Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
I only recently discovered Robert Johnson's music, mainly through the recent tributes to him that Eric Clapton has released. Artists covering his music have done some pretty good covers, including Zeppelin's superb version of Travelling Riverside Blues. But you have to listen to the man himself to feel the true raw emotional power of his music.
Songs like Walking...
Published on 26 July 2005

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, BAD PRESSING - GET A PROPER COLUMBIA VERSION
This is a generic 'ripped-off' version of Columbia's 'Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings'. Aside from the dubious ethical practice involved in pilfering Columbia's catalogue in order to make a fast buck selling cheap knock-offs of their albums, this album is FAR inferior in sound quality. I purchased this and am now having to spend the money to buy a 'legit'...
Published on 25 April 2010 by A. K. Johnston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
I only recently discovered Robert Johnson's music, mainly through the recent tributes to him that Eric Clapton has released. Artists covering his music have done some pretty good covers, including Zeppelin's superb version of Travelling Riverside Blues. But you have to listen to the man himself to feel the true raw emotional power of his music.
Songs like Walking Blues and Kindhearted Woman Blues are among the most emotionally charged songs I have ever heard. Johnson's fantastic vocal range coupled with his unique guitar style (it actually sounds like there are 2 or 3 guitarists playing on this at times) make this an absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 19 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
This guy has influenced EVERYBODY. Either directly or indirectly - all those great acts and guitarists - Cream, Zeppelin, etc
Even up to the modern day with acts such as the 22-20s.
You can see why on this summary-album.
Despite this guy having been discovered very late & being dead a couple of years later, he recorded a lot of material - all of which is outstanding.
- Buy this album... maybe you'll be influenced?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good budget price Robert Johnson, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Pitoucat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
A useful collection of Mississippi bluesman Robert Johnson's recordings, on two CDs in a slim jewel pack. Sound quality is quite good, without the execrable distortion to be found on some of the tracks of the similar Columbia Legacy set 64916. The cover claims that this set contains Johnson's "entire recorded output", but that's not so. Two recordings are missing. One is the first take of Travelling Riverside Blues, and the other the first take of Phonograph Blues, the two takes of which, included here, are both of the same, second take. The music, of course, is superb and indispensable, and if you are not too bothered about the missing tracks and duplication, it's a good value-for-money collection in reasonable sound, at a budget price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a foot note, 7 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. A. Edwards "josephaedwards" (nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
Add Dylan to the list of people intensely influenced by Johnson. He said in his auto biography that he heard Johnson's lyrics and it just blew his mind; it is easy to see why. Johnson seems to have acted as a watershed for blues singers, he increases the vocabulary and poetic licence that blues singers can express themselves with, he made it possible for the blues to grow into the profound art form it undoubtably is. His tragically limited [in quantity] recordings, all present on this album, are a major milestone, not just for blues music, but all of western music, from rock to hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 24 Feb 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
Robert Johnson has inspired so many artists, it would be remiss to not have him in your collection. The recordings are a little dated, but it takes nothing away from the rawness of the music and the story telling in the lyrics. You can hear that Clapton, Jimmy Page and the Stones have been influenced by this artist more than any other when they perform their blues and rock music. The way he plays guitar will leave you breathless as you try to work out how he plays so many notes, accompanying himself, whilst sounding so spare and raw. You have a version of each recording he put out, in one package. If you desire alternative takes try the complete recordings CD which has an excellent booklet. This is not always an easy listen, but it is always a rewarding one!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever your taste in music, just buy this one., 5 Jun 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
When I consider Cream and Led Zeppelin (and others) were playing their updated versions of this man's songs in the 60's, and it takes me 40 years to buy the album to find out why, I am thoroughly ashamed of myself not only for not doing so before, but also for admitting it. Why didn't I have the sense to get this album, on vinyl, years ago? No, I'm not being trendy simply because Eric Clapton has recorded an album titled 'Me And Robert Johnson,' yet if I am, maybe it's due to the Cream Albert Hall reunion DVD from last year more than anything else. More than a few times friends and even family have recommended THE Robert Johnson album, and I was and have been too darned stupid to take heed of their words, so if you're considering buying it, be wise BEFORE the event rather than after it, like me, and BUY IT NOW! Don't wait 40 years like this fool did! Your life will be so much richer for it, believe me! Within these 29 tracks you have everything popular music is today, and whether they care to admit it or not, and even if they have never heard this album, EVERY band who has ever walked onstage anywhere in this world owes Robert Johnson, and his influence is within THEIR songs. And considering the tracks were recorded in the corner of a room with one microphone, damn, they're good. Maybe this is what scared me away? I thought 70 year old recordings would be naff, but far from it. Now, no more pondering, just click the 'Buy Now' button!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soaked through with Black America, 30 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
The music fan from Hull is right. This stuff has crawled out of a Mississipi swamp and is soaked through with the Black experience of the southern states of America. Until he died young from drinking bad whiskey, Robert Johnson had a typically difficult life - but you don't need a biography, you can hear it in the songs as he reaches out for beauty and hope. All the rock bands that copied this music never got close ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Johnson - King of Blues, 9 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
Robert Johnson was and is one of the most influential artists of all time. Covers of gis songs have been recorded by various artist such as Led Zeppelin, Eric Clapton, Rolling Stones, White Stripes and the Chili Peppers to name a few. But none of them managed to capture the sound and pressence that Johnson did. As the first song "I Believe I'll Dust My Broom" kicks in, you will wonder why did it take so long before you discouvered him. Classics all of them, "Sweet Home Chicago", "Stop Breaking Down Blues" and "They're Red Hot". The voice is seems tortured and full of pain. His guitar makes the sound that no guitarist had made from then until now. His life is already the stuff of legends. He was the first rock 'n' roll star. Just listen to these songs, they will change your life for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, BAD PRESSING - GET A PROPER COLUMBIA VERSION, 25 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
This is a generic 'ripped-off' version of Columbia's 'Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings'. Aside from the dubious ethical practice involved in pilfering Columbia's catalogue in order to make a fast buck selling cheap knock-offs of their albums, this album is FAR inferior in sound quality. I purchased this and am now having to spend the money to buy a 'legit' version. Don't believe me? If you have Spotify you can listen to both and compare the sound quality yourself - try it against Columbia's 'King of the Delta Blues Singers' (also on Spotify). After consulting Penguin's Guide to Blues Recordings, I have decided to purchase 'King of the Delta Blues Singers' (not to be confused with the cheapo 'King of the Delta Blues') as this one apparently has the most superior recording quality - something which is very noticeable when listening to recordings that are nearly a century old.

To repeat - DO NOT BUY THIS PRESSING OF ROBERT JOHNSON, ONLY BUY THE PROPER COLUMBIA ONES IF YOU WANT TO ACTUALLY HEAR ANYTHING OTHER THAN HISSING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Review Blues, 13 Jun 2006
By 
McDravid "McDravid" (Ripon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Complete Collection (Audio CD)
If I was Robert Johnson I could write a song about how difficult it is to write a review of this classic. Ordinary tributes like 'amazing' 'awesome' 'brilliant' don't really do any justice to him. This man didn't invent the Blues, the Blues invented him, and it made just a one-off. As soon as you soak up the songs and his style, you realise just how much he has influenced almost every branch of modern 'popular' music (as opposed to heavyweight classical) - blues, country, rock, soul, Tamla, even jazz, and a host of others. Even bands and individuals who have not been influenced directly, and there are many, will have been influenced by people who have been influenced, if you see what I mean.

It's great music, so prepare to be influenced.

A philosophical argument might also run: You like Clapton (the blues Clapton not the Phil Collins Clapton), Clapton worships Johnson, so you'll like Johnson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Collection
The Complete Collection by Robert Johnson (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews