Customer Reviews


895 Reviews
5 star:
 (659)
4 star:
 (172)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice machine
This is a quite sophisticated device but it's very easy to use. It stores readings for two people and it can calculate weekly averages (up to 7 weeks) for each person. If you just want a quick reading you can use it as a "guest" and the reading is not added to its records. It can do an automatic triple-reading where it takes your blood pressure three times separated by an...
Published on 7 July 2008 by Andrew Williams

versus
221 of 233 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very bulky & not impressed with 'one size fits all' cuff
I have mixed views about the M10-IT.

On the positive front, the machine is well made, has the facility to store 84 readings each for 2 users, and has PC connectivity - all excellent innovative features.

There are quite a few negatives, however. As a result of the inflexible 'one size fits all' comfort cuff, the whole package is twice as large as a...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by A reader from the UK


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

212 of 214 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice machine, 7 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a quite sophisticated device but it's very easy to use. It stores readings for two people and it can calculate weekly averages (up to 7 weeks) for each person. If you just want a quick reading you can use it as a "guest" and the reading is not added to its records. It can do an automatic triple-reading where it takes your blood pressure three times separated by an interval (eg 60 seconds, although you can change this) - after the three readings it reports the average. If you want you can connect it to your PC and install the supplied software. Then you can store your ratings online.

The one disadvantage of the machine is that it is VERY easy to switch on, even when getting it in or out of its supplied bag. It's a small issue but it's worth noting. The machine switches itself off after a few minutes if it's not being used so this should not affect the battery too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


205 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I trust this product, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Gk Simms - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this despite the "nay sayers" in Amazon reviews. OMRON have a great reputation in general: this machine will be accredited as accurate (which is, after all, fairly important!) by the british heart society.

The price I paid is half what it would have been in the High Street: the handbook is very thick but is easy to follow.

I've normal arms: the cuff fits me and isn't uncomfortable (at least, no more uncomfortable than any other machine that's measured my blood pressure!).

The machine can store measurements for two users (84 of them), plus it has a "guest" function for anyone else. It gives averages for each user, and also separately for "morning" and "evening" measurements (morning hypertension seemingly more important).

You can choose to have the M10 either takes single measurements, or it can automatically take three over a period of your choosing (e.g one minute apart) when it gives you the average.

Unlike the 10 machines available from high street chemists, this machine gives me consistent readings, that are like those "done" by my GP. I am confident in the measurements.

The display is easy to read and understand: yes, it is easy to turn on (but I think that's a good thing!).

If you need to know what your blood pressure is - buy an M10-IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Healthy option - M10-IT, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Robert J. Shepherd (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omron M10-IT Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor with Dual-User Facility and Dual-Size Cuff (Personal Care)
The Omron M10-IT is a small upper-arm blood pressure monitor that works using the oscillometric system. This system uses an inflatable cuff that fits around the upper arm and which is pumped up using air until blood flow (as measured using a pressure sensor within the body of the monitor) is cut off. Pressure in the cuff is reduced until blood flow is sensed, then further reduced in stages until the measurements are complete. This enables pulse rate, systolic and diastolic pressures to be determined. These values are then displayed on the LCD. The instrument can be set to make a single measurement or a set of 3; if a set of 3 is set, the time interval between measurements can be set.
A very useful feature of this instrument is that it can be used to measure and store details for two individuals: a slide switch is used to select user A or user B. A guest facility is also available which enables measurements to be made without being stored. The stored values can be uploaded to a PC for logging and recording purposes. Software is provided for uploading, displaying and analysing data.
The manual that accompanies the monitor is very good as it describes the features of the monitor but also specifies the best way to take blood-pressure readings - left arm preferred, cuff positioned on the upper arm about 2cm up from the elbow and on a level with the heart, pressure hose in line with the middle finger, etc.
The instrument is supplied in a zip-up black soft case, with unit, cuff, software, upload lead, batteries and manual, for an amazingly low price.
Any disadvantages? Well, the cuff can be a little uncomfortable as it squeezes the arm to cut off the blood supply for a short time at the beginning of the measurement sequence. This is the way the instrument operates but it is safe and it takes very little time to get used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Blood Pressure Monitor, 23 Dec 2009
This review is from: Omron M10-IT Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor with Dual-User Facility and Dual-Size Cuff (Personal Care)
This is a clinically accurate device - compared to results a surgery there is no difference - readings can/will be higher/lower because blood pressure does vary and this is to be expected.

This is a feature rich version of the M6. Allows PC upload of data and has the advantage of averaging 3 measurements made morning or night and recalling these including a weekly average. PC upload and printout to a PDF file allows data to be given to a GP with almost no effort and no chance of errors.

Compared to M7 the M10 includes a cuff with only half the length of tubing. OK for self measurement but probably not enough for a static monitor or one operated by someone else e.g. at the doctors - but since this isn't intended for professional use it's OK.

Compared to M6 or M7 the M10 includes memory recall but only stepping back (can't go forwards) but since the readings can be downloaded to a PC the need to step forwards and backwards isn't a problem and probably simplifies the process of recalling measurements.

The display is very large and the large cuff is a benefit - as a man with average arms I'm at the limit of a standard cuff and it's useful to measure my arm and those of my partner.

The best feature of this monitor over M6 or M7 is the ability to record two sets of measurements A or B e.g. Mr or Mrs within a family. If there is a need to measure another person e.g. a son or daughter this can be done as a guest user. The measurements as a guest are just as valid but have to be be manually written down - no averaging or saving of data.

I do question the ability of the device to average three readings made at 15, 30, 60 or 120 sec intervals because this contradicts the requirement to wait 3+ minutes between taking readings to allow the arm to recover however someone might like to say why this is OK. This type of measurement is optional so it's not an issue if you don't need it.

Compared to M7 the device switches on by pressing any button so there is no need to press start button to recall memory or take a measurement so it really is one touch to turn on and take a measurement although pressing Start again will turn it off sooner and save batteries.

The display is a delight - very large and very clear. Batttery life is also 1400+ measurements vs 300+ of M7.

I compared it to the M7 because it replaces M7 as the Omron device with Comfort Cuff. M6 is only worth considering if it's a lot cheaper - only the ability to scroll through memory on M6 in both directions is an advantage and the PC connectivity on M10 is a bonus.

The ability to make measurements in morning and evening my not be significant. If after using the device for a few weeks, if there are no differences, then this could be considered a gimic or if it did highlight a problem then it's a benefit. Either way it doesn't need to be used.

So the disadvantages of a shorter tube (not a problem) or scrolling forwards (not just backwards) through memory might be considered disadvantages however all the additional benefits are available but only if required. Overall there isn't much not to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class product at an unbelievable price!, 13 May 2008
A very well made solid piece of equipment which looks very professional. Excellent value for money.

Extremely easy to use. All you do is attach it to your arm and switch it on. There is a facility for taking 3 consecutive automatic readings to ensure perfect accuracy. Also has a memory capable of storing 84 readings each for 2 people which can be fed to your PC via USB for use with the supplied software to store readings using a comparison chart. They even supply a USB cable!

I would definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Omron M10-IT BP monitor, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Philip Bradbury (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omron M10-IT Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor with Dual-User Facility and Dual-Size Cuff (Personal Care)
The machine was delivered promptly and has been entirely satisfactory so far. I have been monitoring my BP for about 15 years on an old Omron (a good workhorse) but this is a big improvement all round. The cuff and inflator work well as do all the advertised settings. Instructions were pretty easy to understand and apply. I set the machine to take three readings (one minute apart) and these readings are then readable individually and with an average. Separate data are then collected for morning and evening and records can be viewed for an eight-week period. Navigating all that data on the machine viewer can be a little complicated and confusing at first.

Data is easily downloaded to a computer and Omron provides software for viewing data, charts etc. These seem a little clunky but probably take a while to get used to. However, te data can be put straight into Excel or other spreadsheet, where you can produce your own charts, tables, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 20 July 2009
By 
Arthur Rees (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omron M10-IT Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor with Dual-User Facility and Dual-Size Cuff (Personal Care)
The cuff fits my skinny arm and my wife's fat arm with no problems.
The user interface is easily understood and the readings are consistent.
Connection to a PC was not very well explained in the manual, but is easy when you know how. And the graphical and statistical results are very useful.
In short well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than a wrist cuff, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Folkranger (Washington, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Omron M10-IT Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor with Dual-User Facility and Dual-Size Cuff (Personal Care)
Yes, we had a wrist cuff monitor before purchasing this one. I was surprised at how big this one was when opened but it sits in a neat zipped bag so it's not conspicuous sitting in our living room ready for use.
A big plus is that it performs all features from simple dedicated buttons so you don't have to work through computerised menus which I hate. A simple slide switch changes between user A and user B and it even has self adhesive name plates that can be stuck on although we decided we could remember which one of us was A and who was B without this.
I like being able to plug it into my laptop where it downloads its data so that you can see all your history and even get graphs allowing you to see how things are progressing over time. I had opted for a diet to reduce my blood pressure rather than take more pills so it's good (and motivating) to see that my pressure is going down over time.
Regarding accuracy it is much more repeatable than our previous wrist cuff model so it is obviously more accurate. I saw a report that it was better than the one doctors use and therefore was overpriced. I thought that what we paid for this one was very good and the ability to computerise the history was worth any extra that might have been othewise saved on a cheaper model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


221 of 233 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very bulky & not impressed with 'one size fits all' cuff, 4 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have mixed views about the M10-IT.

On the positive front, the machine is well made, has the facility to store 84 readings each for 2 users, and has PC connectivity - all excellent innovative features.

There are quite a few negatives, however. As a result of the inflexible 'one size fits all' comfort cuff, the whole package is twice as large as a regular bp monitor pack, so definitely not a model you would choose for portability or traveling.

I am also not impressed with the 'one-size fits all' cuff, which is very bulky and not easy to achieve a snug fit with if you have a slim arm, as mine is. In fact, I was initially consistently achieving very low systolic readings (up to 20mmHg below my usual readings), and eventually realised it was due to the cuff not fitting properly rather than to the machine itself being inaccurate. The main criticism is therefore relating to invention of these 'comfort' cuffs. If only Omron would offer the option of a variety of cuff sizes, but in fact this inflexible 'comfort' cuff seems to be the only size available to go with this model.

One final word of warning is that Omron seems to make a different cuff connection for each new model. So do not assume a cuff you happen to have for an old model would fit in this or any other new Omron models! I happen to have another Omron bp monitor which is only 1 year old, and this model's cuff does not fit the M10, or vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, trustworthy and probably one of the best monitors available with excellent PC data download option, 28 Mar 2010
By 
K. L. Wren "K L Wren" (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omron M10-IT Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor with Dual-User Facility and Dual-Size Cuff (Personal Care)
This is an exceptionally good blood pressure monitor - and is probably one of the best available.

I've used several blood pressure monitors, including wrist monitors, but this is the one I trust and wouldn't hesitate to recommend very highly to any user. It's not the cheapest but in my view it's worth paying a little extra for this more sophisticated machine in the knowledge that it's going to provide years of service and, if the cuff or cable should wear during its lifetime, then replacements are available from Omron rather than having to replace the machine - as is necessary with other brands. The M10-IT's software can also be used in conjunction with the superb Omron Walking Style Pro Pedometer for additional health and fitness monitoring.

Pros
Very sturdy build
Very easy to use
Large, bright, clear display
Clinically validated - so readings should be accurate
Dual memories to store readings for 2 users plus guest function to measure unrecorded readings which won't affects your own records
Memories store up to 84 readings - all recorded with date and time
Dual size cuff to fit almost every arm size
Irregular heartbeat indicator
Can take 3 readings in succession to produce an accurate and 'average' reading
Clear instruction manual which also provides information about blood pressure
Can differentiate between morning and daytime/evening readings to warn of morning hypertension
PC link via USB to allow printing of records, graphs, frequency distributions and trends for quick, easy visual monitoring
PDF and CSV output
Can be used in conjunction with Omron Walking Style Pro Pedometer
Zip-up carrying case for storage and travelling

Cons - very few and very trivial
At 13 x 15 x 8cm approx, it is larger than I expected
Cuff was a bit too large for my very slender arms - but should fit most other adult users with a diameter of 22cm or higher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews