Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the not quite incredible but generally very good hulk
marvel comics green goliath returns to the cinema screen for another go. is there anyone reading this who has never heard of the character? if so: doctor bruce banner used an experimental ray treatment on himself that as a result turns him into a huge strong rampaging monster every time he gets rather angry. hunted by army general ross, who just happens to want the ray...
Published on 1 Dec. 2008 by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great.
The Incredible Hulk is easily the worst of the Avengers franchise so far. All the cast was wasted unfortunately, Edward Norton is just shown for the first half-hour running round Brazil, Tim Roth is a good if predictable baddie and Liv Tyler is barely in it. What would have been better is more action, and Blonsky turning into the Abomination sooner. The best part of the...
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by Richard P. North


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the not quite incredible but generally very good hulk, 1 Dec. 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
marvel comics green goliath returns to the cinema screen for another go. is there anyone reading this who has never heard of the character? if so: doctor bruce banner used an experimental ray treatment on himself that as a result turns him into a huge strong rampaging monster every time he gets rather angry. hunted by army general ross, who just happens to want the ray treatment so he can create hulk style soldiers to use as weapons, banner is on the run. ross is also the father of his girlfriend betty.

there was a hulk movie in 2003 that tried to be both comic book action movie and a look at the issues of a man with such intense anger. Directed by ang lee and starring eric bana, it made a lot of money but it rather divided audience opinion. some liked the psychological take but many wanted more action.

marvel comics, who publish the hulk in comic book form, were among the latter. now that they have their own film studio set up they can dow what they like movie wise with their characters, and they wanted another go at the hulk to produce a more exciting movie. this is their attempt.

nigh on all the characters from the first film return, although they're all played by different actors. and whilst this does follow on from that film, it is also a fresh take, and you can watch it if you haven't seen that one without getting confused. it gets through the origin of the character in a quick sequence during the credits. sometimes I wish all superhero films would do that.

this movie tells of banner evading ross whilst trying to find a cure for his condition. at the same time a soldier called emil blonsky, who likes a fight and wants to do it for as long as he can is facing the fact that he's not getting any younger. the ray treatment might be just what he needs to go on fighting. and who but the hulk could stop the result of that?

running at one hour and forty eight minutes this is good escapist entertainment, capably directed by louis leterrier, and well acted by all the cast. ed norton in the lead role convinces very well at showing us a man who is struggling to keep his inner demons under control.william hurt is also worthy of note for playing a man conflicted between duty and family - he has a great last scene which really highlights this. liv tyler is not bad as betty but her version of the character is a bit wet compared to jennifer connelly's in the earlier movie.

the movie is structured round three big action set pieces, one of which breaks hollywood cliche by taking place in broad daylight. whilst the movie is pretty much self contained, the end leaves scope for more.

and if you're familiar with the old hulk tv show then listen out for a name that will ring a bell. if you're familiar with other movies from marvel studios, then you might get another surprise.

this is not quite a hulk smash, but it's not at all bad.

this edition of the dvd comes over two discs, in a very sturdy box.

the first disc offers:

the movie, with direct scene access.

a commentary from director louis leterrier and actor tim roth [blonsky]. likeable and enthusiastic and articulate they are worth a listen.

and at the start of the disc once loaded you get trailers for the third mummy film, the iron man movie, and forthcoming cartoons from marvel animation before you get to the main menu,

the film has language tracks in english and hungarian, and 5.1 sound. there is a 2.0 sound option but that's only in english.

there are subtitles in english SDH arabic danish dutch finnish hungarian icelandic norwegian swedish and turkish. the menu screens are in english or dutch.

on disc two there are a fair few documentaries. there doesnt look like much to go by the menu screen, but there's some good material amongst them.

alternate opening: a two minute long deleted scene from the start of the film. this offers some lovely scenery.

42 minutes worth of deleted scenes. interestingly none of them are action moments, so you get the feeling a lot of this was cut for pace. there are some good character scenes amongst them, although the more emotional betty bruce moments are hurt by a rather intrusive score. you can watch all of these at once or one at a time. if you know your marvel comics continuity then keep your eyes on the scenery in the blonsky ross conversation.

the making of incredible hulk is a thirty minute long look at the making of the film, and is a good documentary of this kind. once again the director helps that with his talking and enthusiasm and all the cast are clearly enjoying themselves. there was talk of the star and director having had a fall out over the length of the final cut, but there's nothing about that here.

becoming the hulk and becoming the abomination are two ten minute documentaries about the design of the two characters and how they were achieved on screen. technically interesting and also a good look at the acting process involved in such creations.

anatomy of a hulk out is three ten minute documentaries about each of the three action set pieces. they can be watched one at a time or all at once, and are up to the standards of the above mentioned material for the same reasons.

from comic book to screen takes one key scene from the movie that was inspired by a similar scene in a hulk comic, and shows you the images from the comic. It's well done and worth a look.

this disc offers just an english language soundtrack in 2.0 stereo sound

and subtitles in english sdh italian arabic bulgarian czech danish dutch finnish greek hebrew hungarian icelandic norwegian polish portugese romanian russian slovenian swedish and turkish. the menu screens can be viewed in english italian dutch russian or portugese.

a decent bit of movie entertainment, and a very good package for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is That All You've Got, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Mckellar "Andymack" (Wokingham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk [DVD] (DVD)
Having been transformed into the Hulk, Bruce Banner has escaped to Brazil away from those in the US army desperate to capture him. After months without being detected he is slowly managing to get a grip on controlling the beast within. That is until the Army discover where he is and come looking for him. Still searching for a cure Bruce evades capture but knows his only chance of becoming normal again is to return to the United States despite the real possibility the Army might find him.

There have been so many poor comic book adaptations that until recently you could count the good ones on one hand. In fact even the original Hulk movie was pretty poor but the series has been reinvented under a new director and a new lead actor. These changes have lead to a much better and far more enjoyable movie the second time round and at times it made you forget that there had even been a movie made in 2003 let alone remembering how bad it actually was.

Louis Leterrier who was the man behind the 2nd Transporter movie and is currently working on the forthcoming Clash Of The Titans movie occupies the director's chair for this second instalment. The improvement is significant as the film seems to flow a lot easier and feels a lot more enjoyable than the first movie. The special effects are still stunning and work very well at creating the Hulk as realistically as you can with a giant green monster. Of course whether it be the Hulk himself or the action sequences it seems that Leterrier has really shown what a Hollywood action version of a comic book should be about.

Of course the movie is full of explosions and special effects but it also has a plot which I feel is sadly missing from a lot of these big budget versions. Of course it helps that the script was written by one of the writers behind the successful X-Men series, Zak Penn. the X-Men movies are by far my favourite comic book adaptation movies and by getting Penn on board for The Incredible Hulk it brings far more cohesion to the plot and makes the story a lot more enjoyable.

Like all major Hollywood franchises if a cast doesn't work then simply replace them and that's exactly what has happened here. Along with departing director Ang Lee went Eric Bana, Jennifer Connelly and Sam Elliott and it's fair to say their replacements do a far better job. In the lead role the casting of Edward Norton as Bruce Banner is perfect. He has the ability to capture the essence of the character and seems to have the ability to display a much wider range of emotion than Bana.

It also helps that there appears to be a great deal of chemistry between him and Jennifer Connelly's replacement Liv Tyler. During their scenes together you actually get a real feeling for their relationship. With William Hurt completing the line up of replacements I think the casting was far better this time around. The real star of the show though was Tim Roth who played the determined Army Sergeant desperate to make a difference and after his initial encounter with the Hulk wants to discover his secret. The casting of Roth is perfect and he really suits the part combining a sense of national pride with a personal desire.

Overall this second attempt at a movie version of The Incredible Hulk works far better than the original back in 2003. It would seem the studios are finally seeing the importance of getting these right and the success they could potentially achieve. Hopefully in the future decent comic book movies will become the rule rather than the exception. I'd thoroughly recommend this movie as a decent 112 minutes of entertainment. It doesn't try to hard or take itself too seriously, which I think is exactly why it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice is done to The Hulk at last., 14 Oct. 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much as I liked Ang Lee's original Hulk movie, especially his getting rid of the annoying Glen Talbot, the story as a whole lacked consistency and I hated the split-screen images.
That can certainly not be said of Louis Leterrier's superb movie which successfully manages to avoid anything other than a brief acknowledgment of the 2003 movie with mention of the 5 year time-gap. He and writer Zak Penn have created an action-packed and well-thought out story that also manages to pay homage to the original TV series as well as to the rich historical goldmine of the Marvel archives.
Edward Norton and Tim Roth are both well cast, Roth's character is an interesting amalgam of 2 great Marvel ideas, the super-soldier serum as well as the Gamma radiation. The first battle between the Hulk and the souped-up Emil Blonsky is a great appetiser for the real main course.
The Hulk and Abomination themselves are great CGI creations, the Hulk himself is what I was personally hoping for, a combination of raw power as well as a child-like innocence and the remnants of Banner's personality lying just below the surface. The Abomination is a complete re-imagining of the character's appearance and it works a treat. The set-piece battle is well worth the money and we get the immortal phrase "Hulk Smash" thrown in. The addition of Samuel Sterns and his contamination with Banner's blood is a nod to what we hope to expect from the next Hulk movie as Hulk's arch nemesis is now lying in wait.
One of the best, and certainly the most moving scene, involves Liv Tyler's Betty Ross and The Hulk sat atop a rocky outcrop during a storm, a scene which the well-stacked extras disc explores in comic form.
One of this films greatest attributes is the humour that runs throughout; from several attempts at "You wouldn't like me when I get angry...", one of which is included in the deleted scenes and there is a well deserved tribute to Lou Ferrigno in his brief guest appearance.
Old Marvelites like me will smile at the many references throughout the movie to the Marvel universe, from The Hulk's comic history we have Rick Jones, Jim Wilson and Doc Samson and from the Marvel Universe Robert Downey Jr. makes a nice guest-shot when greeted with the great line "You always wear the best suits", watch out also for Dr. Reinstein (the man who created Captain America) and mention of Nick Fury as well as assistance from a new S.H.I.E.L.D. There are also tributes to the 1970's TV show with the late Bill Bixby's brief movie appearance and Jack Colvin's character Jack McGee getting a name check as well as a brief use of the theme tune and where would a Marvel movie be without Stan Lee?.
These 2 discs as a whole offer a solid 5 star package that I will personally be watching many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk strongest there is!, 11 Jan. 2015
When I originally saw this my expectations were pretty low based on the unimpressive previous movie by Ang Lee, Hulk. ( The terrible Hulk as I call it). However this film was made by Marvel Studios, the second film in their phase one group after Iron Man and much like nearly all other films made by them, The Incredible Hulk is great.

The film starts off with Bruce Banner (Edward Norton) living in the slums of Brazil working in a soft drink factory, a place he has been hiding from the US army for many years since a gamma radiation experiment went wrong transforming him into the Hulk. Accidentally cutting his finger causes his irradiated blood to get in one of the drinks resulting in General Ross (William Hurt) to locate him and start a man hunt.

The action and set pieces are fantastic with the Hulks anger and power really showing through despite the military throwing as many obstacles in his path as they can muster. The former SAS troop Emil Blonsky's (Tim Roth) steady change into the Abomination as the military's attempt to have a fighting chance against the hulk is handled very well, seeing his deterioration into madness and his desire to fight.

Action aside Edward Norton makes a pretty good Bruce Banner I feel, both in attempting to escape, but also with some sad and funny moments. The film is excellently paced with these sections breaking up the action.

The Blu-Ray has a few extras, such as deleted scenes, making of featurettes etc. Its not a bad selection though for a big budget film I would expect more. I did enjoy them however.

To sum up The Incredible Hulk though perhaps not Marvel Studios best film is still a fantastic Hulk movie with explosive action broken up with more touching and humerous moments making it well worth a watch.

Recommended.

+ Action and set pieces are brilliant.
+ Great acting performances.
+ Nice mixture of action and quiet moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't make you angry? Well don't make us angry first Marvel., 9 Mar. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Don't make you angry? Well don't make us angry first Marvel.

Scouring the earth looking for a cure to his gamma ray poisoning, Bruce Banner is in Brazil when the army, who want to harness the monster within him as a weapon, locate him. General Ross and the power hungry Emil Blonsky will stop at nothing to capture Banner and his significant other angry half, but Banner's true love, Betty Ross, and the mysterious Mr Blue, are allies hoping to cure Bruce of his ills, but is it all in vain?

Those who hated Ang Lee's thoughtful and emotionally driven version of Hulk in 2003 will find this a far more rewarding experience, a mere 20 minutes in and the green one arrives to raise the pulses and set comic book enthusiasts hearts a racing. Not skimping on action or in fact an emotional core, the makers here have managed to blend both the fundamental aspects of the duality being and almost pulled off a great movie, but it's still some way short of being a comic book adapted classic. The pluses do however far outweigh the minuses, this Hulk incarnation is one you can take the kids to see and they can't possibly be bored, the introduction of the wonderfully named The Abomination as a Hulk nemesis ensures the audience is eagerly awaiting the big smack down, thankfully when it arrives it's thrilling, totally daft and entirely within the spirit of the Hulk origins. Major kudos to Tim Roth who as Blonsky, soon to be the monstrous looking Abomination, delivers a delicious line in ego driven badness, and with a fact of movie life being that a film of this type is only as good as its villain, Roth steps in to keep the film above ropey waters.

Annoyingly, considering the cast list here, the film is not without problems. Edward Norton is clearly one of the best actors of the modern age, and his restrained showing here as Banner is certainly not at all bad, it's just an odd casting choice to me, almost as if this role is far too beneath him, watching his turn was like an itch I just couldn't scratch. Liv Tyler as Betty Ross steps into the slender shoes vacated by Jennifer Connelly in Lee's 2003 version, it may be unfair to compare the two, but where Connelly had much emotional heart in her portrayal, Tyler has nothing, and her emotional play off with Norton in the crucial scenes just lacks the spark needed to make it work to the full. William Hurt works well enough as General Ross, following on from his bad boy turns in A History Of Violence and Mr Brooks, Hurt is finding something of a working resurgence in devilment characters, while Tim Blake Nelson perfectly dons the caricature hat of scientist on the edge, Dr. Samuel Sterns.

The CGI of Hulk has vastly improved, still a borderline problem, it just may well be that we all should accept that Hulk as a character is never going to be a CGI dream? With that in mind it is perhaps churlish to do down Incredible Hulk based on its entertainment value? Which is certainly very high. Yet it's notable that Edward Norton offers nothing by way of a commentary on the DVD package of the film, Tim Roth joining director Louis Leterrier for the gag track only fuels the fire that apparently leading man and director were well at odds about the direction the film was taking. So is Incredible Hulk recommended to the average thrill seeking movie lover? Most assuredly yes. Is Incredible Hulk a worthwhile comic book adaptation? Well sort of: Better than Daredevil and Darkman, but well short of Spidey and The Bat. At times looking like a cheap knock off of Peter Jackson's King Kong, Incredible Hulk has a willingness to entertain, and maybe we all should just focus on that and enjoy the ride? 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great., 17 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Incredible Hulk is easily the worst of the Avengers franchise so far. All the cast was wasted unfortunately, Edward Norton is just shown for the first half-hour running round Brazil, Tim Roth is a good if predictable baddie and Liv Tyler is barely in it. What would have been better is more action, and Blonsky turning into the Abomination sooner. The best part of the whole film for me was at the end when SPOILER (Tony Stark says "we need him to come in.") Some of the dialogue and acting (unlike Iron Man) was awful, particualarly from Roth, who should really have had a Russian accent playing a character called Emil Blonsky! And I felt that Norton and Tyler were doing it just for the money.

The extras on the disc are particularly good, especially for a film that isn't very good. I loved the comic-book gallery abd all the additional features; it is just a shame that it is a film that (I hate to say it) doesn't really deserve it.

Movie: 2/5
Extras: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't make me angry, you wouldn't like me when I'm angry.", 29 Oct. 2008
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk [DVD] (DVD)
When the first version of the Hulk hit the screens it met with a rather lukewarm reception but now Marvel have gone back to the drawing board and given us a new film which hits the mark one hundred percent.
Set five years after Bruce Banner's accident with Gamma radiation, we find our hero living in South America, holding down a part time job and trying to learn how to control the beast that rages within him.
Banner is in contact with the mysterious Mr Blue who is trying to help him find a cure for his problem but things get hectic when a military team succeed in tracking Banner down with the intention of examining him to find out how he got his abilities so they can replicate the treatment.
Seeking help from Betty Ross, Banner returns to the USA to cure his condition once and for all, unaware that the military has taken further steps to bring both him, and the Hulk inside him, back home.
Now this is exactly what the first Hulk film should've been. However, this one has been made by someone who obviously had a real passion for the original television series in the 70's as there are numerous nods to the show, right down to the opening title sequence and some of the music too.
Norton is spot on as Banner and looks freakishly like Bill Bixby in some scenes. William Hurt is excellent, as always, as General `Thunderbolt' Ross, Liv Tyler is surprisingly good as Betty Ross and Tim Roth plays Banner's nemesis Emil Blonsky with zeal and gives us some great scenes.
The film is well paced and builds to the satisfying conclusion as the Hulk and The Abomination fight it out while another classic Hulk villain is born in the debris of the battle. Readers of the comic book will spot him as soon as he appears on screen! There is a nice tie-in at the end with an appearance by Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark.
For those who haven't seen it yet it's advisable for continuity purposes to watch Iron Man first, specifically the scene at the end of that film's credits, before this film and then the last scene will make perfect sense.
The second disc contains some great extras including an alternative opening which comic book readers will understand the significance of, nearly 45 minutes of deleted and extended scenes, the ubiquitous making of and lots of behind the scenes info.
As Marvel films go, this rates as one of their best and it's a must have piece of the puzzle that leads us towards the upcoming Avengers movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Visual and Audio Experience for the Home Cinema Enthusiast, 8 Dec. 2008
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didnt see this movie when it was released, just never got round to it. But, being a movie buff and a Hulk fan from the late 1970s, I decided to purchase this anyway, especially on Blu Ray.

Now, what I liked about this version, which is far superior to the original Ang Lee version from about 5 years ago, is that the action scenes are quite simply awesome!!! Moreover, the storyline is much better and flows to a great all action end sequence between the Hulk and the Abomination, sequences which have to be seen to be believed! And being on Blu Ray, the picture detail is quite simply out of this world!!

The story centres around Bruce Banner(Ed Norton) who has hidden himself away in the Brazilian jungle to avoid the american military led by a general (William Hurt)who wants to use the Hulk as a weapon. Bruce desperatly wants to find a way to contain and control the terrible rages which causes him to change into the Hulk. He also wants to be reconciled with the love of his life, (Liv Tyler) who has been trying to find a cure, but without success.

There isnt a great deal more to say about the plot, so all it needs to be said is that the action sequences are some of the best ever seen in a movie. Movie buffs and action fans are in for a treat, and if you have a Surround Sound Home Cinema set up capable of delivering 5:1 Audio and upwards, then it makes this purchase even better.

I noticed some reviewers have complained about problems with the disc. This is because of the very high resolution which the blu ray disc generates. Therefore you need to update the firmware/software on the machine. I have recently purchased the Sony BD 350 which is a great player and can be bought for less than £200 and contains updated firmware which allows new discs to be played without any glitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Hulk, 2 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a fan of Marvel, Superheroes and The Hulk for many years but was dissapointed by the 2003 film Hulk, so I was quite hesitant about buying this. Needless to say when I finally bought and watched it I was not dissapointed. The film has some stars including Edward Norton who plays Bruce Banner/The Hulk, Tim Roth as Emil Blonsky/The Abomination, Liv Tyler who plays Betty Ross, the woman Bruce loves and William Hurt as Betty's father General Thaddeus Ross. The film also stars minor or cameo appearances including Robert Downey JR (Iron Man), Tim Blake Nelson (Scooby Doo 2) and of couse Stan Lee who cameo's in every Marvel adaption he co - created.

Scientist Bruce Banner is living in the shadows, scouring the planet for an antidote. But the warmongers who dream of abusing his powers won't leave him alone - nor will his need to be with the only woman he has ever loved, Betty Ross. Our brilliant doctor is ruthlessly pusued by the abomination, a nightmarish beast of pure adrenaline and aggression whose powers match the Hulk's own, and a fight of comic - book proportions ensues. Threatening New York city with total destruction!

One of the things that is great about this film is the hide and seek theme going on between Bruce and Emil. Bruce is running away, Emil is hunting. Another thing is the huge showdown at the end between The Hulk and The Abomination which is rip roaring with some amazing CGI effects too. I also like tha fact that two actors who you probably wouldn't associate with superheroes or villains take on such a part, which is something Marvel have been using recently never did I think Robert Downey JR would play Iron Man on the big screen. The film aslo has some comic moments for example "Don't make me hungry. You wouldn't like me when I'm hungry."

Overall this is a great film and stays consistent for it's 108 minute duration. The cameos are also brilliant especially Robert Downey JR's at the end which will lead up to another Marvel film in 2012, a film adaption that some people thought they would never see. Future Marvel films will be dominating the box office with Thor, Captain America, future Spider - Man sequels and a film I won't reveal as I'm sure most of you have guessed already. D not hesitate to buy this film just go ahead, infact why not buy the special edition?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "LEAVE ME ALONE!", 23 Feb. 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk [DVD] (DVD)
In 2003, Ang Lee directed a brooding, inward-looking movie about the Incredible Hulk... and it bombed at the box office as badly as it did with fans.

So there was much rejoicing when the franchise got rebooted five years later with "The Incredible Hulk." This is what a movie about a giant green rage-monster should be -- a lean, muscular action movie with a thread of bittersweet romance, and solid performances by William Hurt, Edward Norton and Liv Tyler.

A few years ago, Bruce Banner was exposed to gamma radiation in a failed military experiment, which turned him into a giant green berserker. Ever since then, the cruel General Ross (Hurt) has been mercilessly pursuing him, so they can create giant green soldiers.

And after a few years hiding in Brazil, Banner is finally found by the military... only to end up on the run after he Hulks his way out of the confrontation. He may be able to get a cure, but only if he gets the original data from the experiment, which means sneaking back into the US to see his ex-girlfriend Betty (Tyler). Betty is also Ross's daughter. Awkward.

And after the military attacks him again, Banner ends up hulking out, then goes on the run with Betty to find a cure. But he doesn't know that Ross has taken special measures to capture him, by dosing elite soldier Neil Blonsky (Tim Roth) with a supersoldier serum -- which unleashes a monster far worse than the Hulk.

"The Incredible Hulk" gave audiences everything that Ang Lee's movie was missing. It has pretty much everything you can ask from a movie about a giant green id-monster -- lots of explosions, gunfire, chases, and a core story about a man whose life is destroyed by the ambitious people who want to use the Hulk's power.

And the movie lopes along at a fast pace, slowing down for the occasional romantic scene when Betty and Bruce are alone. There are some funny moments ("Don't make me... hungry!"), but the overall mood is a somber one -- you're always aware of danger, and how much Bruce has lost through no fault of his own.

The one problem I have with this movie? Edward Norton. Don't get me wrong, his performance is absolutely stellar, and his rewrites of the script made the movie even better. But he doesn't quite work as the quiet, shy nerd -- he can't turn off the wiry intensity that he always exudes.

But the other actors are spot on -- Hurt as a cold, sociopathic soldier who doesn't care who dies as long as he gets the Hulk, Tyler as the loving supportive Betty who can soothe the savage beast, and Roth as a battle-happy soldier whose obsession with fighting turns him into a monster.

"The Incredible Hulk" is exactly what you'd want from a Hulk movie -- romance, tragedy, and Hulk smashing. A fun popcorn movie with some darker edges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredible Hulk [DVD]
The Incredible Hulk [DVD] by Louis Leterrier (DVD - 2008)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews