film Collection (6 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD]
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2006
Well you have to hand it to Sellers for this one, everything about this film is a diamond. It is better than the first movie and clearly the most wanted Pink Panther movie to complete your collection. This is a must buy, it is so funny and entertaining, if you love Sellers you will adore this.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2008
This is the third story in the Pink Panther series and it's a really funny movie. The plot is a bit stretched at times but it is compensated by the brilliant comic timing and physical humour of Sellers, and Herbert Lom's Commissioner Dreyfus with his slow mental breakdown over the course of the film. This sets up the next installment (Pink Panther Strikes Again) which is probably the best for laugh-out-loud comedy. However, this film is not far behind especially when you hark back to Clouseau reprimanding the blind man with the monkey, outside the bank being so conspicuously robbed!

The only downside is that it doesn't have the same strength in cast as the first movie where diamond thief Sir Charles Litton aka The Phantom (or "Charles Phantom aka The Litton") is played by David Niven so effortlessly.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I continue to watch this film from time to time having seen it probably more times than I care to remember. The series overall was somewhat mixed (esp with the later attempts) and many felt the first whilst good spent too much time on David Niven, and not enough on the bumbling Inspector Jacques Clouseau. Subsequent films corrected this, but there was quite a gap between this and the previous instalment, but it was a welcome return for Sellers in this iconic role.

The story continues with the notorious master thief Sir Charles Lytton (Christopher Plummer) suspected of stealing the Pink Panther diamond from under the noses of security guards in a museum in Lugash. The opening scene is very well done with the robbery being shown in typical Blake Edwards style, then it's onto the main event Clouseau and here we see Sellers pack in a fine set of gags with some very memorable scenes.

All the usual supporting cast members are here Herbert Lom as Chief Inspector Dreyfus, Seller's long time friend Graham Stark as Pepi, and of course Burt Kwouk as Cato. In addition Catherine Schell plays Lady Claudine Lytton and though in some scenes she has difficulty keeping a straight face, she fits the part pretty well as the wife of Charles.
Gags wise everything you expect from a Peter Sellers Clouseau film is here, and whilst some might feel comedy has moved on a bit, you can't help but smile and laugh at the simple yet undeniably clean fun you get presented with. The screenplay isn't just a side show to the comedy events (an area previous films left some viewers wanting), it ticks along quite nicely and the plot is actually pretty good as the series gets a decent storyline to go with the gags.

Some memorable scenes including the well known door bell, Clouseau and Kato with their over the top fighting scenes, the blind bank robber many classic moments of screen comedy in just this one picture. It could be argued by some that the series became a bit over the top slap stick wise and less subtle, but for many they will feel this is one of the best in the series in terms of laughs.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2003
Ah the pure joy of Sellars at his best! The list of catchphrases that have been burned in to my brain are too many to count. The cunning disguises of Gee Gadboir and Mr Flourdnoy combined with the fact that Sellars managed to make his own co actors laugh during the final takes (See in the bar with Sellars "Heres looking at you kid" speech, she really cant stop laughing!)
The film itself is scripted well and uses what we already know of Sir Charles Litton to further expound on his character. His wife is the perfect target for Sellars attempts at detective work and "The Madman Dreyfuss" is completeley spellbinding. The first scene with Clousseau itself is probably the funniest film moment I know of.
Absolute Genius!
"There was some question wheter the beggar or his monkey was breaking the law"
CLOUSSEAU: "City ordanance 371R prohibits the playing of any musical instrument in a public place for the purpose of commercial enterprise without a proper license."
BEGGAR: "How do you know so much about city ordanance?"
CLOUSSEAU: "What sort of stupid question is that! Are you blind!!
BEGGAR: "Yes!"
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 June 2012
We just watched this 37-year-old film again last night and I can't believe how funny it still is. In fact, knowing it by heart means that we start laughing BEFORE each of the best scenes!

Peter Sellers was a comic genius and this is timeless classic comedy. Of course, some of the gags are a little transparent but there is so much humour that even the lame jokes are forgiveable. Personally, I find the Cato attack sequences a little overdone, but then comes a gem like the bank robbery skit, or the telephone repairman scene, or the vacuum cleaner débâcle and the feud with the parrot (swine bird!) or the suave antics of Guy Gadois which render his co-star Catherine Schell incapable of getting through a scene without dissolving into giggling fits.

The early scene of the stealing of the Pink Panther is extremely well filmed and was, at the time, quite inventive and Bond-like in its stark night-time setting. Christopher Plummer is less wooden than usual as Lord Litton and copes convincingly with all the physical action, but the cloak-and-dagger sub-plot is clearly just an excuse for Sellers to let loose the force of nature that is Inspector Clouseau while abusing the French language. The supporting cast do a fine job, but inevitably Sellers steals every scene he's in.

I'm not sure what other people are watching but my 2006 DVD has very reasonable picture quality for an older movie (albeit in 4:3 format) and there are six (fully dubbed) language options and subtitles in fourteen languages. So, surrender to the silliness and have a good clean laugh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2001
The film content is priceless, Sellars steals the show.
The transfer is very poor, it has blips and is not widescreen - much of the visual joke is lost because you can't see what's going on. It's only funny if you've already seen the film widescreen.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2001
Quite why the company decided to release this film in such an apalling fashion is beyond me. I had waited for years for the Panther films to be released in widescreen. Sadly the DVD company has decided to waste it's time in releasing it in fullscreen.
Buy the R1 discs if you want to see the film as it is meant to be seen. This version of the disc should be consigned to the waste bin.
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
There will probably be nothing as enduringly funny as Peter Sellers as Inspector Clouseau in the Pink Panther films.
Although not as wacky as "The Pink Panther Strikes Again", "Return of the Pink Panther" still has many memorably funny scenes, mainly involving Clouseau disguised as a telephone repairman or a hotel cleaner.
The only real niggling point with the movie is the casting... those who have seen the original "Pink Panther", or the later "Curse of the Pink Panther", may wonder why Christopher Plummer is playing Sir Charles Litton rather than David Niven.
That aside, like the others in the series, this movie is an incredibly enjoyable way to pass a couple of hours, and one which never loses it's humour after repeated viewing.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)