Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Christmas movie
My daughter is 5 and she loves all the Barbie movies. We have them all on DVD and she watches them a lot. Sometimes kids films are hard for an adult to enjoy but the Barbie ones are all so well done and written that I don't mind watching them with her. This is a re-telling of the Charles Dickens story and they have adapted it for young girls. There is no grim reaper...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Mrs. Carrie Smith

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, shame we cant speak Polish!
After much anticipation and significant delay due to the snow we finally received our Barbie DVD and my two daughters and I sat down to watch it. It soon became clear that when we pressed the 'english' option on the DVd it repeatedly took us through the Universal trailer and simply would not play the story. It did however play in Polish, the other language option.No use...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Dawn W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Christmas movie, 13 Nov 2008
By 
Mrs. Carrie Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter is 5 and she loves all the Barbie movies. We have them all on DVD and she watches them a lot. Sometimes kids films are hard for an adult to enjoy but the Barbie ones are all so well done and written that I don't mind watching them with her. This is a re-telling of the Charles Dickens story and they have adapted it for young girls. There is no grim reaper style spirit and they don't show the character's death so it is much nicer. Heartwarming tale about the true meaning of Christmas. Any little girl would love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christmas Fun!!, 11 Nov 2008
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive fan of Christmas and was planning on keeping this DVD wrapped up for my daughters Christmas Pressie but I couldn't resist a sneak peak! The film is fabulous, Barbie plays a fantastic Diva, Eden Starling, (the traditional Scrooge character), a far cry from her usual roles which results in some great comedy. With the Christmas Carols and festive look I am even more in the mood for Christmas! This film should have great family appeal and I highly reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the funniest Barbie film yet, 29 Dec 2008
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
This latest Barbie video, a gender-reversed version of Dickens' story "A Christmas Carol", has all the high production values and beautiful animation of the recent films, put together with a wicked sense of humour and with some delightful performances of many favourite Christmas Carols.

I'm not quite sure whether to describe this as a homage to Charles Dickins' original story, a spoof/parody, or something in between. Although most of the Barbie videos have included a few jokes and references which were obviously aimed at any adults watching with their daughters, and some of which were quite amusing, this one IMHO is far and away the funniest Barbie video to date. Maybe it just particularly hit my sense of humour, but in spite of the fact that I'm forty years older and the wrong sex compared with the target demographic, this film repeatedly had me laughing out loud.

Rather more importantly my seven year old twins also enjoyed this film and laughed at many of the jokes, and although he now feels obliged to protest when we put a Barbie video on, I noted that my son was laughing as much as my daughter.

It's also a really good Christmas family film if you have small children, and one which will probably become part of my family Christmas until the children are too old to appreciate it.

The story is bookended on Christmas Eve in modern America, with Barbie trying to enthuse her little sister Shelley with the Christmas spirit. They are due to go out to a charity auction for a hospital, and Shelley is not happy at the change to her routine. Barbie gives her a snow globe which contains three fairies dancing in the snow and plays "We wish you a merry Christmas." Barbie explains how this globe is connected with the story of how one girl learned about the Christmas spirit more than a hundred years ago in Victorian London ...

Eden Starling (who is the Ebenezer scrooge figure) was the most successful opera singer in Britain and ran her own theatre. She was beautiful and had the voice of an angel, but was also ruthless, selfish, and very self-centred. She had been raised by her Aunt Maria (the Marley figure) to work hard to further her career and ignore the needs of everyone else on the basis that "In a selfish world, the selfish succeed."

At the start of the story, also on Christmas Eve, Eden is refusing to allow the staff of her theatre to take any holiday over Christmas, and warning them that any who fail to come in and rehearse over the holiday, even on Christmas Day, will face the sack. The only living thing for which she shows any concern is her snooty cat, Chuzzlewit, and she treats even her childhood friend Catherine Beednall with cruelty and contempt.

But that evening she gets a visit from the ghost of her Aunt Maria. In Dickens' original story, the selfishness which corrupted Scrooge, Marley, and others took the form of greed for financial security, represented by gold: in this version it mainly takes the form of vanity and ego, and so instead of chains linked to boxes of gold, Aunt Maria's chains are linked to mirrors in which she is reflected.

Aunt Maria tells Eden that the philosophy of selfishness she had taught Eden in life was wrong, and that three spirits will come to her that evening to show her why. These turn out to look just like the figures in the snow globe which Barbie had given Shelley in the opening scene of the film and which, it transpires, Eden had been given by Catherine when they were both little girls.

The gender-reversed presentation of the spirits of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Future is hysterical. Christmas Past looks like a fairy but talks like a cockney barrow-girl, also happens to be a huge fan of Eden Starling and cannot conceal the fact. Christmas Present is rather like an enormous Essex or Kent farmer's wife, similar to Pam Ferris's character Ma Larkin in "The Darling Buds of May". Christmas Future, rather than the sinister hooded figure of the original, is a dignified society lady.

Between them they remind Eden both of the warm-hearted person she used to be, and how and why that spirit was crushed out of her, and warn her of how her cold and ruthless egotism threatens to destroy her.

Instead of Tiny Tim we have Tiny Tammy, one of the orphans for whom Catherine is organising a christmas show, but who like the rest of these orphans faces an uncertain future.

The quality of the animation of this DVD is so good that much of the humour is presented in the expressions and movements of the characters, though there are a few very good lines. For example, as the spirit of Christmas Past is flying with Eden and Chuzzlewit through a sort of extra-dimensional tunnel which is taking them back in time, she tells Eden how big a fan she is of her music and adds that for her to be such a huge fan of Eden's must seem very strange. Eden looks around at their supernatural surroundings and replies with dry understatement that for the spirit to be a fan of hers was not the part of this experience which is strange.

Chuzzlewit the cat also provides some slapstick comic relief throughout the film, with several running gags such as his propensity to jump on anything which looks like food, such as decorations on the elaborate dress worn by the spirit of Christmas Present which look like sweets.

Throughout the DVD there is a string of Christmas music, composed and arranged by Arnie Roth, with delightful performances of carols including "Deck the Halls", "We Wish you a Merry Christmas", "O Tannenbaum", and "Jolly Old St Nicholas."

DVD extras on the disc include a medley of the christmas carols on the disc with words on the screen so that the viewer can sing along, a number of Christmas games, and a "secret scene" from the previous Barbie DVD, "The Diamond Castle" in which the two puppies, Lily and Sparkles, are painting the ballroom of the castle pink.

As usual, those people who enjoy criticising what the Barbie franchise represents will not have much difficulty finding things in this production to sneer at. If you, or more importantly your kids, are allergic to an excess of twee sweetness, then this film and the Barbie videos generally may not be for them. As usual the the female characters are mostly on the thin side of plausibility.

Barbie is often accused of reinforcing gender stereotyping, but I don't think the charge is entirely fair. In the case of this film, in which almost all the characters are female and taking on roles which were male in the original, this criticism is just not applicable.

Different people have different senses of humour, so it may be unrealistic to expect that all adults will enjoy this as much as I did, but I'm quite certain that the vast majority of little girls will love this film, and most other people will not find it any hardship to watch it with the little girls in your family, especially at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the funniest Barbie film yet, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This latest Barbie video, a gender-reversed version of Dickens' story "A Christmas Carol", has all the high production values and beautiful animation of the recent films, put together with a wicked sense of humour and with some delightful performances of many favourite Christmas Carols.

I'm not quite sure whether to describe this as a homage to Charles Dickins' original story, a spoof/parody, or something in between. Although most of the Barbie videos have included a few jokes and references which were obviously aimed at any adults watching with their daughters, and some of which were quite amusing, this one IMHO is far and away the funniest Barbie video to date. Maybe it just particularly hit my sense of humour, but in spite of the fact that I'm forty years older and the wrong sex compared with the target demographic, this film repeatedly had me laughing out loud.

Rather more importantly my seven year old twins also enjoyed this film and laughed at many of the jokes, and although he now feels obliged to protest when we put a Barbie video on, I noted that my son was laughing as much as my daughter.

It's also a really good Christmas family film if you have small children, and one which will probably become part of my family Christmas until the children are too old to appreciate it.

The story is bookended on Christmas Eve in modern America, with Barbie trying to enthuse her little sister Shelley with the Christmas spirit. They are due to go out to a charity auction for a hospital, and Shelley is not happy at the change to her routine. Barbie gives her a snow globe which contains three fairies dancing in the snow and plays "We wish you a merry Christmas." Barbie explains how this globe is connected with the story of how one girl learned about the Christmas spirit more than a hundred years ago in Victorian London ...

Eden Starling (who is the Ebenezer scrooge figure) was the most successful opera singer in Britain and ran her own theatre. She was beautiful and had the voice of an angel, but was also ruthless, selfish, and very self-centred. She had been raised by her Aunt Maria (the Marley figure) to work hard to further her career and ignore the needs of everyone else on the basis that "In a selfish world, the selfish succeed."

At the start of the story, also on Christmas Eve, Eden is refusing to allow the staff of her theatre to take any holiday over Christmas, and warning them that any who fail to come in and rehearse over the holiday, even on Christmas Day, will face the sack. The only living thing for which she still shows any concern is her snooty cat, Chuzzlewit, and she treats even her childhood friend Catherine Beednall with cruelty and contempt.

But that evening she gets a visit from the ghost of her Aunt Maria. In Dickens' original story, the selfishness which corrupted Scrooge, Marley, and others took the form of greed for gold: in this version it mainly takes the form of vanity and ego, and so instead of chains linked to boxes of gold, Aunt Maria's chains are linked to mirrors in which she is reflected.

Aunt Maria tells Eden that the philosophy of selfishness she had taught Eden in life was wrong, and that three spirits will come to her that evening to show her why. These turn out to look just like the figures in the snow globe which Barbie had given Shelley in the opening scene of the film and which, it transpires, Eden had been given by Catherine when they were both little girls.

The gender-reversed presentation of the spirits of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Future is hysterical. Christmas Past looks like a fairy but talks like a cockney barrow-girl, also happens to be a huge fan of Eden Starling and cannot conceal the fact. Christmas Present is rather like an enormous Essex or Kent farmer's wife, similar to Pam Ferris's character Ma Larkin in "The Darling Buds of May". Christmas Future, rather than the sinister hooded figure of the original, is a dignified society lady.

Between them they remind Eden both of the warm-hearted person she used to be, and how and why that spirit was crushed out of her, and warn her of how her cold and ruthless egotism threatens to destroy her.

Instead of Tiny Tim we have Tiny Tammy, one of the orphans for whom Catherine is organising a christmas show, but who like the rest of these orphans faces an uncertain future.

The quality of the animation of this DVD is so good that much of the humour is presented in the expressions and movements of the characters, though there are a few very good lines. For example, as the spirit of Christmas Past is flying with Eden and Chuzzlewit through a sort of extra-dimensional tunnel which is taking them back in time, she tells Eden how big a fan she is of her music and adds that for her to be such a huge fan of Eden's must seem very strange. Eden looks around at their supernatural surroundings and replies with dry understatement that for the spirit to be a fan of hers was not the part of this experience which is strange.

Chuzzlewit the cat also provides some slapstick comic relief throughout the film, with several running gags such as his propersity to jump on anything which looks like food, such as decorations on the elaborate dress worn by the spirit of Christmas Present which look like sweets.

Throughout the DVD there is a string of Christmas music, composed and arranged by Arnie Roth, with delightful performances of carols including "Deck the Halls", "We Wish you a Merry Christmas", "O Tannenbaum", and "Jolly Old St Nicholas."

DVD extras on the disc include a medley of the christmas carols on the disc with words on the screen so that the viewer can sing along, a number of Christmas games, and a "secret scene" from the previous Barbie DVD, "The Diamond Castle" in which the two puppies, Lily and Sparkles, are painting the ballroom of the castle pink.

As usual, those people who enjoy criticising what the Barbie franchise represents will not have much difficulty finding things in this production to sneer at. If you, or more importantly your kids, are allergic to an excess of twee sweetness, then this film and the Barbie videos generally may not be for them. As usual the the female characters are mostly on the thin side of plausibility.

Barbie is often accused of reinforcing gender stereotyping, but I don't think the charge is entirely fair. In the case of this film, in which almost all the characters are female and taking on roles which were male in the original, the charge is just not applicable.

Different people have different senses of humour, so it may be unrealistic to expect that all adults will enjoy this as much as I did, but I'm quite certain that the vast majority of little girls will love this film, and most other people will not find it any hardship to watch this with the little girls in your family, especially at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Xmas tale, 25 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another lovely variant of the Christmas Carol, well.. with only slight references to the original story but still (reducing most of the scenes with the ghosts to one or so scenes from the original), a beautiful Xmas tale that brings many a tear to the eyes. Not a keen fan of the 3D rendering but it was still a very enjoyable Xmas Barbie tale and a totally recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie fan, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Q. Diep "honest reply" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
Both my daughters (11yrs and 8yrs old) love the Barbie cartoon collection, so I purchased this one. Story is done in the same way as Charles Dicken's 'A Christmas Carole with Scrooge', but not at all scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Barbie Movie, 29 Jan 2009
By 
D. J. Bexley "Cakes!" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter (five and a half) had this for Christmas and loves it - its her favourite Barbie movie so far and she has them all! I can't recommend the Barbie movies enough, they are beautifully made, lovely to watch (I thoroughly enjoy them too) and even though they all have a 'badie' type character in them she has never been frightened in any way, unlike the Disney Princess ones which we have stopped buying and the ones we had, have been given to the charity shop. We are now looking forward to Thumbelina being released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great adaption of classic tale, 21 Mar 2009
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
My whole family enjoyed this film. It's one of the best Barbie films (we've seen them all). Despite changing the setting and main character, it's still the same old story of a 'Xmas Carol'. It's done really well, is funny and moving and most importantly it's not too scary (unlike a 'Muppet Xmas Carol' that never got finished). A great family film for Xmas or anytime you fancy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family entertainment, 6 Oct 2009
By 
J. Bradshaw "Bradders" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
My 2 daughters, aged 5 and 8 have most of the Barbie films, and enjoy watching them over and over again, and this is no exception - they both loved the film, and thought it was funnier than the others. My 5 year old in particular has watched it several times already, and now they are already singing carols in October!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Angela (Kirklistion, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
This video is truelly gorgeous and uplifting. There is plenty of music to sing along to and my 2 year old loves every track. The movie is not as dark as the original story and therefore makes for much lighter viewing. Definately one which will be played year after year. This one does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD]
Barbie: a Christmas Carol [DVD] by William Lau (DVD - 2008)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews