Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Would Be Rubbish But It's SURPRISINGLY GOOD
Well I never... every once in a while you get a pleasant surprise.

After seeing the trailers for this when it was out at the cinema I gave it a wide berth, thinking it looked awful. But after hearing good things about it from more than a few friends and seeing it in the bargain bucket at my local DVD exchange, I thought I'd pick it up and give it a go...
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by The Truth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted
If you've got nothing else to watch then this film is ok. Expected more from an Angeliana Jolie film. There was a good twist in the end but I really can't say the rest of it was up to much. All a bit far fetched for me!

Don't buy a brand new dvd of the Wanted buy a used dvd copy.
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Timps


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Would Be Rubbish But It's SURPRISINGLY GOOD, 23 Jun 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
Well I never... every once in a while you get a pleasant surprise.

After seeing the trailers for this when it was out at the cinema I gave it a wide berth, thinking it looked awful. But after hearing good things about it from more than a few friends and seeing it in the bargain bucket at my local DVD exchange, I thought I'd pick it up and give it a go.

Having finally bit the bullet (a perfect pun for a film about assassins who bend bullets and block shots with their own flying lead) what I got was a film that, although cheesy, was thoroughly enjoyable. With a surprisingly interesting story and sub plot, it was packed full of action (albeit a bit over the top - especially in the car chase stakes,) and had a few jokes in there that had me laughing out loud on more than one occasion.

In short, it's basically about an office worker, bored with the 9 to 5, who's picked to join a school of assassins - but there's also an interesting background to the story in the sense that these assassins get their 'marks' from a higher place - a divine presence or universal force which speaks to our heroes through a loom; which of its own accord, has been providing 'targets' to this school of hitmen - coded within it's threads - for centuries.

Jolie was the best I've ever seen her in this (both looks and acting-wise), Morgan Freeman as always was outstanding, and their was even a major minor role for Common - which should please Hip Hop fans. The film was good fun, well shot and directed and the special effects were suitably over the top yet spectacular. I and my flat mate thoroughly enjoyed it and if you want a film full of stylised killing you'll be hard pressed to beat it.

Wanted: not by me at first, but it should have been because it's not at all half bad. 8 out of 10.

If this reviews helped you at all please give it the thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wanted, 7 May 2011
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
Wesley lives his life from day to day, coping with the monotony of work and crippling panic attacks. His boss makes his life a misery and his best friends is having an affair with his girlfriend, his life is directionless and he's not sure what his life's purpose is. Then Vox (Jolie) comes along, rescues him from an assassin and introduces him into the world of the fraternity.

The fraternity are a group of highly skilled assassins, lead by Sloan (Morgan Freeman), who can bend bullets, see in slow motion and who rid the world of unsavoury characters who cause more harm than good. That is until some darker secrets start to come to light......

This is one of those action films that runs at a frenetic pace and as long as you don't over-analyse it you will be in for a rip-roaring ride. There are fights galore, high speed car chases and enough explosions to keep the most ardent action fan pleased. The stunts and special effects are pretty impressive and whilst they are reminiscent of The Matrix at times, they are still great fun to watch.

McAvoy doesn't seem gritty enough to be an action hero, but he suit's the role well as the everyman who gets dragged into a world he doesn't fully understand. Jolie is a little wooden, but to be honest she takes a back seat in this film and you don't really notice her one way or the other. Freeman adds a certain gravitas as he always seems to do in the roles he plays.

The direction was pretty good too, with slowed down time and bullets and the action scenes are handled very well. The soundtrack is great as well and the use of Nine Inch Nails' `Every Day is Exactly the Same' when McAvoy is an office worker was inspired.

Overall this was a very good film, with enough thrills and spills to keep you entertained and a plot that keeps you interested throughout. It is one you could easily watch more than once and if you have yet to see this I recommend you check it out at some point in the near future.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wanted, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
A master pice of many twists and turns . Full on action,and suspense,The .ending leaves you wanting more .Reconmended to all who like spical effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ridiculous, but very enjoyable!, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
first of all, i think wanted is one of those films that's going to be a bit of a guilty pleasure for me. the plot is ludicrous, but it's so much fun to watch that as long as you don't take any of it seriously, you should have a lot of fun with it.
performances are spot on. james mcavoy in particular who i've become a huge fan of in recent years, and i think he's become one of our finest young actors is terrific, although you wouldn't neccesarily picture him as an action hero, he does a terrific job. angelina jolie is excellent, one of her best roles in a long while, and morgan freeman, who let's face it, is incapable of giving a bad performance ever, no matter what he's in is very sinister as the head of the group of assasins.
plot as i said is ludicrous, and although it is visually stunning it does seem to rip off the matrix movies, and the russian director's own nightwatch and daywatch movies. in short, it's big, loud, dumb, and very enjoyable and one of the best pure action movies in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare this is not..., 7 Feb 2011
But my god it's entertaining!

Like so many of the reviews here I really wasn't expecting much from this but it really blew me away. Its absolutely non-stop adrenaline - I saw one review saying not enough action? I think this film is like the Matrix on cocaine or the Terminator with ADHD.

This is film is clearly not a thinker, but solid performances, very impressive visuals and enough of a plot to fill in brief gaps between gun shots, stunts and train hopping madness make this film a very watchable experience.

With regards to the Blu-Ray edition, very worthwhile - crisp quality of both sound and visual that given the subject matter (ie lots of visual effects etc) is worth having in its highest quality.

Highly recommended - will have you on the edge of the seat and cheering at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - cars, guns, girls and explosions - pure comic book, 8 Nov 2008
By 
I saw this film at the cinema and really enjoyed it - so much so that I pre-ordered the Blu-Ray. It's pure comic book and should be enjoyed as such. Leave your brain at the door and just enjoy the ride. It's not a high-brow cinematic classic but it packs a lot of fun into a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated movie, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
I found this by accident on Channel 5 one night. Any film that has Morgan Freeman in it must have some value as he rarely picks a loser & this film doesn't fail. A complex & intricate plot line at times but stay with it for a great finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mrgwiggins "wiggo31" (derby uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film with pretty good special effects alongside an original story. The steelbook version is a nice addition to my collection. The film was delivered on time and was well packaged. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the film, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
I like Angelina Jolie in other films and she does not disappoint in this one. A thoroughly engaging and exciting dvd with an element of unexpected plot twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, I must say that I am a James McAvoy fan. Having said that, this really is a great movie, and his acting, particularly when he believes he is suffering with panic attacks, is brilliant. Of course, the ever brilliant Morgan Freeman is still great to watch, and Angelina Jolie is in fine form. Its a great cast, and a great story, and for me, the very last line and sequence of the movie gets me every time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted [DVD]
Wanted [DVD] by Timur Bekmambetov (DVD - 2008)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews