Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zefal DooMap Map Holder
Very stable while riding and easy to remove. A bit fiddly in high wind to get map out and change the page view. The plastic cover is quite stiff which is an advantage in getting the map in and out but also means it is more vulnerable to splitting compared, say, with Ortlieb walking map holders made of softer material. Despite this, the basic design is so good and the...
Published on 21 Jun. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice design, but flawed construction materials
I bought this using Amazon Prime's delivery service and recieved it within 24 hours, along with the OS map I needed for the area I was riding - great. The next day I spent 6 or 7 hours riding in the Dark Peak area of Derbyshire, on pretyy bumpy stuff. The map and case together were great, although I noticed the velcro straps on the case didn't tighten up on the bars for a...
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by Mr_Magoo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zefal DooMap Map Holder, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
Very stable while riding and easy to remove. A bit fiddly in high wind to get map out and change the page view. The plastic cover is quite stiff which is an advantage in getting the map in and out but also means it is more vulnerable to splitting compared, say, with Ortlieb walking map holders made of softer material. Despite this, the basic design is so good and the price compared with others so competitive that I will buy another one and be particularly careful sliding the map in and out. Also, if you are using Ordnance Survey maps, take the silly cardboard cover off to make their maps easier to fold and put in the holder without damaging it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice design, but flawed construction materials, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
I bought this using Amazon Prime's delivery service and recieved it within 24 hours, along with the OS map I needed for the area I was riding - great. The next day I spent 6 or 7 hours riding in the Dark Peak area of Derbyshire, on pretyy bumpy stuff. The map and case together were great, although I noticed the velcro straps on the case didn't tighten up on the bars for a totally secure fit.

This might have been the cause of what I noticed at the end of the ride, whilst packing away. The velcro straps had started to pull away from the clear plastic, to the point where there was a small rip, say 15mm long, where the strap had pulled away.

This after just one bike ride.

I'm not convinced this item is totally fit for purpose (an understatement).

Nice design - works well and is easy to use. Let down by poor execution and inappropriate choice of material. As another reviewer has said, a softer grade of plastic would probably work better.

I've posted back to Amazon today - in the past the returns system seems to work. If I have any aggro on this oocasion I'll update this review.

Buy something else if you're going off-road.

Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars map holder, 8 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
This is a light weight compact map holder that fit neatly onto my handle bars. You can remove it fairly easily when not in use. It was raining when I used it and the map stayed fairly dry, although not waterproof. It came quickly and I was pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
This does the job, but it won't last for ever. It looks like the sides will split in a fairly short time. We're cycling LE-JOG and don't need it afterwards, so it should be fine for us.

Update: this split somewhere in Lancashire. A very helpful local electrician in a van covered it in strong tape and it then lasted to JO'G. Threw it in the bin afterwards. It did what we wanted it to do ... but it would have been better if it lasted more than 10 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, and as described, but a little small for a folded over map., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
Good idea, and good product.
For my stile of folding the map it's a little too small, so I will have to fold the map again to get it to go in. Like the product nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful accessory for touring, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
Better than my previous map carrier in that it has a rigid base and folds over to close so avoiding catching your knees when cycling. so far very serviceable and waterproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
Very cheaply made - the joins from the plastic shell to the velcro straps are a real weak point. As soon as a decent gust of wind hits it from below then they begin tearing. I ended up having to liberally apply cable ties to hold it in place halfway through my last ride. Will be investing in something more durable in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, rainproof and very easy to put on bike ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
Extremely useful, rainproof and very easy to put on bike and take off. I used it whilst cycling around Holland. It is fiddly to put the map in but very easy to read the map whilst on the move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not great value - plastic too hard, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
The plastic is a bit hard, where it folds I can't get the creases out so getting a map in is very difficult - don't think it will last long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zefal Waterproof Map Holder (Sports)
we have yet to use it purchased for a cycling holiday abroad appears ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zefal Doomap Map Holder - Black, Large
£10.99
In stock on May 29, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews